We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cody Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cody Hotel to your Saves list
The Cody Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   232 West Yellowstone Ave., Cody, WY 82414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Felton, Northumberland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at The Cody on our way to Yellowstone and as a treat after several days of budget hotels. We loved the lobby and there is a little library and office just off it. The room was tiny for 5 of us-2 queen beds only and when we added the roll away bed it became a tight squeeze. Having the balcony helped though and the kids were in the pool anyways. Pool and hot tub were pretty good but the sauna was working while we were there. Easy walk to the rodeo and we enjoyed the little stream and offer of s'mores over the fire. Breakfast was a bit of a scrum-no where to sit, so people were getting frustrated! No time to relax over your coffee here! Everything seemed very clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    146
    42
    16
    6
See reviews for
221
287
19
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Rooms are good size and very clean and service is very friendly. Free self-service breakfast is nice, as is the free shuttle service into any location in town. The hotel is on the outskirts of Cody, so you need a car to get to anyway. Disappointing that hotel does not have a bar and that Wifi is very slow. Nice to have a fridge, which is not the case in Yellowstone hotel.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel gets the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were glad to find a room at The Cody while passing through again. Dog-friendly and conveniently located. Very nice hotel, very comfortable, beautiful public spaces, gas firepit with free smores makings.

Staff could not be more helpful!
(only issue - they recommended Cassie's for dinner and said not to bother with reservations. If you go to Cassie's, you'll want reservations to reduce your wait time)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CelesW, Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments about our hotel! Being one of the few hotels in town that accepts dogs, we provide a nice option for travelers who want a very clean and high quality hotel that at the same time accepts four legged- friends. Sometimes travelers have to sacrifice one for the other, but at the Cody, we will gladly accept pets and provide a luxury experience at the same time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was a nice hotel, but a little bit pricey for what it is. Of course, everything in the area is expensive in the summertime so you have to keep that in mind. The lobby is really beautiful and the rooms are nicely decorated. It's not a boutique experience though, it's basically a regular hotel. The included breakfast is about the same as what you would get at a Hampton Inn. For us, that was not very good. I'll leave it at that. The rooms were clean and the hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Super friendly staff, nice rooms, great breakfast, fantastic location. Why, oh why, was the bathroom not clean!?!? So close to perfect...but mold growing in the corners and hairs stuck to the shower wall made me feel like nothing had been cleaned well in the entire room.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great location for the rodeo, amazing room, nice breakfast (would be nice to get bacon as well a sausage). The pool was nice, a dry sauna and a spa pool. 24hr guest laundry was a real plus!! There was a shuttle bus into town if you wanted to use it. I only gave it a 4 for value because it is expensive but it is luxury. Staff were friendly and even said we could cancel our second night up to 4pm that day without charge if we decided we didn't want to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a disappointing three-night stay a few weeks ago for 4th July. Plus points are that it is near the Rodeo Ground and the shuttle (Kenny) will happily take you into town and pick you up. But, the spacious front reception, where I never saw anyone sit, with its electronic "Grand Hotel" piano, gives a false impression and is a waste of space. The breakfast room is way too small and badly laid out, so that people are trying to pour themselves coffee and make waffles right on top of people eating their breakfast. Fruit on offer was merely three apples and the hot breakfast was not replenished adequately after 8.30 a.m. This needs serious attention. Room cleaning was very casual and inadequate - coffee, etc. not replenished. Looks great on arrival, but then its downhill, I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Looking towards the Rodeo Grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cody Hotel

Address: 232 West Yellowstone Ave., Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cody
#3 Business Hotel in Cody
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cody Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cody is the only hotel providing guests in Yellowstone Country with luxury western hospitality. We are conveniently located just 50 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone National Park and close to the famous Cody Night Rodeo and Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Plan to spend several days in Cody because there is so much to do including river rafting, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, scenic drives, fly fishing and more. Call us for additional information and expert assistance with completing your vacation plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cody Hotel Cody
The Hotel Cody
Cody The Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cody Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.