We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in a comfortable room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cody Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Cody Hotel to your Saves list
The Cody Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   232 West Yellowstone Ave., Cody, WY 82414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Elgin Illinois
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay in a comfortable room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The cody hotel is one of the first ones you pass on the way into town if your coming in from yellowstone. Its right on the main street directly across from old town trail. We stayed here one night after a 4 night stay in yellowstone. I heard so many good things about the town and this hotel from this web site , i had to see for myself.

On most accounts the hotel lives up to a high standard. Modern, clean, visually appealing , comfortable. The rooms we got (party of 3 adults) was a suite or more accurately , the two rooms at the end of the hall facing each other on the 3rd floor. Each room had a king bed,full bath,outside sink/ dress area,small fridge,closet,desk/chairs,balcany, Iron/board,coffee maker/coffee.Everything worked well bed was comfortable had plenty of pillows/towels/and blankets. Flat screen tv with some cable stations.

The temperature control system worked fine even had a fan mode for that white noise if you wanted it. Lighting was well done throughout the unit. The space in the room was a little better than average. (slightly larger than a standard room) The room facing west have better views than the ones on the east.

The hotel grounds are appealing with its water stream and color design.The gas fireplace outside was nice. You could ask for smoores at the front desk for roasting. (complimentry) On the first floor is the swimming pool / Hot tub area That was nice to use. Also the breakfast area.
This area has both good and not so good . First the good------ The serving area has not just the same boring cereal toast and jam, but also has hot eggs / sausage / and waffle batter. There is a good selection of juices and milk, yogert, and fresh fruit. The bad--- there is only one waffle iron to make your waffles and most folks do not know how to use it. That means it can get clogged with batter very easy Than it takes forever for someone to clean it so someone can use it. There are directions for its use but still I think it would be better if someone was there to do it for you OR pre-make them and put them in a warm server tray.

The hotel is in the outskirts of town kind of by itself and still only 4 blocks from downtown cody. You could walk but it would be a long one to the downtown area. Driving would be better. The value here is more on the average side than the good side as this is a pricy hotel compared to others .As far as is it worth the extra cost? Thats hard to say The look of the place is better than say a best western. The breakfast is better than a basic one at most hotels but certainly not worth special trip. I would stay here again if im ever in the area.

Room Tip: room on higher floor and on the west side of the building have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    143
    41
    16
    6
See reviews for
217
281
18
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here a few years ago and the staff was great. Mature adults who were attentive to the guests. I came for a late season stay and waited at the desk for at least 5 minutes for someone to come! A pretty young lady came and helped along with another woman apparently "the manager". They were nice enough but the wait at the desk was very unappealing and I just don't like the vibe here anymore. Seems like a lot of pretty faces but the service is definitely lacking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Neddick, Maine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Cant say enough good things about The Cody. Great and helpful staff. Spacious and incredibly comfortable rooms. It may seem like more than you want to pay, but the rooms, cleanliness, and amenities are all worth it. We had just left Yellowstone on our way home to Maine. Unfortunately The Cody was the high point of our hotel stays. We plan to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our family of four thought The Cody was great - fairly new, clean and very nice! We only stayed one night in mid-August, but used the pool/hot tub and roasted s'mores (ask at the front desk for your complimentary s'mores) over the gas fire pit out front. Breakfast is also included and was good - better than the usual continental breakfast, including a couple hot entrees. We took coffee/tea to go with us as we drove to Yellowstone, which is about an hour away. The hotel is on the west end of town and is also close to the rodeo grounds where they have rodeos every night. We had a very enjoyable dinner at the nearby Geyser Brewing Company.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This place looked great! we arrived in the lovely lobby around 4:30 in the afternoon and approached the desk (as usual). Nobody there - Oh well, must be in the back for a moment, no problem. Ten minutes later we were still waiting, no sign on the desk, no indication where the attendant might be....nothing. But there was a phone, so I called the hotel and someone answered where upon I informed them that there was someone waiting at the desk. someone came and checked us in, apologized and told us we had a great room with a balcony. Great!

Got to the room, found the balcony - not so great. It looked out over a huge ugly parking lot for construction equipment. And this place ain't cheap. By now, we're pretty ticked with The Cody.

Had a restful night and I have to say, the place is very nice (except for the balcony). The Cody is well appointed and there is nothing to complain about insofar as the hotel itself is concerned.

So, on to breakfast in the morning. Well, here again The Cody falls far short of the mark. Every Hampton Inn I have ever been in far exceeds the food quality and the service you will experience here. I first encountered an elderly gentleman attempting to make a waffle. After fooling with the waffle device for quite a long time, the attendant finally told him that it was broken. So I'm thinking, why did they have waffle batter out on the counter? The toaster(s) were giving us trouble - worked intermittently. I had some kind of egg casserole that was terrible - couldn't eat it. On three different occasions, this same attendant had to be told by a guest that this or that was gone/empty or missing. I think that all I could eat was some kind of sausage or bacon (can't remember and some toast (finally) with peanut butter for breakfast. The orange juice was good.

For what it's worth, this is the first negative review we have ever written.

Room Tip: Request that you not have a room overlooking the equipment yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here one night on trip from Yellowstone headed to Mt Rushmore. Clean, comfortable rooms although a bit pricey located on the outskirts of town. They told us they would have smores in the courtyard but we were unable to get back in time to do that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel was for us the perfect choice on the outskirts of town and across the road from 'The old Trail Town' which was closed at the time but the caretaker kindly allowed us to roam through for a small donation. We booked online the day before and when we decided to stay an extra night for convenience discovered it was cheaper to book the extra night at reception ! The deluxe breakfast was disappointing, the dining area small and they need to replace the dining chairs which were too low for the tables. On the up side the rooms were clean, staff very friendly and the lounge area very inviting. The Irma hotel, Buffalo Bill Historical Centre, Cody itself and the east entrance to Yellowstone NP all a must see with easy access.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We do have a great location being just across the street from the Old Trail Town and just down the street from the Cody night Rodeo. The chairs in the breakfast room do see to be a little too low and we will look into your sugesstion on getting some new chairs. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cody Hotel

Address: 232 West Yellowstone Ave., Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cody
#3 Business Hotel in Cody
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cody Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cody is the only hotel providing guests in Yellowstone Country with luxury western hospitality. We are conveniently located just 50 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone National Park and close to the famous Cody Night Rodeo and Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Plan to spend several days in Cody because there is so much to do including river rafting, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, scenic drives, fly fishing and more. Call us for additional information and expert assistance with completing your vacation plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cody Hotel Cody
The Hotel Cody
Cody The Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cody Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.