We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service! A Special Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cody Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cody Hotel to your Saves list
The Cody Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   232 West Yellowstone Ave., Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
“Outstanding Service! A Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We loved our stay at the Cody. We arrived after a terrific time in Grand Teton National Park and Yellowstone, and this was a wonderful visit. We loved the service, cleanliness, and the kids loved the pool. The room was well appointed and spacious. The convenience of being so close to the Rodeo was also a plus. But the most amazing part of our stay occurred after we left. A very beloved stuffed animal, who has been with us for many years, decided to linger at the Cody and instead of simply mailing the stuffed animal back to us, we received a fabulous and extremely clever and amusing pictorial account of all of the adventures that the stuffed animal experienced. We learned that he checked his email, worked out in the gym, was fed a large breakfast, and even made smores! The dog was mailed back in a box, complete with many pictures and a dog biscuit, in case he got hungry during the trip home to us. The thoughtfullness of the pictures and the package really captures how special the Cody is. We would absolutely recommend The Cody to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw. Our staff takes a lot of pride in providing our guests with a great stay and service. It is great to hear that they went the extra mile and made sure your stufed animal was taken care of and returned safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We LOVED this hotel. Oftentimes the hotels that allow pets aren't quite as clean as the ones that don't allow pets. That was not the case with The Cody (and yes, we are those people who bring their dog). My husband and I loved the service, cleanliness and room (we had a balcony) and the kids loved the fact that the pool is open 24 hrs (one thing my husband and I did not like about it--haha!) and they have a nice fire pit area outside where the kids could roast s'mores from a kit they got at the front desk. How cool! The breakfast was nothing really out of the ordinary but it was a nice, cozy little dining room. If we return to Cody we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments and staying with us, I hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I totally get why The Cody is priced as it is, I really do. It's a great location close to the gateway to Yellowstone, and we were traveling during peak summer season. But I still think it's over priced. The room was spacious, comfortable, and the furnishings were lovely. I found the oversize shower (with no showerhead!) to be a bit of overkill, though, and would have preferred a tub. We had requested a room with a view, since it was my birthday, but no one acknowledged that and our view was pretty average. The indoor pool and hot tub were lovely, as were all of the common areas. The breakfast was pretty minimal- the only fruit they had out was cantaloupe (disappointing for me, who usually eats only fruit for breakfast). Also, I was surprised that a higher end hotel like this didn't have a restaurant or food delivery service. When we arrived, around 10pm, we were told that pretty much everything in all of Cody was closed except for Wendy's. Unfortunately, we didn't arrive in time to catch the night rodeo, but I hear it's great, and it's a stone's throw away from the hotel. Not sure if I'd stay here again- it certainly wasn't a bad experience by any stretch, but I have a hard time paying more for one night in Cody, WY than for three nights in a luxury resort in Vegas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw, I am sorry to hear that you were not able to attend the Rodeo as they put on a great show. We are looking at adding some items to our breakfast and appreciate your suggestions. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
170 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

When we arrived the room wasn't ready, but we were early and we had sightseeing to do, so not a problem. When we went back, the new owner was there (just purchased the hotel in June) and he upgraded our room for no extra charge just because he had the room available (which I thought was awesome - I didn't ask, I didn't fuss about anything, no reason for him to do that). The hotel itself was very nice overrall, newer construction, room was great, super clean & comfortable, and the upgraded amenities were nice. The free expanded continental breakfast was good. The free fresh-baked cookies at night were nice too! The hotel was within walking distance of the Cody Rodeo, but not Main St - none of this was a problem for us, we parked on Main and saw everything we wanted to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, I am glad that you had a great stay and enjoyed the Cody area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The room was comfortable, clean (a must for our family) and reasonable for a family of four. There was a pool for the kids. Breakfast was okay. The staff was very friendly. We went to the rodeo (fabulous experience) on the night we stayed at the Cody and were able to walk to the rodeo grounds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. The rodeo grounds are located close by we are one of the first lodging choices as you leave Yellowstone park. I hope you had a great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
228 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Cody is beautiful but pricey. We usually stay at Hamptons or Homewood Suites and the room reminded us of a Hampton room. The lobby and breakfast area are beautiful. We enjoyed the breakfast which is similar to a Hampton breakfast. The motel is a short walk from the rodeo. We thought it was very over-priced and there are equal motels in Cody for less.

Room Tip: Check the other motels in Cody such as Best Western before reserving a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosierhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank You for staying with us, we are one of the newest properties in the Cody area and have a large lobby and offer a great expanded continental breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed two nights. Very large room. the place is very well kept. Near the Rodeo. Nice outside fire pits. Kinda pricey for the area, but you gt what you pay for. All in all, recommended.
solid four star. The breakfst area is very western looking.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harry M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we have a great area outside with a patio area, water feature and fire place. A great spot to relax and enjoy the evening sunset. I hope you had a great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#1 of 25 in Cody
5.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#8 of 25 in Cody
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
2.0 mi away
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cody Hotel

Address: 232 West Yellowstone Ave., Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cody
#5 Family Hotel in Cody
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cody Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cody is the only hotel providing guests in Yellowstone Country with luxury western hospitality. We are conveniently located just 50 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone National Park and close to the famous Cody Night Rodeo and Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Plan to spend several days in Cody because there is so much to do including river rafting, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, scenic drives, fly fishing and more. Call us for additional information and expert assistance with completing your vacation plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cody Hotel Cody
The Hotel Cody
Cody The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing