We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super fun for family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cody Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Cody Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cody Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   232 West Yellowstone Ave., Cody, WY 82414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Cody
Sammamish, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super fun for family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We LOVED this hotel. Oftentimes the hotels that allow pets aren't quite as clean as the ones that don't allow pets. That was not the case with The Cody (and yes, we are those people who bring their dog). My husband and I loved the service, cleanliness and room (we had a balcony) and the kids loved the fact that the pool is open 24 hrs (one thing my husband and I did not like about it--haha!) and they have a nice fire pit area outside where the kids could roast s'mores from a kit they got at the front desk. How cool! The breakfast was nothing really out of the ordinary but it was a nice, cozy little dining room. If we return to Cody we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments and staying with us, I hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    434
    136
    38
    16
    6
See reviews for
207
265
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I totally get why The Cody is priced as it is, I really do. It's a great location close to the gateway to Yellowstone, and we were traveling during peak summer season. But I still think it's over priced. The room was spacious, comfortable, and the furnishings were lovely. I found the oversize shower (with no showerhead!) to be a bit of overkill, though, and would have preferred a tub. We had requested a room with a view, since it was my birthday, but no one acknowledged that and our view was pretty average. The indoor pool and hot tub were lovely, as were all of the common areas. The breakfast was pretty minimal- the only fruit they had out was cantaloupe (disappointing for me, who usually eats only fruit for breakfast). Also, I was surprised that a higher end hotel like this didn't have a restaurant or food delivery service. When we arrived, around 10pm, we were told that pretty much everything in all of Cody was closed except for Wendy's. Unfortunately, we didn't arrive in time to catch the night rodeo, but I hear it's great, and it's a stone's throw away from the hotel. Not sure if I'd stay here again- it certainly wasn't a bad experience by any stretch, but I have a hard time paying more for one night in Cody, WY than for three nights in a luxury resort in Vegas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw, I am sorry to hear that you were not able to attend the Rodeo as they put on a great show. We are looking at adding some items to our breakfast and appreciate your suggestions. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

When we arrived the room wasn't ready, but we were early and we had sightseeing to do, so not a problem. When we went back, the new owner was there (just purchased the hotel in June) and he upgraded our room for no extra charge just because he had the room available (which I thought was awesome - I didn't ask, I didn't fuss about anything, no reason for him to do that). The hotel itself was very nice overrall, newer construction, room was great, super clean & comfortable, and the upgraded amenities were nice. The free expanded continental breakfast was good. The free fresh-baked cookies at night were nice too! The hotel was within walking distance of the Cody Rodeo, but not Main St - none of this was a problem for us, we parked on Main and saw everything we wanted to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, I am glad that you had a great stay and enjoyed the Cody area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The room was comfortable, clean (a must for our family) and reasonable for a family of four. There was a pool for the kids. Breakfast was okay. The staff was very friendly. We went to the rodeo (fabulous experience) on the night we stayed at the Cody and were able to walk to the rodeo grounds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. The rodeo grounds are located close by we are one of the first lodging choices as you leave Yellowstone park. I hope you had a great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Cody is beautiful but pricey. We usually stay at Hamptons or Homewood Suites and the room reminded us of a Hampton room. The lobby and breakfast area are beautiful. We enjoyed the breakfast which is similar to a Hampton breakfast. The motel is a short walk from the rodeo. We thought it was very over-priced and there are equal motels in Cody for less.

Room Tip: Check the other motels in Cody such as Best Western before reserving a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank You for staying with us, we are one of the newest properties in the Cody area and have a large lobby and offer a great expanded continental breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed two nights. Very large room. the place is very well kept. Near the Rodeo. Nice outside fire pits. Kinda pricey for the area, but you gt what you pay for. All in all, recommended.
solid four star. The breakfst area is very western looking.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we have a great area outside with a patio area, water feature and fire place. A great spot to relax and enjoy the evening sunset. I hope you had a great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Wonderful hotel in Cody, Wyo. Upscale. Quiet location. Had a small balcony that was nice for coffee and fresh air. The lobby was very tastefully decorated. Hotel staff courteous and helpful. We would stay again next time we are in Cody.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, we do have a large lobby and some of our rooms have a balcony which are great for sitting and watching the sunset over the mountains. I hope you will be able to visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cody Hotel

Address: 232 West Yellowstone Ave., Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cody
#4 Family Hotel in Cody
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cody Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cody is the only hotel providing guests in Yellowstone Country with luxury western hospitality. We are conveniently located just 50 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone National Park and close to the famous Cody Night Rodeo and Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Plan to spend several days in Cody because there is so much to do including river rafting, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, scenic drives, fly fishing and more. Call us for additional information and expert assistance with completing your vacation plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Cody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cody Hotel Cody
The Hotel Cody
Cody The Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cody Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.