We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crossed Sabres Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crossed Sabres Ranch
Save
You added Crossed Sabres Ranch to your Saves list
829 North Fork Hwy, Cody, WY 82450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Olathe
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I must first say, do NOT expect this to be a fancy place to stay. You won't get the same services you would get in a hotel. With that said, this Ranch is very cool. The cabins look rustic on the outside, but ours was comfortable and nice on the inside. We did have a little problem with lack of electrical power, which was something that will have to be repaired by an electrician after we left. We were given a nice discount because of this problem. My daughter and husband went horseback riding and loved it. The breakfast (which is included) is AWESOME!! You don't want to skip breakfast. There is a Thurs. evening cookout--not included. It will cost you anywhere from $13 - $24 depending on what you have (Buffalo Burgers or steak). It was good and the singers who came were a fun addition. It is only 7 miles from the east entrance to Yellowstone which is so convenient. If you enjoy the outdoors and good food, this is the place for you. Watch out for checking out. There is an expectation for a gratuity. We weren't expecting that.

Room Tip: The online photos are pretty accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

The property is very appealing visually, though the cabins only have a parking spot between them (I attached the property map) and are all along dirt roads (part of the charm). There is a creek running through the property and that is the only sound at night, which is great. It is really quiet even with families on both sides-fantastic.

The person that checked us in was not polite (not rude, just not smile, no welcome) and insisted we booked a different cabin than all our paperwork showed.

The cabin bathroom was less than good. To say modern is a 20 year overstatement. That being said, I really wouldn't care how old as long as it had been clean. The sink was clean. The tub and toilet needed a thorough cleaning and the bathroom was filled with dead and living bugs. I cleaned out the living, moving bugs on day 1. We didn't shower/use the tub until after housekeeping came the next day, all the dead bugs in the tub from day 1 were still there. The corners and baseboards need cleaned.

Dinner is only from 6 to 8, so we didn't eat there as we were at YNP until late each night. We also left earlier than breakfast (7-9), so we didn't eat there at all.

This could have been really great, and if the bathroom had been clean, the impolite reception would have been a "whatever." I think this is a great property and hope they "clean up" the show.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Great place to stay, fantastic food, nice people!
I made a tour around American West (Las Vegas, Grand Canyon, Zion, Moab, Arches, Canyonlands, Monument Valey, grand Teton, Yellowstone, Yosemite and San Francisco, and this was by far the most pleasant place I have been. The food was fantastic, speacialy the meat loaf! The brakfast great and the guests...awesome! I would like to come back even though I live in Portugal.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Unfortunately we stayed just one night at Crossed Sabre Ranch on our way into Yellowstone. On the night of our arrival, we were able to join the group for a great outdoor steak cookout. The cost was $18.95 but well worth it. Our cabin was very clean & comfortable. This would be a great place to stay for 3-4 nights with a young family & take part in the activities they have there. We would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

We spent 4 days at the Crossed Sabres Ranch in June and had a wonderful time. The food excellent, the cabins were great and our host Ray & Linda really made us feel at home. I would highly recommend the Crossed Ranch to anyone and we can't wait until we visit there again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

Host Ray McCoy is a true westerner and very informative. We stopped in at Crossed Sabres on a whim after identifying it in our research of places to stay in the area. Ray welcomed us, generously attempted to get us lodging within Yellowstone which we were unable to do. We elected to stay at Crossed Sabres and are glad we did. Best breakfast on our 3-week national parks trip. Beautiful main lodge, comfy cabin, bubbling brook outside our door, unparalleled scenery and warm hospitality. We recommend it highly.

  • Liked — Hospitality, location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

Had a great four day stay June 21-25 at Crossed Sabres Ranch, left with regret. The food, horses, cabins, host and staff were terrific. The two trail rides we took were the highlight, stunning scenery, wranglers friendly and patient (my wife and daughter are good riders, my son and I are tenderfeet). Abundant wildlife viewing in the area, beautifully nestled in its own valley, convenient location near East Gate of Yellowstone. Crossed Sabres Ranch was everything we hoped for and more. Highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Historic cabins near rushing stream
  • Disliked — They had just opened and one cabin wasn't completely set up. Corrected it right away.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crossed Sabres Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossed Sabres Ranch

Address: 829 North Fork Hwy, Cody, WY 82450
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crossed Sabres Ranch, established in 1898, as one of the first operating dude ranches in the state of Wyoming. We are a family run operation that specializes in creating custom vacations of a lifetime for you, your family or group. Guests of the Ranch will enjoy three hearty meals a day as you experience horseback rides, fly fishing, hiking, wildlife viewing or maybe just a quiet afternoon on the porch of your own intimate cabin. Located a short 8 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone, abundant opportunities to explore exist steps outside your cabin door. Let our family host yours for a vacation you'll never forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crossed Sabres Ranch Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crossed Sabres Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.