We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first ranch experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ranch at Ucross

Save Saved
You added Ranch at Ucross to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranch at Ucross
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   2673 US Highway 14 E, Clearmont, WY 82835   |  
Hotel amenities
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Our first ranch experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stopped here as part of a road trip around Wyoming and because I had always wanted to stay on a ranch. It took us a while to find it as the GPS wasn't specific enough, dumping us outside a field on a different road but eventually we found it by spotting a coach pulling in! They seem to have regular coach parties and so as independent travellers you do feel a bit out of it but have to say that both nights we were there, we met some really nice people off coach trips, so was social enough. Both nights we were seated at dinner with other independent travellers, the first night a Dutch couple and second night an American couple, who were both pleasant company. I thought the food was only okay. The meat was fine but basic salad for starter and vegetables were obviously all frozen. It was a set menu but because we were there for two nights (and they were serving exactly same meal both nights) they did us something different for second night. When they kindly let us use their laundry in the basement we were amused to find lots of empty frozen apple pie boxes! Hey guys, it's not that hard to make home made apple pies and freeze them ...... There is no alternative for eating unless you drive a long way and at $30 per meal we thought it was overpriced for the quality of food. Breakfast, which was included, was okay but bit basic. I did a horse ride the morning after we arrived which I thoroughly enjoyed, thanks to Rocket for being a placid horse and to Eric and Kurt for making me feel safe! With nothing much else to do we went for a walk but were a bit spooked by Duane warning us to look out for rattlesnakes. As a pair of townies we were then hyper alert to every noise! Very pretty country but it was extremely hot when we were there, so after a shortish walk at 'full alert', we decided to utilise swimming pool, which we had to ourselves (everyone else having left) until the next coach trip arrived. It was a pleasant rest day on a holiday with long drives but was a bit disappointed by lack of activities during the day. I would say this was more of a one night stop place. All the staff were wonderful though - full marks to every single person for being friendly, welcoming and helpful. Loved Duane's dry sense of humour and he was great at helping us with our bags!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Public Relations Manager at Ranch at Ucross, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear XHarry,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. It is always fun to read what people have to say. I am very glad that you were able to take advantage of the pool and horses and am sad to hear that you were not impressed with the food. Like most restaurants we do serve some frozen desert items but all of our vegetables are served fresh. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next trip through the area.

Sincerely,
Jessica Rick on behalf of Eric & Vickie, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Spent one night 9/11/13 at this property with my wife on our way from Yellowstone N.P. Was a welcome oasis in a somewhat boring drive from Wyoming. We were given a room with a king sized comfortable bed and even had some local turkeys roaming past our room. The personnel at he Ranch and especially the General Manager, Vickie was phenomenal. Every one working throughout the property was warm, welcoming and always helpful. They offered us fishing and horseback riding as soon as we arrived. The entire property is gorgeous and well kept. After dinner the offered a campfire along with a singer/musician. If I ever make my way thru this area again I will definitely make it a point to stay at UCross. Thanks again Vicki, for your fantastic hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Public Relations Manager at Ranch at Ucross, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear retiredandlazy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I enjoyed hearing about your stay with us and I am glad that you had a good time :) We would love to host you again.

Sincerely,
Jessica Rick on behalf of Eric and Vickie, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Lovely place to stay for a couple of days! Cabins are clean and big enough. Swimmingpoole is good, dinner was nice. Dinner and breakfast is with other people, we had a good diner with a couple from England...it was great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Public Relations Manager at Ranch at Ucross, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Henriette_1957,

It was such a pleasure to read your kind review. I am so happy that you enjoyed our ranch and even made some new friends. We hope you will feel welcome to come back any time.

Have a great weekend,
Jessica Rick on behalf of Eric and Vickie, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The ranch is very much in the middle of nowhere, which means it's a good staging post whilst on the move, but possibly has little to commend it for a longer stay. The rooms are in motel style around a central area and are perfectly adequate, though note they have shared balconies or decking. They depend very much on coach parties for their trade, so if you're travelling independently, you might feel just a little out of it. This led to some confusion when cleaning girls expected us to have left our room whilst we were still enjoying the morning sunshine. The restaurant food was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Public Relations Manager at Ranch at Ucross, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear BrynEngland,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is true that we are a bit far removed from everything which makes it a nice place for people to escape to. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I apologize for the confusion of our cleaning crew. We hope to see you again on your next trip through the state :)

Sincerely,
Jessica Rick on behalf of Eric and Vickie, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Took my 12 yr. old Grandson here! What a beautiful, peaceful place. Gabe and I had a great time. Thanks to Vicky, Eric, Katie, Bree, Patsy, Colton and Duane!!
Gabe will never forget you or his rides on Rusty, Smokin and Roni!!
You were all so very kind!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Public Relations Manager at Ranch at Ucross, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Joebeluga,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review! I am so glad that you had the opportunity to stay with us and that you Gabe had a great time :) Hope to see you again at the ranch soon.

Sincerely,
Jessica Rick on behalf of Eric and Vickie, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stopped here for two nights during a hectic 28 day fly drive across four States and it was a real resting place.
The owners are friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The main ranch house has bedrooms and main dining room and then there is a separate two storey building, housing about 12 rooms with balconies and also about 6 log cabins. Lovely pool. You can book horse riding and other activities

Room Tip: Rooms away from pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Public Relations Manager at Ranch at Ucross, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Walking4Sue,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a good review. Taking good care of our guests means a lot to us and it is great to hear some feedback. I hope that we will see you again at the ranch some day.

Sincerely,
Jessica Rick on behalf of Eric and Vickie, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Cute bungalos. Neat and clean. The queen beds are more like doubles. Western flair to all the rooms. No TV in room. But next to the pool room is a media center with 2 TV (Dish) and a Dell desktop and printer. The desktop reception is slow. No WiFi in the rooms- but if you have a verizon phone service is OK. If you use your laptop in the media room you can connect, but it's slow. The pool is very nice and refreshing. The food in the main dining room was delisious. Served buffet style- I had london broil, scallopped pototoes, grilled califlower and with their homemade apple pie. Service very good. They offer horse back riding and fishing as long you catch and release. A good quiet getaway. As far as value- don't know came with Tauck tours. They don't have a fitness center.

Room Tip: If you have any walking difficulties especially with stairs please let them know. Some rooms have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Public Relations Manager at Ranch at Ucross, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear artyalex,

I am so glad that you had the opportunity to stop at Ucross on your Tauck tour. The ranch does in fact have poor reception but great food and is indeed a very peaceful place to stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience and we hope to see you again at the ranch soon.

Sincerely,
Jessica Rick on behalf of Eric and Vickie, General Mangers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ranch at Ucross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranch at Ucross

Address: 2673 US Highway 14 E, Clearmont, WY 82835
Location: United States > Wyoming > Clearmont
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Clearmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ranch at Ucross 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Ranch at Ucross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranch At Ucross Hotel Clearmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranch at Ucross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.