We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abundant wildlife-inside and out!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Windy Hills Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheyenne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windy Hills Guest House
Save
You added Windy Hills Guest House to your Saves list
393 Happy Jack Rd, Cheyenne, WY 82007   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Cheyenne B&B and Inns
Meriden, ct
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Abundant wildlife-inside and out!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed at Windy Hills with our extended family for 3 days. We were the only guests. It is a beautiful location, with a view of the lake, and a nice waterfall /patio area. Many of the other amenities we were looking forward to using were not made available to us: boating,kayaking, canoeing, volleyball, steam room, on-site laundry. The fold out couch in the spa room was too uncomfortable even for kids. The water heater wasn't big enough in the guest house to fill that beautiful jaccuzzi in the master bedroom. The service for the TV went out and we were finally allowed to use the meeting room TV on our last night. We had a mouse problem in both the spa room, and the guest house, from the first night. We were told the mice were a problem and they had a population explosion recently. What was really lacking was service, and communication. All this-at a very high-end price!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sneakers086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ocean Ridge, FL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

We met friends there for the Texas-Wyoming football game and stayed in the Log House. The husbands went brought their fly-fishing gear and caught trout in the beautiful lake. Windy Hills is located between Laramie and Cheyenne, so we were a little remote--which is what we wanted. Cookie and Rick saw to everything we needed. Breakfasts were fantastic--for example: honeyed pear on English muffin, fresh fruit, sausages... The house was beautiful and very well furnished, and the views from it were just postcard-like. I read the negative review and our experience was nothing like that. We hope to meet our friends there again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifesabeach24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We were pleasantly delighted on our arrival at Windy Hills B&B. Chipmunks, birds, and deer greeted us each morning as we gazed across beautiful Curt Gowdy Lake. The cabin was magnificent and extremely clean.Cookie gave us places to visit to view area wild life and breathtaking scenery.Snowy Range road was spectacular-building a snow man on July 14 was great for us since we are from Florida.We plan to return and would not think abut staying at any other place. THANKS COOKIE!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bearcatbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2006

Our family booked the log cabin house. The prices charged included laundry and use of ammenities but when we got their we were told by Cookie that we couldn't use anything. Additionally, the price included Breakfast, but without her husband forcing her to make us breakfast for 1 of the days we almost didn't get that. Not to mention, the wife just drops in whenever she wants. You don't get much privacy. And like the other reviews said, Cookie is rude to guests. Her husbands a nice guy.

Its beautiful - but you don't get what you pay for and service is everything when you spend 2,000 a week.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Weareonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2005

Whilst being 30 mins drive from Cheyenne the trip is well worthwhile. The accomodation is spotless with some really nice touches. We were upgraded from the main house to the spa house which was fantastic. The decor was authentic and the entertainment system(t.v and c.d player)top class.
The hosts could not have been more helpful and made us feel at home.
Great views from the spa house of the nearby lake and montains.
Did not recognise the earlier review which said the owners were rude..must have caught them on a bad day!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rumblesLeicesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2004

The country around this b&b is beautiful. The b&b is expanding and the building design is somewhat haphazard and interferes with the views.
The hosts were rude and inflexible over small things -- rude comments to guests, changing linens before check out times, etc.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2002

Everything about the facility is perfect. The setting, accommodations, the hosts, the food, the fishing, the dogs. Great for families, honeymooners,or just to get away. There are things to do in Cheyenne and Laramie, which are about a half hour away in either direction. Very convienent.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheyenne
26.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Inn
21.1 mi away
The Historic Plains Hotel
The Historic Plains Hotel
#16 of 31 in Cheyenne
3.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
20.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Cheyenne, WY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Cheyenne Marriott Springhill Suites
19.7 mi away
Days Inn Cheyenne
Days Inn Cheyenne
#6 of 31 in Cheyenne
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
20.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Cheyenne
TownePlace Suites Cheyenne
#2 of 31 in Cheyenne
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Hills Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Hills Guest House

Address: 393 Happy Jack Rd, Cheyenne, WY 82007
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cheyenne
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windy Hills Guest House is a bed and breakfast featuring breathtaking views of the Laramie Mountains and Granite Lake. Curl up next to a private fireplace, enjoy a quiet night in the hot tub, or explore our 67 acres of Wyoming beauty. Just next to Curt Gowdy State Park, Windy Hills's newly renovated accommodations are perfect for all group sizes, from intimate honeymoons to large family reunions. Enjoy breakfast in our dining hall, alongside our serene waterfall and brook, or have it delivered to your room at your convenience. Windy Hills is a place like no other--This Is Wyoming. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing