We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally unexpected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windy Hills Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheyenne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windy Hills Guest House
Save
You added Windy Hills Guest House to your Saves list
393 Happy Jack Rd, Cheyenne, WY 82007   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Cheyenne B&B and Inns
Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Totally unexpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place is the perfect place to get away for a few days if you live in Cheyenne or Laramie. My wife and I went rented a spa house for our wedding night because we didn't have the time to get very far from Laramie. The place was clean and cozy and the hot tub was lots of fun. In the morning we woke up to the most amazing view of the lake. We just stumbled onto this place and I am so glad that we did. Next time we go we're taking all of our outdoor gear so we could spend the whole day outside. We've found a place to go back to again and again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010 via mobile

I'm shocked by negative reviews by obvious "spoiled & pampered" folks! Windy Hills is not supposed to be perfect. Cookie & her husband were as accommodating as possible. The place was fantastic and it was the peace and quiet we wanted. They, like all of us, are trying to survive this touch recession. Enjoy their dream with them..... Stay at the Marriott if you must have every amenity! Thank you Cookie and Rick for a wonderful 8-day stay in your log cabin this past Sept.(2010). We won't forget it and we will be back.
Allan & Edna. Georgia

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes park Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

My wife and I got away for 2 nights at this b and b and stayed in 1 of the spa houses, the other one was not occuppied so we had the area to ourselves. This over looks the lake in Curt Gowdey state park. A lovely setting in the hills of southern Wyoming half way between Laramie and Cheyenne. It is a drive to get anything you need so pick it up on the way there.
The spa house is very nice, roomy, clean and comfortable with a fridge and microwave in the small kitchen. The room is open except for the bathroom which has a nice tiled shower. The bed was comfortable, the pellet stove was not available without asking the owner to start it for you, not very convenient. The satellite T.V. had no instructions for it or to use the DVD player, we rented a movie and had to ask the owner to come over to show us how to use it, not very convient. The sauna was not available for use, the lounge chairs were not available either, too many excuses for things that should have been available.

The breakfast was very nice and brought to your room, the only problem is it cost $20.00 for a couple, not a good thing for a " Bed and Breakfast", this is the only time we have ever had to pay for breakfast at a B and B, not really a good thing.

I am not a rocket scientist, but I beleive this business could do better by reducing the rate and providing a breakfast as part of the cost, in this economy you need to provide more and not charge more for things that should be included in the price.

Overall this is a nice place, the owners are nice and friendly and the room is very comfortable and clean with nice views. Fortunately there was no one in the other spa house so we had the hot tub and grill for ourselves and did not have to share with someone else.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, ct
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed at Windy Hills with our extended family for 3 days. We were the only guests. It is a beautiful location, with a view of the lake, and a nice waterfall /patio area. Many of the other amenities we were looking forward to using were not made available to us: boating,kayaking, canoeing, volleyball, steam room, on-site laundry. The fold out couch in the spa room was too uncomfortable even for kids. The water heater wasn't big enough in the guest house to fill that beautiful jaccuzzi in the master bedroom. The service for the TV went out and we were finally allowed to use the meeting room TV on our last night. We had a mouse problem in both the spa room, and the guest house, from the first night. We were told the mice were a problem and they had a population explosion recently. What was really lacking was service, and communication. All this-at a very high-end price!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Ridge, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

We met friends there for the Texas-Wyoming football game and stayed in the Log House. The husbands went brought their fly-fishing gear and caught trout in the beautiful lake. Windy Hills is located between Laramie and Cheyenne, so we were a little remote--which is what we wanted. Cookie and Rick saw to everything we needed. Breakfasts were fantastic--for example: honeyed pear on English muffin, fresh fruit, sausages... The house was beautiful and very well furnished, and the views from it were just postcard-like. I read the negative review and our experience was nothing like that. We hope to meet our friends there again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We were pleasantly delighted on our arrival at Windy Hills B&B. Chipmunks, birds, and deer greeted us each morning as we gazed across beautiful Curt Gowdy Lake. The cabin was magnificent and extremely clean.Cookie gave us places to visit to view area wild life and breathtaking scenery.Snowy Range road was spectacular-building a snow man on July 14 was great for us since we are from Florida.We plan to return and would not think abut staying at any other place. THANKS COOKIE!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2006

Our family booked the log cabin house. The prices charged included laundry and use of ammenities but when we got their we were told by Cookie that we couldn't use anything. Additionally, the price included Breakfast, but without her husband forcing her to make us breakfast for 1 of the days we almost didn't get that. Not to mention, the wife just drops in whenever she wants. You don't get much privacy. And like the other reviews said, Cookie is rude to guests. Her husbands a nice guy.

Its beautiful - but you don't get what you pay for and service is everything when you spend 2,000 a week.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windy Hills Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Hills Guest House

Address: 393 Happy Jack Rd, Cheyenne, WY 82007
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cheyenne
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windy Hills Guest House is a bed and breakfast featuring breathtaking views of the Laramie Mountains and Granite Lake. Curl up next to a private fireplace, enjoy a quiet night in the hot tub, or explore our 67 acres of Wyoming beauty. Just next to Curt Gowdy State Park, Windy Hills's newly renovated accommodations are perfect for all group sizes, from intimate honeymoons to large family reunions. Enjoy breakfast in our dining hall, alongside our serene waterfall and brook, or have it delivered to your room at your convenience. Windy Hills is a place like no other--This Is Wyoming. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windy Hills Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.