We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Richards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poor Richard's

Poor Richard's
2233 East Lincolnway, Corner of lincolnway & converse, Cheyenne, WY 82001
307-635-5114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 157 Restaurants in Cheyenne
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Family run and operated restaurant for 34 years -
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor Richards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I visit Poor Richards monthly. We usually get good food and good service. When we have friends and family visit, Poor Richards is on the list of possible options to take them too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    45
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Local Favorite, for Good Reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Poor Richard's many times over the past years, and have never been disappointed. Our most recent visit was typical, as we entertained some out-of-town friends. We arrived at the beginning of dinner hour, at 5 o'clock sharp, and were seated promptly. The staff was friendly without exception and the service very good. This all creates the perfect atmosphere in which to enjoy the food. The basic menu has not changed much over the years, but there is always a special meal offering each night, which includes the very fresh salad bar and homemade soup. Our favorite is the Tournedos Richard, two perfectly done 4-ounce filet mignon, served with choice of starch and a vegetable medley. (Our garlic mashed potatoes and Risotto cake were excellent.) Our guests ordered the special Ribeye and the Prime Rib; both were most satisfied. Salad bar is extra for items ordered off the menu. The restaurant is decorated in what I would describe as colonial American, befitting the Ben Franklin reference in the restaurant's name. There is a small bar area adjoining the restaurant, which serves as overflow seating when things get really busy. There is a decent wine list, with enough variety to satisfy most diners (not just three types of house wine -- more extensive than that, with maybe 20 or so, of various varieties and brands, domestic and foreign). Overall, a very good locally-owned dining experience and, for Cheyenne, one of the top two or three restaurants in the city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, WY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best service in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I'm a vegetarian, so skip this review if you want to know about the steaks. While I have my car serviced at the nearby Midas (five stars!), I have lunch here. The salad bar is always fresh, and the wait staff will bring me anything I see on the menu, including sides associated with other entrees. The salad bar needs to add whole-grain bread and a bowl of romaine lettuce, just like the other fancy places. Service is friendly and never condescending.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Passing through town, looking for a Great Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Found it. Location recommended by the hotel. Easy to find and a very good atmosphere. Wait staff very friendly and we found our Great Steak. A very enjoyable evening after a full day in the car. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Dining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

After multiple dining experiences here, just had to write a review to give the place a shout out. Have never had an average meal let alone a bad one! Service is always good; ambience appears rustic American but very comfortable.

First off, always get the salad bar which includes soup of the day. It's always homemade and home style. Even though the selections are a bit limited, they're always fresh and the HOT Bacon Dressing (NO kidding) is the bomb!

One of the house favorites is the Deep Fried Lobster Tail (!) which is awesome! If you are dining with someone, get 2 tails and order a steak (either Rib Eye or Sirloin) and you have the ultimate surf and turf for 2! Also consider the Tornedos Richard (twin petite filets with shrimp) which is excellent. Specials are plentiful and almost always include a pasta and / or fish offering.

Wine list is surprisingly good, expansive and I believe they STILL offer half off select bottles on Monday. Save room for desert cause there's always a tray and anything with chocolate is highly recommended. Really can't go wrong here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poor Richard's also viewed

 

Been to Poor Richard's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poor Richard's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.