We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a work in progress” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Rodeway Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   12500 I-80 East Service Road, Cheyenne, WY 82009   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Cheyenne
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“a work in progress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place has been trying to upgrade and doing a pretty good job. Staff was very nice and even though it is right at a truck stop it's not trashy. Still has a ways to go but the beds were very comfy and the room was clean. Had good windows so you don't hear any truck traffic. We were there for Cheyenne Frontier Days of which you pay a premium price anywhere but this certainly isn't work $130 a night. Maybe $59....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed while in the area for a drum corps show. I am frugal and so chose this hotel only because all the others that I could reserve online were much more expensive. There was no one at the desk when I checked in and there was a note that said to use the provided phone to call them to come down to the desk. I checked in early, they allowed it even though the room was not ready, so I appreciated that. Even though they allowed it, one of the staff members who was doing the laundry for the room, seemed really put out and annoyed that I just wanted the key and would return late at night. Keep in mind, this really is just a truck stop hotel, right in the parking lot of a truck stop. The room was quiet, even though it was in the front of the hotel. The door did not have an extra lock on it, which made my traveling companion uncomfortable. They did have good cable channels. There were two dead bugs on the bathroom floor when we checked in. We also ate at the restaurant across the way and it was only average as well. The bathrooms at the truck stop were pretty awesome though, with heated toilet seats and a bidet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Yes this place is crumby but they obviously tried to do some renovations. Expect old & dirty appliances especially i.e., Dirty phones & refrigerator from the 60s-70s for example. My biggest gripe is I placed & paid for a multi-night reservation, which once paid for wouldn't be refunded. Initially the room smelled funny but after 24 hours with the window open that dissipated. The bed sheets simply weren't washed at all between guests. Food stains & hair were visible. The next day of my stay my room wasn't even cleaned. No attempt to make the bed or replace used towels. Moreover, whatever money I saved by staying here, over some other local options, was eaten up by extra fuel costs getting into town. This place is about 9 miles from Cheyenne. Won't be staying here again. America's Best Value Inn off of West Lincolnway is a better choice for thrifty travelers. You'll at least know where your extra money each night went to: Staff To Clean The Place!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

The bathroom walls were coated in dirt. Couldn't take a shower cause nasty dirty and rusted. When we turned in comment card lady behind counter threw it away. Don't bother with this one there are better hotels an exit down. The room next to are had a no trespassing sign that read "we shot anything on sight".

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This place while not a five star resort is a very nice place to stay. The hotel management and staff are very friendly and will bend over backwards to try and make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. They are doing renovations, putting in new flat screen Tv’s. Before you start assuming that I am management or staff let me tell you that I am not. I am here with my husband and have been for two weeks now. I am from Texas and have stayed in many hotels cabins and inns. These guys are doing there best to keep this place as clean as they can and make as many updates as they can. But that all takes time and money. The management has recently changed from the drunken guy who did not give a heck about the hotel to a very kind couple. If you have been to this hotel in the past and were disappointed I would definitely give it another try. If you are expecting pools and a hot breakfast. Go to La Quinta and pray there prices.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This Rodeway in is located approxmately 6 miles east of Cheyenne on the north frontage road which runs parallel to I-80, adjacent to a truck stop.

I would guess the majority of customers are truckers, the balance being people driving cross country just looking for a place to catch a few hours of sleep.

If I had know it was as far out of town as it is, I would have booked someplace closer to the city center. The money spent on gas going back and forth from my room would have made up the difference.

It is an older property which is in need of some remodeling and repairs. My room was clean, the staff were friendly and they had free WiFi.

It is what is it is. If I was spending $100.00 plus a night I would be disappointed with reason. Since I was looking for an inexpensive place to sleep, it worked out fine.

Aside from Cheyenne Frontier Days, I can't think of many reasons people would be heading to Cheyenne as a vacation destination. It's a wonderful little town, the people are friendly

Room Tip: If you're planning on spending some time in Cheyenne I would look for someplace closer to the Ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This was the nastiest place we stayed in. I slept in my clothes and there was no way I was using that shower. When I called i was given one price when we arrived we was told it was a different price. The e were roofing nails only reason we stayed we had been on the motorcycle for 12 hrs and was tired. When leaving I've made it a habit to check the ground for nails in doing so there roofing nails everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 12500 I-80 East Service Road, Cheyenne, WY 82009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.