We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sanford's Grub & Pub

Sanford's Grub & Pub
115 E 17th St, Cheyenne, WY 82001-4515
307-634-3381
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 159 Restaurants in Cheyenne
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Not at all impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a fun place but the food is mediocre at best and the service very slow. I only have gone once in the 4 years I have lived here and that will be my last time. Do not go here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    65
    31
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Aunt Mables does it right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Recently had visited Cheyenne and happened to run across this little gem. Its very different pub-but the Aunt Mables Chopped Sirlon Stack was the bomb. Aunt Mable does it right. You have chopped steak topped with onion rings with a huge dob of mash potatoes on top and buns, delivered in a pan. Very filling! Staff was great and very nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor Service, ignored by wait staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have not been to eat here in 2 years, my boyfriend and I went recently and it was completely disappointing. We were seated in the bar, waited and waited, finally the wait person acknowledged us, took our order and promptly ignored us after that, it was shift change I believe, because the next person coming on asked us if he could get us something to drink while we wait, and then asked how long we had been waiting, when we said 40 mins. he went to the kitchen to see how much longer. Our meal arrived after another 20 mins. and it was poor quality at best, the biscuit I had was cold, hard and black, the chicken was dry and hard to cut, the Jambalaya was cold and almost congealed. $30 later, we will not be back or recommend it to anyone we know.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very unique!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We visited there in June, 2013 while vacationing with our 22 year old grandson. I didn't make the connection with "Sanford's" until we were seated. What I considered to be mostly junk everywhere being used as their décor, brought back many memories. We enjoyed the meal and considered the prices to be moderate. If we ever have the opportunity to be in the Cheyenne area, we would definitely dine at "Sanford's" again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unfriendly, dishonest, more expensive than you think”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

They have a lot of types of beer on draw. Sign on the wall, "price of beer" and they have a dollar bill taped there. And it USED to be a dollar. So I ordered our food, hamburger and some cajun shrimp. Burger was 2/10 no flavor at all. Makes me wonder if it that pink slime stuff. Shrimp 6/10. Definitely not fresh, but didn't expect that. Ordered 3 beers for me, 2 beers for my companion. 5 beers, 1 dollar per beer, 5 bucks, easy, right? Wrong. Had 7 beers on there, one domestic for 1.00, rest appx 5 bucks each, so 31.00 plus tax. Asked about the 2 extra beers, got a real snotty response. Then asked about the dollar beer? "Well that's what they cost" and begins arguing with someone to change the sign. I agree, change the sign. Glad I had enough cash so I could get out of there. Food good for munchies, domestic beer is cold and a dollar, I think, I would ask, and I would pay as you go with the beers if you plan on having a few or staying there a while and watching a game so you don't have the unpleasant experience of arguing about your bill as if you are a criminal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanford's Grub & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Sanford's Grub & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanford's Grub & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.