We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artefacts from all over the west” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nelson Museum of the West

Nelson Museum of the West
1714 Carey Ave., Cheyenne, WY
307-635-7670
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 39 things to do in Cheyenne
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
847 reviews 847 reviews
425 attraction reviews
Reviews in 300 cities Reviews in 300 cities
355 helpful votes 355 helpful votes
“Artefacts from all over the west”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Lots to see and do, well worth an hour or two seeing it all.

With three stories to discover it's an amazingly varied collection.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Give me a Home Where the Buffalo Roam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

What a wonderful place to spend an hour or two. They sort of have their own hours, so be prepared to visit the news stand until they open. Then for a nominal charge, i think $6 you get to tour the museum and take pics too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We were absolutely amazed at all the memorabilia and antiques displayed in this 3 story museum. Mr. Nelson has dedicated his life to collecting fine examples of Western and American history, some very unique displays. I was dreading another museum for my poor husband, but he was as interested in as many things as I, so we browsed for several hours. The admission fee is very reasonable and I believe the monies are to fund scholarships. The museum was my favorite "thing to do" in Cheyenne.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
163 attraction reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Probably The Best of the 3 Old West Museums”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Yet another Old West Museum and probably my favourite of the 3. Memorabilia throughout and artifacts and tales of the old west and better value than some of the others

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best Part of a 12 day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We knew about the Nelson Museum of the West from our trip preparation on TripAdvisor but what we actually found far exceeded our expectations.

The charge is $ 4 per head - it would be worth more just for the experience.

The museum covers 3 floors which includes the basement and there is an elevator.

The first item that really touched my inner little boy was that all this cowboy and cavalry stuff is real - including the costumes from Roy Rogers and Dale Evans!

The cavalry display was amazing - period uniforms, weapons and equipment from the time the cavalry came into the West thru WWII - just fantastic.

The weapons displays are awesome - real cowboy guns!

Perhaps you can tell I enjoyed this.

Do not fail to visit the Nelson Museum of the West - if you do you will regret it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson Museum of the West also viewed

 

Been to Nelson Museum of the West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelson Museum of the West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.