We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Plains Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Historic Plains Hotel to your Saves list
The Historic Plains Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Central Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Cheyenne
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“History at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Before and during arrival. Clay made my stay, A great one. This hotel has history and charm. A great restaurant adjacent to the lobby. Great choice of food. This location also offer oversize parking with shuttle pick up. Much to do within walking distance. Will return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainshotel, Sales and Catering Admin at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
WOW! We absolutely LOVE this review! You basically summed up our amazing hotel!

Thank you SO MUCH for this great review! We hope to see you soon!

Thanks,
The Historic Plains Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    94
    72
    45
    58
See reviews for
71
104
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Travel back in time staying at the hotel which was built two years before the Lincoln Highway pushed thru. It didn't get a 5 because of threadbare stair carpet and a couple of less-than-attentive front desk gals. Another was Very helpful. Built in 1913, the hotel has not parking lot; you stroll two blocks to a lot or building. No big deal, even if it is 0 degrees. Cozy hotel Capitol Bar and Grill is a plus also with wood appointments and good service.

Room Tip: Probably interior would be best in busy times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainshotel, Sales and Catering Admin at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your input and fantastic review!

We greatly appreciate any and all compliments and concerns!

We hope to see you soon!

Thanks,
The Historic Plains Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Since all rooms from Cheyenne to Denver were full, The Plains made sure to take full advantage of that and charge me 160.00 to sleep in a single sized bed for 5 hours. I guess they decided to make as much profit as they could. Lucky for me, I have been able to use other lodging in my subsequent Cheyenne visits. I travel for business and this was one of the few time I really felt ripped off.

Room Tip: Stay anyplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainshotel, Sales and Catering Admin at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Visitor,

We strive to make everyone's visit to The Historic Plains Hotel a positive stay, surrounded by some of the richest history of the early days of Cheyenne.

We value you and your comments so we can improve on areas that need it. WE are making improvements throughout the hotel and hope you will give us another chance when coming back to Wyoming.

Thank you,
Th Management and Staff of The Historic Plains Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel is an old hotel with that history in mind throughout the hotel. Part of the charm in staying here is the historic rustic feel of the hotel while having modern amenities. Not everything is tighty or in perfect condition, but everything does work if you give it a minute or two. The hotel was built around 1911 and a lot of items are original. It is a fun place to stay if you want the rustic feel. If you like everything having a new feel you might be best to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainshotel, Sales and Catering Admin at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We really pride ourselves with our History!

Thank you again and we hope you stay with us soon!

The Historic Plains Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel has no parking. The elevator smells like someone died while smoking 17 cigarettes at once. The room was way too hot and the heater was missing a front, making it a danger to small curious children. The couch's fold up bed still had wrinkled used sheets folded up into it. Taking a shower proved impossible, only severely dirty people would choose to take a shower in brown rusty looking water. The pet fee was exorbitant and the staff unenthusiastic. To top it all off they don't even serve any kind of breakfast. Go somewhere else. And if you can't find somewhere else and have to sleep here...well, just sleep in your car. It's a better deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainshotel, Sales and Catering Admin at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We strive to make everyone's visit to The Historic Plains Hotel a positive stay, surrounded by some of the richest history of the early days of Cheyenne.

We value you and your comments so we can improve on areas that need it. We are making improvements throughout the hotel and hope you will give us another chance when coming back to Wyoming.

Thank you so much for your honesty, we greatly appreciate it!

The Management and Staff at The Historic Plains Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed 06/09/2013
Room including breakfast $88.11

Rooms were very clean although basic and old.. Iike stepping into a film really... Which is what you expect when staying here...
Location is fab and easy to find which for us was a bonus whilst on our Route 66 bike trip.. A tad noisy mind...Downside was the parking as we had to leave the bike on the street, having said that it seemed a very safe area.. And we had no probs..
The staff in this hotel are second to none!! Very polite,friendly and helpful... This carries throughout the hotel... Breakfast was good and plentiful..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainshotel, Sales and Catering Admin at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you SO MUCH for this awesome review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at The Historic Plains Hotel!

We hope to see you soon!

Thanks again,
The Historic Plains Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Pros: 1) very friendly, earnest and sincerely accommodating staff 2) Historic Hotel 3). very nice, spacious King bed rooms.

Cons: 1). Very small, slow but uniquely antique elevator; you will be taking the stairs if you are able to walk whenever a large group is in the house 2). non-King rooms are quite small
3). Technology issues seem to challenge staff when billing/room changes need to be adjusted; I've still not received an email copy of my bill as promised when I checked out a few weeks ago
4). Be forewarned that street parking is the quickest alternative to the valet, but you might have to hunt a little to find a space nearby

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainshotel, Sales and Catering Admin at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your honest review of The Historic Plains Hotel. We greatly appreciate your honesty!

We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Thank you again,
The Historic Plains Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Plains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Plains Hotel

Address: 1600 Central Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Plains Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a historic hotel of America, The Plains Hotel has been a cultural landmark and society favorite of Presidents, movie stars and cattle barons for more than 90 years. Right in the heart of downtown and surrounded by Cheyenne's greatest attractions, The Plains Hotel celebrates the rich legacy of the American frontier through colors, texture, and the natural materials of the Wyoming plains. Guests can come and experience the spirit of the west. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Historic Plains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Plains Hotel
Historic Plains Cheyenne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Plains Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.