We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming and historic, for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Plains Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Plains Hotel to your Saves list
The Historic Plains Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Central Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Cheyenne
Ft. Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“charming and historic, for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

OK, the rooms are not perfect, some issues, including bathrooms, so I would not recommend this hotel for more than perhaps 3 nights, but if it's a short stay, it's a great place, almost like a musuem if you take the time to walk the spacious lobby, look up, look at the art work on the walls, admire the furnishings. It's all beautiful. We were with family so saw several rooms. Each room and each floor has it's own unique charm. We lucked out with parking, which admittedly can be a bit of an issue, as with many city hotels. The room rates were reasonable. Very good breakfast included. We had dinner at the restaurant. Not wonderful, but not bad. Location is great for taking a scenic walk. For a 100 year old hotel, it can hold it's own against anything in it's price range. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: arrive around 4-5 PM if with car, when parking by hotel more available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunter O, General Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. The Plains Hotel’s history is very important to us and I am glad the hotel was able to share what once was to you as we hope to do with all of our guests. I will also be sharing your comments with our chef so that we may strive on our dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    104
    81
    48
    58
See reviews for
76
114
30
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here on Thanksgiving eve without booking ahead of time and were very quickly checked in and accomodated. The foyer of this hotel built in 1911 is exquisite, as is the mezzanine level and restaurant. The hotel had a very "Shining"esque feel to it, very authentic western feel. Old ballroom and photos from its heyday were impressive. The rooms are very small, ours looked out onto an internal roof space where it looked like everyone had used it for an ashtray. Saying that I loved the hotel, the bathroom was still in an early 1900's style, tile and pink bath. Sometime during the night our bathroom tap switched itself on and then ran for about 15 seconds and turned itself off, think what you will about that.
The hotel is great, what it lacks is good service. We went down for dinner and were the first ones there. Our waiter told us about the happy hour and took our drink orders. !0 minutes later they still werent delivered, finally one was and apperently the keg had to be changed on the other. I was watching the barmaid pour our beer and she set it on the counter for our waiter who never materialised. I finally had to go up and grab this myself. During this time the two people at the bar had had a couple of drinks. I also had to go up and grab our next round as well. The waiter was nice but was never there. Food was good.
Breakfast was part of the deal and again we were the first in the dining room. The girl who was the only one there took about 2 minutes to notice us and was the most apathetc person we encountered on our trip. The next gentleman stood next to her station for 5 minutes before she raised her eyes from her phone when was playing with and seated him. The breakfast was atrocious and I didnt eat any. The pancakes were hard from being in the bain marie and the syrup hadnt been stirred so had about an inch of skin on the top that came with the serving.
We had them valet our car the night before so asked for it when checking out. 30 minutes later we were still standing on the curb with no car, I had gone inside to enquire where it was and the desk girl said" Oh, so and so was getting that (so and so was walking across the foyer) werent you? He looked like this was the first he had heard of it and went to get the keys" Was about 40 by the time it pulled up.
Nice hotel, pity about the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunter O, General Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
First I would like to thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our historic hotel and its uniqueness. I am however displeased on the service you received from our staff. We strive on our customer service. I will be addressing these issues with each department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Hostoric Plains Hotel is a very pleasant stop for a quick getaway from Boulder. It is less than 90 minutes away. We do this at least once a year. The hotel is comfortable and up to date as it was renovated a little while ago. It mainatains the cowboy western ambiance in its lovely decor. The restaurant is open for breakfast , lunch and dinner. A bonust this time was the inclusion of a buffet breakfast in the room rate which was itself quite reasonable at $75. Noticed the complaint about parking in a previous review. Valet parking is available, not sure if there is a charge for this. As Cheyenne is relatively quiet we have never had trouble parking on the street. There is a spa on the premises though we have never tried it. Rooms are comfortable, even the most reasonable rooms have space to move around. Lots of hot water which is not always true in a hotel of this vintage. All in all a comfortable quick getaway. Check out the western store across the street, and Wyoming Home, just a block away. Several antique stores, south of the hotel about 5 blocks. Dinner at the Little Bear is always a good choice, just a short ride north on I25.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunter O, General Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments. As the General Manager of the Historic Plains Hotel I am pleased to hear how you enjoyed your stay not only at our hotel but in the great town of Cheyenne. We look forward to having you as our guest again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were in Cheyenne for the Anual Xmas Parade.

We mis-calculated & ended 1 day early .

Whoops.

Our evening @ the Plains was exquisite.

Dinner menu, was a plus for Vegitarians-compliments to the Chef.

Well worth the drive from Denver.

Room was spacious & inviting

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunter O, General Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
First and Foremost I would like to thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and as well as our dinner service. I will pass this along to our chef as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After living in Cheyenne for 22 years, becoming increasingly active in matters of historic preservation and downtown revitalization, I was seeking a venue for my wedding which would capture my personality and love of old buildings. The wedding and reception were nothing less than seamless and the service was over the top. My out of town family was thrilled with the historic architecture and ambiance that is The Plains Hotel. Without your excellent staff this would not be possible, however. Liz, Tabitha, Terrence, Gunther and everyone else who played a part to make sure it was perfect. You should be commended for an extraordinary experience and memorable event. Your staff and hotel is a treasure. Thank you so very much for everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunter O, General Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Here at the Plains Hotel we work very hard to make these special times as memorable as possible. I am pleased to hear how well my staff handled your wedding, it was an Amazing day. You and your guests were a pleasure to work with. I look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is an old downtown hotel in Cheyenne, where you can walk to restaurants and shops, and there's a decent brew pub a couple blocks away too. If you are in Cheyenne to experience it, this is the place to stay. If you are rolling through in a U-Haul Truck, sure, stay out by the freeway. But we found a much richer experience in the classic downtown. The rooms are comfortable, beds very nice, bathroom so-so. But totally clean, and with a fridge-microwave-coffeemaker. Service at the front desk was prompt and courteous. Didn't eat at the restaurant since there are other options all around. State Museum is a few blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunter O, General Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
As the General Manager at The Plains Hotel i am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our wonderful downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

AI have traveled for my living for 20 yrs and never stayed in this hotel in my home town until I was in the process of moving
The Rooms are on the small side unless you get a parlor room but the staff is top notch at making you happy and the $59 and they give you a real breskfast as well

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunter O, General Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments as we value all of our guests and their experiences. I would like to personally welcome you back to Cheyenne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Plains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Plains Hotel

Address: 1600 Central Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Plains Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a historic hotel of America, The Plains Hotel has been a cultural landmark and society favorite of Presidents, movie stars and cattle barons for more than 90 years. Right in the heart of downtown and surrounded by Cheyenne's greatest attractions, The Plains Hotel celebrates the rich legacy of the American frontier through colors, texture, and the natural materials of the Wyoming plains. Guests can come and experience the spirit of the west. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your The Historic Plains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Plains Hotel
Historic Plains Cheyenne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Plains Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.