We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed though not a very clean room.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne

Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1625 Stillwater Ave, Cheyenne, WY 82009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 hotels in Cheyenne
Pueblo, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable bed though not a very clean room.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

As the title implies, the beds were very comfortable and the shower was very nice. The room could have been cleaner though as the coffee pot (mug) was dirty with dried on coffee, windows and window ledges were VERY dirty and the floor was not properly vacuumed. As stated in previous reviews, the diner had good food, was nostalgic and is open 24 hours. It is a little off the I-25 path but not hard to find. The rooms were very spacious with a refrigerator.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
7
18
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Joplin, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Perfect location on our trip to Yellowstone & the Tetons from the Midwest. Decent price. Spacious, clean rooms, and the diner was great, as advertised. Room had a mini-fridge and microwave, which was nice!

Room Tip: Eat at the diner for breakfast. Great service & good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband, dog, and I were stranded at a shop, because our truck broke down. The Oak Tree Inn, had shuttle service available, and were able to pick us up and bring us to the hotel. They offered us a truckers discount, and allowed our little dog to stay with us at no extra fee, which is practically unheard of in the hotel industry! Our room was pleasant, and clean, the staff was very helpful, and there was also a mall within walking distance. They also included complimentary breakfast coupons to the adjoining restaraunt, Penny's Diner. I haven't tried their food yet, but I will be sure to write a review when I do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have been staying at the Oak Tree Inn when I visit Cheyenne. This hotel is clean with no frills. I would not recommend this place for families with children. There is no pool or hot tub. However, the price is good if you just need a clean, safe, quiet place to lay your head.

Room Tip: Use the deadbolt lock because they seem to double book the rooms on accident. Not fun when you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I will start the review with positive information: The hotel rooms are very nicely furnished (refrigerator and microwave combo plus coffee maker), the bed was super comfortable, the water pressure was great and we had plenty of hot water; the breakfast voucher for Penny's Diner was more than adequate - the food is plentiful and the staff is fabulous (every server and cook we interacted with was just fantastic - cheerful and energetic - the highlight of our stay); the hotel is in a great location within walking distance of the Frontier Mall and plenty of restaurants and service establishments.

Now for the not-so-positive information: We checked in on Thanksgiving and our room was not cleaned or serviced for two days in a row. After returning to our room from a long day on Friday we saw that the room had not been touched. Complained to the "front desk" (actually a counter in Penny's Diner), she apologized and said that housekeeping would be notified of the error and we received new towels and our trash was taken away. Came back on Saturday after a long day - same thing. No service. My husband went to "have a little chat" with management. They moved us to a new room and gave us vouchers for a free dinner in the Diner.

Also of note: The room temperature is very hard to regulate. Moving the setting just a tiny bit would change the air blowing out from cold to hot and vice versa. Lots of strange noises coming from the room and the building itself. There was an occasional banging noise that we never could figure out where it was coming from. Also, the internet is s-l-o-w but at least it's free.

This is a contract hotel for Union Pacific railroad employees and they appear to make up the bulk of the clients. Not a criticism, just an observation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

No customer service at all the reception is in the dinner and the girls in there have no knowledge of the hotel. We booked a 'Quiet and dark! Full XL bed, micro and fridge, lounge chair, desk, coffee, iron and board, hairdryer' please note a full XL bed is smaller than a queen bed - we asked to be changed but they did not offer any other rooms. We also requested a room on the ground floor but they gave us a room on the second floor (no lift) - again they did not offer when I asked a ground floor room. Price of the room $55 plus tax. They do give you a voucher $7 each for a breakfast but the clientele in the dinner was questionable!! The hotel is right next to the airport - my fault I did not check. about 5am a large cargo plane took off we woke me. We mainly booked the hotel as it was near to Chilli's 5/10 min walk

Room Tip: Not sure I can help you here - what you request you don't get!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

On our way to CA we stayed overnight at the Oak Tree Inn. We were a little surprised to see that you actually check in for the hotel at the diner just across the parking lot. The staff was very nice and the rooms were clean. Breakfast is free at Penny's diner (or discount towards meal). Penny's is open 24 hours, which is great if you arrive late, since the majority of restaurants in the vicinity are closed. The hotel has a "lounge" area with recliners surrounding a tv, a computer room and a workout room. For the price, I would stay there again. It wasn't fancy, but definitely comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne

Address: 1625 Stillwater Ave, Cheyenne, WY 82009
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 hotels in Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.