We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne to your Saves list
Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1625 Stillwater Ave, Cheyenne, WY 82009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Cheyenne
Caseyville, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Oak Tree Inn. The rooms were clean and quiet, and we slept well. The best part was the breakfast at the Penny's Diner. If you are tired of the usual Continental Breakfast, you will appreicate the hearty breakfast at the diner.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back of the hotel and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
7
21
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Friedrichshafen, Deutschland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

On the way from the Rocky Mountains National Park to Mount Rushmore, we stayed in Cheyenne. The Oak Tree Inn was OKish, the room was clean, but we had a noisy vending machine just outside the door.
What we did like was the breakfast in the traditional diner next door (where we also picked up the key for the room).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My Step-Son age 16 was traveling with his mother and was put in a situation that caused him to be left alone and stranded in Cheyenne Wyoming at 10:30pm. His father (has legal custody) and I located in Oregon had no way of getting this boy home. While on the phone with our son we were able to get him in a cab and heading to the airport. He found that the local airport was closed and did not open till the next day at 7am. The cab driver took him to the closest hotel and left him. He was told at this hotel that there were no rooms available.
He then walked to the next Hotel (Oak Tree Inn) and was told that he could not get a room. I spoke to the individual that was working at the hotel that night and they stated that they would not take a credit card over the phone and the only way that they would help us is if we faxed a copy of our credit card and photo ID to prove that we owned the card and whatever else.
I explained that we did not have a fax machine (not sure how many average families have a fax machine in their homes but I know that we do not and not sure if we would find use in something like that these days) I proceeded to ask if we could email a scanned copy of these thing to them. He explained that he did not have access to the company email and that would not work. I explained that my son was only 16 and we were in Oregon and had no way of getting him and he needed a place to stay that would be safe until he could get to the airport the next morning. I did not want him to continue to walk around on the streets in the late hours of the day. This man proceeded to tell me that he would not help us and that even the police could not help us.
Our son sat in a booth at the 24 hour diner that was attached to this hotel all night until 6am the next morning. He then called a shuttle to pick him up and take him to the airport. During the time he was at this diner he says many scary people (hookers and sketchy looking people) coming in and out. So this place was most certainly not a place for a child to be and even more so not by himself.
This was the worst experience in our lives and hope that no one ever has to be left alone in the town of Cheyenne Wyoming. If you are traveling near this town Please do not stop!!! I can only hope that this town does not treat their locals this way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

There was nothing really special about the hotel. The room was very plain. It seemed pretty clean, but our dogs were very busy sniffing. We figured that the very cool temp of the room was to help mask smells. This was the only room in a 6000 mile road trip that our dogs behaved this way. I can't imagine that they were the first animals to stay in any of the other rooms along our route. That being said, this hotel is right next to a walking path that made taking the dogs out a great experience. There were a lot of families and really nice people along the walk. Breakfast at Penny's diner (vouchers provided to people who stay at the hotel) was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The oak tree inn is not 4 star but the rooms are excellent would appear to be recently renolvated. Service and amenities are very good as well. Penny diner provides great breakfast, this is attached to hotel. Very pleased with our stay. Had a great night sleep, windows are double glazed.

Room Tip: We did not have dinner at diner but we think that we should have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Haven, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I like this place a lot. Nothing really stands out but the people, who are very friendly and make sure you are taken care of. Convenient location, walking distance to lots of stores and restaurants. Stayed in two different rooms on consecutive nights. Had my cat with me, manager never questioned it, and zero signs of other pets having been in the room. Both were clean, comfortable beds, cable, fairly reliable wifi, not the Ritz but I felt welcome, and the diner is great. Excellent food, friendly service and for us was FREE breakfast both days with vouchers they gave us at check-in. Why are people complaining about the Oak Tree? Lighten up or go pay a lot more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

stopped for one night on our way to rapid city wanted quiete night and got it as it is set back from highway. was clean and tidy and suited our overnight stay.Breafast was in the ajoining Penny's Dinner with a voucher (very good it was to), The penny's Dinner also acted as Hotel Reception.
Had no complaints with this hotel would stay again and recomend

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne

Address: 1625 Stillwater Ave, Cheyenne, WY 82009
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.