We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for anyone including families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terry Bison Ranch

Terry Bison Ranch
51 I-25 Service Road East, Cheyenne, WY 82007
307-634-4171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Activities in Cheyenne
Type: Ranchs, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Prairie Vilage, KS
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place for anyone including families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I reviewed this Ranch in more detail under "Terry Bison Ranch Resort" on Trip Advisor.... Great Old West , rustic charm, amazing scenery. Horseback trail ride a must, hope you get Preston as your guide!! Food is very good, opening a breakfast area on July 1st! Enjoy!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    11
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“SO FUN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great animals, lots to do, while we were there a wedding was taking place -- it looked so cute.
We didn't get a chance to take the trolly out to see the bison (time restrictions), but I will definitely go the next time I'm through. The restaurant is open 7 days a week, Best Burger in Wyoming according to the Food Network!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Restaurant review - smoking allowed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The attractions at the ranch are fun and it is always a good time going on the tour and checking out the animals, but if you are going for a bison steak dinner, be aware that smoking is allowed in the bar and the bar is not separate from the restaurant. I had forgotten that smoking is allowed in the county so when we walked into the restaurant we noticed the smell of smoke immediately. Great news if you are a smoker or smoke doesn't bother you, not so much for non smokers. The food is good, albeit a little pricy, we spent $80 on 2 buffalo sirloin steak dinners and 2 glasses of wine (includes tip). I always enjoy the ranch because it can be a truly western experience, smoke in the restaurant and all, but don't go expecting chic and you won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

While staying in Cheyenne for a few days, I looked up attractions and decided to try this. We went on the train ride through the ranch to see all the animals. James was our guide, we where Lucky enough to be the only ones on this tour. James was very informative and when we stopped to feed the Bison, it was so enjoyable we stayed with them quite a while. Meet Shovel, one of the Bison, I was feeding him most of the time (he was dominate) what a gentle giant, he took the food so gently from my fingers. Not something everyone gets to experience, I would recommend highly for all....

Anne & John
PS...Say HI to Shovel for me!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Simply superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

There is something very therapeutic and blissful about being among a herd of bison. Perhaps it is the majesty of the beautiful beast or their calmness. Either way, it is one of the must-do activities for me when I am in bison territory.

Terry Bison Ranch Resort is bison heaven. The ranch has more than 5000 bison roaming around 38,000 acres of land. But you don't get to see all five thousand of them, unless you take an entire day and wander out across the 38K acres. They have a few dozen bison in an enclosed area only for showing purposes. This is where the fun happens. You take an open trolley, pass ostriches, alpacas, and horses, and arrive at the bison area.

Bison may look stupid, but they know the trolley brings treats. All of a sudden dozens of bison get up from their lazy state and walk to the trolley. Our guide brings out a large bucket of treats (made of alfalfa) and they wait for him to throw the treats in their direction. Some bold and social bison come close to the trolley, it's like they are asking to be fed. The guide points out which ones are more social than others and hands over a few treats for you to hand feed them. The bison were happy to receive treats and I was happy to hand feed them.

Besides the animals, the ranch also offers horse back riding in the vast hills, a "dude ranch" experience, and a restaurant that supposedly serves great farm-raised bison. You also have a made-up western town for the kitsch factor. You can camp your RV or rent a lodge overlooking the hills and bison herds.

Thank you, majestic beasts, for helping me relax and gain some calmness in my (currently) chaotic life. I will always be appreciative of the fact that you trusted me and let me get close to you.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terry Bison Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Terry Bison Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terry Bison Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.