We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sad ending to a historic tradition.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hitching Post Inn

Save Saved
You added Hitching Post Inn to your Saves list
Hitching Post Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hitching Post Inn
1600 W Lincolnway, Cheyenne, WY 82001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 30 hotels in Cheyenne
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A sad ending to a historic tradition.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Let's face it. The rooms needed a little updating ten years ago. At one time this was THE spot in Cheyenne and all the legislators stayed there (Wyoming has a citizens government so they are only in town a month or so).

The restaurant was great food, and the rooms were spacious and well cared for. It is near the train tracks but so are most of the hotels in town, and Cheyenne is after a UNion Pacific kinda town (go see the depot for some fun).

Then the fire. Ahh. This is now a run down, dive. It is sad to say, but only the back building is left, and there is speculation as to how the fire occurred. Move on people, trust the recent reviews. You will be glad you did.

A sad ending to a fabulous old school property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    4
    12
    16
See reviews for
17
8
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hitching post last month, it is a work in progress from the fire that was at that location a few years back. The rooms were huge and clean, the service was great, front desk was very polite. Overall the staff i had contact with were very helpful. I enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Let's start with arrival: You can't see the functional part of this property from the highway: You see an old sign and a fenced-off building that looks like "out of business." Only a drive around that building reveals another part that is not condemned. "Office" was locked and without a room key you push a buzzer. The lady who answered this went to get the Manager/Owner.

OK: Bedding and general cleanliness, of the room. Otherwise, shabby.
NOT OK: Phone did not work, calling "O" to the "24-hour front desk" recycled again and again and to get the phone turn on I walked down to the office and asked. The connection, which they claim is VOiP was so poor I could not make a call with my calling card. Dim inside he room, many of the outlets do not work.

BIG NOT OK: Booking.com advertises refund if you "find a better rate elsewhere." I did, and Booking.com C/S referred me back to the hotel, which said no, they will not honor since they had paid Booking.com a commission. Advertised refund policy worthless. Suggestion: If you DID use Booking.com, track prices elsewhere and request a refund or just re-book. I could have gotten for $10 less by using Priceline's retail side. The lesson to me: avoid Booking.com, which is a part of Priceline, which should be ashamed of itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The vast majority of this motel burnt down. Just a small section remains. Used to be a highly rated Best Western, but alas ... not more. Not good at all. I was extremely disappointed to have booked one of my favorite hotels to arrive at an empty lot with but a few rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Don't be fooled by the pictures. We stayed here during Cheyenne Frontier Days and booked through priceline. The reviews on priceline were mixed and we couldn't find another hotel in town with an available room so we took a chance. BAD MOVE! The main part of the hotel burned down several years ago ( we were told by locals at the rodeo) and the lobby and available rooms occupy what used to be the restaurant and lounge in the back building. So when we first drove by we couldn't believe our eyes. All we saw was a big, abandoned hotel with metal fencing around it. Then we saw the sign pointing to the back of the building and saw the "Lobby" sign lit up. YIKES!! The girl at the front desk was very polite, but we couldn't believe our room: furniture broken, the chairs were tattered, the toilet didn't flush well, the floors and bathroom area dirty, and we were paying close to $200 a night!! (Obviously they were taking advantage of the fact that the rodeo was in town and rooms were scarce). The hotel is located right next to the train tracks and the train passes by quite frequently so we were awakened several times during the night.
We booked two nights but begged priceline to get us out of the second night and refund us, which they did (thank you priceline!!!). All I can say is, don't "hitch yourself to this post".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Whatever you do do not book this place. It is dirty, half codemed, overpriced and run by the rudest people on e face of the earth. You would be better off sleeping in your car.

Room Tip: Stay in any other place in Cheyenne. There is nothing worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Avoid this place, it's completely run down and dirty, surviving only on outdated (or paid?) reviews and nostalgia. Overpriced for a substandard motel. Lots of other options just up the road. Also, its restaurant burned down and so ignore any reviews that mention food. It is only a motel - a dingy, dirty, depressing and somewhat scary motel. So none of the food-related reviews are relevant. Additionally, it is not affiliated with any national chain - some reviews refer to it as Ramada, some as Best Western, it is neither.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hitching Post Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitching Post Inn

Address: 1600 W Lincolnway, Cheyenne, WY 82001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 hotels in Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is conveniently located 2 miles off I-25 on exit 9 (Lincolnway) and is about 2.5 miles from Cheyenne Downtown which offers a wide variety of restaurants and tourist sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hitching Post Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hitching Post Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.