We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bummer” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hitching Post Inn

Save Saved
You added Hitching Post Inn to your Saves list
Hitching Post Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hitching Post Inn
1600 W Lincolnway, Cheyenne, WY 82001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 hotels in Cheyenne
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Bummer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The vast majority of this motel burnt down. Just a small section remains. Used to be a highly rated Best Western, but alas ... not more. Not good at all. I was extremely disappointed to have booked one of my favorite hotels to arrive at an empty lot with but a few rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    5
    12
    16
See reviews for
18
8
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Don't be fooled by the pictures. We stayed here during Cheyenne Frontier Days and booked through priceline. The reviews on priceline were mixed and we couldn't find another hotel in town with an available room so we took a chance. BAD MOVE! The main part of the hotel burned down several years ago ( we were told by locals at the rodeo) and the lobby and available rooms occupy what used to be the restaurant and lounge in the back building. So when we first drove by we couldn't believe our eyes. All we saw was a big, abandoned hotel with metal fencing around it. Then we saw the sign pointing to the back of the building and saw the "Lobby" sign lit up. YIKES!! The girl at the front desk was very polite, but we couldn't believe our room: furniture broken, the chairs were tattered, the toilet didn't flush well, the floors and bathroom area dirty, and we were paying close to $200 a night!! (Obviously they were taking advantage of the fact that the rodeo was in town and rooms were scarce). The hotel is located right next to the train tracks and the train passes by quite frequently so we were awakened several times during the night.
We booked two nights but begged priceline to get us out of the second night and refund us, which they did (thank you priceline!!!). All I can say is, don't "hitch yourself to this post".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Whatever you do do not book this place. It is dirty, half codemed, overpriced and run by the rudest people on e face of the earth. You would be better off sleeping in your car.

Room Tip: Stay in any other place in Cheyenne. There is nothing worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Avoid this place, it's completely run down and dirty, surviving only on outdated (or paid?) reviews and nostalgia. Overpriced for a substandard motel. Lots of other options just up the road. Also, its restaurant burned down and so ignore any reviews that mention food. It is only a motel - a dingy, dirty, depressing and somewhat scary motel. So none of the food-related reviews are relevant. Additionally, it is not affiliated with any national chain - some reviews refer to it as Ramada, some as Best Western, it is neither.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

The room was not cleaned, there was a broken toilet in the first room, the second room had spit in the sink, filthy bathroom floor, smelled horrible, filth in the garbage bins, no garbage liners, scum in the tub! This was not hygienic! We quickly got a refund and are staying elsewhere!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Ok, it looked a bit dodgy when I pulled in but once I got into the lobby and met the hostess and got to my room I was very pleased. The room was large, spotless and homey. I have seen apartments smaller than my room. The beds were comfortable, there was a sitting area , and the bathroom was larger than one in my house. It looked like they have been doing updating in the bathrooms. I found it funny that there was a phone jack in the bathroom. Remember when that was cool?. If they can continue with their up dating, this place can be a great retreat. I would make one suggestion: put trash can in the bathroom so women don't have to walk into room with used female products. The hostess was very pleasant but the poor gal had working very long hours. Regardless of her being tired I still enjoyed her company to talk to. I stayed July 3rd 2012. This was a "don't judge a book by its cover" place. It was well worth the price for Cheyenne.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, UT
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

These are very modest accommodations at this old style motel, where the rooms are accessed from outside. My room, while large, appeared to have been vacuumed only in the main part of the room. What I mean is that there was a considerable amount of dust built up between the bed and the desk and to show I am not being picky the area I speak of was about 12" x 18" and it was grey from the thick layer of dust on it (yuck). Obviously the furniture had not been moved in quite some time. The mattress and pillows were old and in need of replacement and the a/c cycled continuously all night (it would not stay on). The shower in my room had virtually no pressure but my associate staying next door said he had plenty of water pressure, so your experience may vary. The cold breakfast is very basic: danish or cereal plus coffee and juice. The staff is very nice and friendly though.

Room Tip: In all candor, stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hitching Post Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitching Post Inn

Address: 1600 W Lincolnway, Cheyenne, WY 82001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 hotels in Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is conveniently located 2 miles off I-25 on exit 9 (Lincolnway) and is about 2.5 miles from Cheyenne Downtown which offers a wide variety of restaurants and tourist sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hitching Post Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hitching Post Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.