We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“learn about Caspar / Casper” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Caspar Museum and Historic Site

Fort Caspar Museum and Historic Site
4001 Fort Caspar Rd, Casper, WY
307/235-8462
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Attractions in Casper
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Casper
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“learn about Caspar / Casper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Casper Wyoming has a lot of history with indians and pioneers, and Fort Caspar museum delivers. Its less than $5pp. once you go thru the museum and learn about our town's rich history with oil etc. you're welcome (during spring and summer) to go see the actual Fort that housed military in the beginning of our town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    28
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Grande, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great reproduction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

well done museum - wide variety of information and time periods - excellent selection of historical books from which to choose at the gift shop.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Part of our Nation's History!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

All my life I've heard of the Oregon trail. Fort Casper was on this trail by the North Platte River where pioneers crossed over going to the West Coast. This fort and museum are small but well done and worth your time if you like US history. Don't forget to ask where the actual Oregon trail is out behind the fort. We did and I was told later you could still see the ruts of the old trail.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Best Of Them All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I was extremely impressed with the restoration of this fort – undoubtedly the best of this trip, during which I visited eight. Each of the buildings is furnished as it would have been in 1865, and even a short section of the Platte River Bridge – which originally extended a thousand feet over the river – has been reconstructed.

After a lengthy talk with the park ranger, I walked out onto the bridge, then made a thorough and leisurely exploration of the various restored buildings. This was the only fort visited during the entire journey which featured reconstructions of a sutler's store, officers' quarters, stables, blacksmith shop, commissary, mess hall, barracks, and telegraph office – all of which I explored with a great deal of interest. I felt that the visit here was well worth the $3 entrance fee.

Upon finishing my most interesting visit, at the Visitor Center I bought postcards (the nicest and least expensive ones seen duting this entire journey) and was even able to purchase postcard stamps here without having to visit a post office.

The park ranger was most helpful, later taking me outside and pointing to the spot some distance away where Lieutenant Collins and his command were ambushed, as well as giving me directions to the spot where Sergeant Custard 's supply train was wiped out at Red Buttes.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Small but worth seeing a number of old building all outside easy walking.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Caspar Museum and Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Fort Caspar Museum and Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Caspar Museum and Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.