We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Historic Trails Interpretive Center

National Historic Trails Interpretive Center
1501 North Poplar Street, Casper, WY
307-261-7700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Casper
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very interesting museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We enjoyed this modern museum though the experience would have been better if all of the exhibits had been in good working order. Perhaps the national parks are not getting enough funds to fix problems. We lucked out and got there on a day where there were no fees. It was a very informative set of displays about the history of the different trails used to cross the country in the mid to late 1800s. Good museum for young to old. Great view of the city of Casper through a large window with a map to show where the significant historical locations in the city were.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    28
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marianna, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very well presented - three trails - three different sections in the museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The three trails; Oregon, Mormon, and California, are each presented in their own area. The central area, which has life-sized statues and props of the time period, is part of an audio-visual presentation that shows the common issues all three trails had. Several museums we've visited dealt vaguely with the Mormons - this one is very accurate and gives more background about the conditions they were facing back east. Most pioneers could have stayed back east and things would have been OK. The Mormons, however, didn't have that type of situation so they headed west to escape the bad conditions back east. It's very evenly presented and you get a real feel of what all the travelers dealt with back then. The building is well-designed and is very easy to get around - even in a wheelchair. It's managed by the BLM. If you have any of the Nat'l Park passes they are accepted.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Definite Must-Do for History Buffs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Beautiful Setting on a site overlooking the city/area. Wonderful interpretive displays. A combination of AV, experiential, artifacts engaged my interest.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln,ne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“the best thing "to do" in casper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a great museum with interactive exhibits and tons to see. I Learned a lot from the exhibits. It's also a beautiful view from the location with nice statues etc on your way in. Be aware that the center is closed on Sunday and Monday's.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Definitely check this place out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was very glad I came here. Lots of neat exhibits. I learned a lot and it was fun in the process. The gift shop has a lot of neat things too. The staff was also very helpful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Historic Trails Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to National Historic Trails Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Historic Trails Interpretive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.