We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utilitarian Industrial Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Caspar Campground

Fort Caspar Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Casper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fort Caspar Campground
Save
You added Fort Caspar Campground to your Saves list
4205 Fort Caspar Rd, Casper, WY 82604   |  
Hotel amenities
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Utilitarian Industrial Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Industrial campground on gravel parking lot. Caters to long-term workers in area, only tolerates travelers. Extremely utilitarian!!!! WiFi terrible, cable tv good, and showers clean. Office informative, but not friendly. Way, way, way overpriced even with 2 night PA discount. I would not describe this as camping, just stopping to empty and fill. We are in a Class B Roadtrek Agile.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    5
    7
See reviews for
8
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We camped here one night and set up a tent. The office lady was very accommodating and was patient with us even though we arrived late night. A bit noisy early in the am as they are doing some construction or something just across the river, but not an issue if we were in an RV. Shower house was clean and curtains are replaced regularly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

There are no words to describe how bad this is! It is in an industrial area, it is very loud, right by the water treatment plant. They have a quiet time after 10 pm which is not enforced at 10:30 we were awakened to an extremely loud truck driving around and shining it's brights in our faces! After that between the industrial noise and our exhaustion we were miserable.

It looked to us that anyone who was there lives there so they could care less about the people coming through. There isn't a playground that is just false advertising and there is no privacy in the bathrooms for showering!!!

Fish pond or sludge heap you decide!!! We will never go back and we wished we had gone anywhere else!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

As we drove into the campground area, it was very beautiful but looks are deceiving. The campground is situated next to Fort Caspar Museum. You have to drive into the museum parking area to get to the campground. The staff were very nice and the front area was very beautiful, lots of trees and grassy areas. Behind the office though, it is not as pretty. This is technically a parking lot with hookups. The lots are large but half the lots didn't have a picnic table and there was no grass or anything that distinguished your lot from the next persons lot. No trees in the lots either. It is not aesthetically pleasing at all.

There was however, two ponds for my 10yr old son to fish in for free without a license (which he did but didn't catch anything). We stayed 1 night in this park. The showers were decent. Mostly old colored tile but it was clean. The showers were separate stalls and had clean vinyl curtains at the entrance to each stall. There was also a separate curtain you could close off in a dressing hall. I felt comfortable taking a shower there and I am very picky.

At night however, you could hear the dogs in the office residence barking. There were cats running around everywhere and there are MANY stationary campers. Some look okay but others look very trashy which brought this campgrounds review down to poor. I have stayed in "parking lot" campgrounds before and this is one of the worst ones (due to the stationary campers).

Overall, it was a decent place. Just an FYI, there is a train that passes through several times a day. Free Wi-Fi which was easy to log on to and we got service no matter where we were in the park. We won't stay here again though. This is not in Casper, WY. It is actually in the Town of Mills which is just outside Casper. If you need a place to drop and spend the night, it's an okay place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This place was all right. Only one train (next to campground). If you needed an overnight stay, this is doable; however, Truthfully, we would not return. It needs some TLC and not have uni-bathrooms. The staff was friendly enough. Place was full with what appeared stationary campers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemmerer, Wyoming
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Website advertise a campground with a playground and fishing pond. Upon our arrival there was no playground, fishing pond is polluted (I don't think fish can even live there), the bathrooms have no privacy (no doors on stalls only curtains with huge holes). People with dogs walking through your tent spot and nothing is done about it. Bathrooms are far away from the tent sites, but the portable potty is set next to it for convenience. Unfortunately potty is full and there is no toilet paper or hand sanitizer in it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

No free wireless internet. Bath house was pretty clean. LOTS of long-term residents living there what appeared to be full time and some of those residents and their "campers" were junky looking. Nice folks run the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Caspar Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Caspar Campground

Address: 4205 Fort Caspar Rd, Casper, WY 82604
Location: United States > Wyoming > Casper
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Casper
Number of rooms: 96

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Caspar Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.