We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative in Every Respect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunburst Lodge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Casper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunburst Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Sunburst Lodge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2700 Micro Road, Casper, WY 82601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Casper B&B and Inns
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Superlative in Every Respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The Sunburst Lodge Bed and Breakfast was, perhaps, the most beautiful bed and breakfast I've ever stayed in. I have a preference for B&Bs over generic, standard hotels, and I seek them out -- typically nice properties and ones with character, charm, and/or history. The Sunburst Lodge is different in that it is not an antique B&B. It is, rather, quite modern and yet perfectly harmonized with the surrounding environment. In a nutshell, Sunburst Lodge is like a grand log-cabin atop of Casper Mountain, overlooking the valley into Casper-town itself. It is a slice of heaven.

Nancy is the proprietor of Sunburst Lodge, and her taste is impeccable. Down to the iron-cast towel bars or the tiling on the counter in the kitchen or the bathrooms, she didn't miss a single detail. She even has an elevator for the handicapped to allow access to all four levels of the house. Sunburst has an upscale, rustic charm, with virutally all of the furniture made out of logs. There is a strong log/wood motif, and it is executed with utter brilliance. There is a "tower" on the fourth floor from which one can read and/or look into the valley (which can also be done on the beautiful deck off the Great Room). On the third-floor, there is a loft overlooking the Great Room which magnificently highlights the A-frame architecture that over overlooks the valley.

We stayed in two rooms on the third level -- can't recall their names -- which were supremely comfortable with sleep-number-like beds and air conditioning (which really wasn't needed after dark). We also had an outdoor deck off of our rooms that had a stairway up to the tower or down to the main level (second level) from which we could access our car. Not a detail was overlooked. I would have loved to have spent more time there. We were at the outset of our six-plus week oddesey throught the Rocky Mountains, Canadian Rockies and British Columbia, and it was and will be, undeniably, the nicest of all of the lovely accomodations in which we stay.

The rates are extremely competitive, and for the money, Sunburst cannot be beat.

It is highly, highly, highly, highly recommended.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    1
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We only stayed one night at the Sunburst Lodge, but the experience was memorable. The house and rooms are exquisite and the views are beyond exquisite. The drive to the lodge involves a 1000 foot climb with multiple switchbacks, but the road is good. The room and bathroom were large with 1st class appointments; the bed was very comfortable, the views from the room balcony were spectacular, and the room was quite. Breakfast was excellent and we really enjoyed the innkeeper. We strongly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burundi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Sunburst Lodge is beautiful, inside and out. Owner/host Nancy has made every room an oasis -- sleep number beds, skylights, flatscreen tvs, temperature you can control -- it was perfect. Plus, breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is a gorgeous bed and breakfast location with all the amenities you could ask for - including beautiful gas fireplace and flat screen TV in every room, new and pristeen condition yet has a great lodge feel, heated bathroom floors, super host, awesome views and very welcoming. We would stay here again and drive out of the way to get there. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is actually the second time my family has stayed at the Sunburst Lodge Bed and Breakfast on Casper Mtn. We stayed in June 2008, and were so pleased with the accomodations, the delicious breakfast, the surrounding scenery and breathtaking view from the outside deck that we returned in June 2011. Nancy, the proprietress, is a gracious host, and full of helpful tips on places to visit in and near Casper, Wy. The lodge itself is beautifully decorated; the rooms are spacious, with each bedroom having a bathroom that is spotlessly clean, I might add. Plus there is a flat screen TV in each bedroom. The beds are so comfortable you don't want to leave, but you wouldn't want to miss hiking the trails close to the lodge. Suburst Lodge sure beats staying in a motel!! we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally spacious & clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston sc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

What a wonderful two days and nights. The highlight of our long planned trip to the west.
We were welcomed and invited to enjoy this wonderful house. The rooms are very large and comfortable, decorated so beautifully but to be enjoyed. Sleep # beds, fireplace, large screen TV, heated bathroom floors with handpainted tiles inset in the ceramic. The views are spectacular - sunsets from your window, night view of downtown Casper below. In the morning, a wonderful breakfast prepared for you by Nancy, the delightful host/owner. Spend the day reading (great library) in the oversized leather chairs, watch the fish play in the large lighted aquarium. Enjoy the tower toom playing games or enjoy the view from there. Take a long walk on the large property belonging to the lodge. Enjoy a trip by the waterfall and into downtown Casper knowing that when you return, your room will be pristine, just as it was when you arrived. We could not be more
pleased with our stay. More than we expected and reasonable.

Room Tip: The Evening Star Room with a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Nancy Yust has an outstanding B&B atop Casper Mountain. The views are breathtaking, our room was luxurious with a deck overlooking the City and a fabulous spa bathroom. The home is comfortable, the food delicious and the hospitality gracious and accommodating. Sunburst Lodge is a treat - relaxing, beautiful and fun.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunburst Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunburst Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2700 Micro Road, Casper, WY 82601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Casper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Casper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunburst Lodge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.