We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never got beyond reception” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 North Poplar, Casper, WY 82601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Casper
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Never got beyond reception”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

In our 12 years of visiting the USA we have never come across such rude and unfriendly reception staff.
We had an unplanned visit to Casper and called in at this hotel because we are Platinum Card holders and thought that booking 2 nights accommodation would have been simple. The 3 staff on the desk totally ignored me and was queue jumped. Eventually I managed to be served and and was told flippantly that it was $100000 to stay, it was all a big joke and changed the price to $100 and there were no rooms available but the person who jumped me in the queue got a room.
Is this really the attitude that Best Western want to portray.

Room Tip: go to La Quinta next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    113
    71
    50
    46
See reviews for
107
64
19
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

My point is that I was about a 100 miles away from Casper and called to confirm the room rate. I was to be there about 10 pm. While driving I looked up discounts thru AAA and called to confirm if the discount applies. Lady by the name of Andrea answered and just was unpleasant to talk to. That made me check the Tripadvisor reviews and bad behaviour seems consistent. I love BW and always like the rewards program. I decided not to go there. The management just has routine answers and I do not care for a response. I have a retail business and the 'talking' skills of this lady is a big no no. Be grateful and respect the people who make your job possible. There are many Americans who are far more worthy but are jobless.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Nice hotel, bit out of the way but we were only stopping one night and not a problem to drive to see local attractions. Rooms are a good size and the beds were very comfortable. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: I think they all seem pretty ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasperRamkota, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I hope you had a good time during your stay in Casper. It's a great place. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future. Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know what you think.
Sincerely,
Thomas Prestjohn
General Manager
BW Ramkota Casper Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

When we booked online, we found that a suite was available for just about the price we had been paying for regular motel rooms on our road trip. Not sure what to expect, we went ahead and booked the suite expecting to find a largish room with a sofa. We were certainly surprised (and pleased) to find a double sized room with a large 4-poster bed, wet bar, sofa, desk, sitting area with sofa, chairs, end tables, coffee table, etc...

There were some odd things about the room: the large sliding door and balcony looked out over the interior of the hotel (actually - that was really weird, but we just pretended it was nighttime and pulled the drapes), the bathroom was really small, and the double doors opening into the suite had a gap of almost 1/4 inch between them. Fortunately the room was designed to create a small foyer with a wall between the bedroom and the doors or privacy would have been a serious issue.

We really enjoyed being able to sit and relax in our very spacious room. When it was time to sleep, we found the bed to be comfortable and I had the best night sleep that I've had in the past 14 days that we've been on the road.

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay for your breakfast. Although many Best Westerns offer a complimentary breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Mandie at the front desk has a quick wit and very clever sense of humor that she applied as I checked into an upgraded room (Thank you Mandie, my stay was made to be excellent thru your efforts)
Also LeAnn in sales was fantastic with a very timely and flawless points matching conversion.(Thank you LeAnn)
The restaurant and Bar in the hotel are affordable and convenient.
The rooms are laid out nicely with room for relaxing as well as ample work space, and the hotel has good wifi connections.

Room Tip: indoor pool on first floor... ;0)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is pretty nice. The rooms were big with comfortable beds, and a nice desk. Of you want a fridge you have to ask and one will be delivered to your room. The walls are thin and can hear quite a bit from.the rooms and the cooler in our room was very loud. The pool is great for kids and they seemed to have quite a bit of fun. It is a ways away from downtown and even farther for the mall and other shopping on the east end but the interstate makes it somewhat simple to get there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Got to my room to find I did not get the type of room reserved. Called the front desk and they said that they were overbooked, so I got what "they had left". Talk about making you feel welcome. They are just going to put you wherever they feel like, so if you really need a specific room type, this isn't the hotel for you. It old and run down any way. Walls seem paper thin, not only can I hear everything the person in the next room is saying, I can actually hear what the person on the other end is saying., bring your earplugs, right off the interstate and make no difference if the window is open or not to block out that sound.

Room Tip: You don't get to choose any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Address: 800 North Poplar, Casper, WY 82601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Casper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Casper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is a 100% non-smoking hotel and convention center. We welcome large groups, wedding parties, etc.. Beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites are available with free high speed wireless internet. Adjoining rooms can be requested at check in or by contacting the hotel directly. We have a full service restaurant (Remington's) and lounge (Spirits). Our restaurant features delicious Rocco's homemade pizza, along with a complimentary hot and cold daily breakfast buffet! We also have Castaway Bay Water Play Land for the kids and a hot tub. Our fitness center is open 24 hours and we have a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport as well as around Casper. We are also a pet friendly hotel, offering pet packs to our furry friends at check in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casper Best Western
Best Western Casper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.