We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Save
You added The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant to your Saves list
10 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Laguna Beach CA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

If you are looking for fluffy robes, a concierge, and an in-room fridge, this is not your place. If you want honest and respectful restoration of a historic building, along with a good bed and plenty of space and hot water, this is an excellent choice. We stayed in the Cottonwood Suite for three nights and used The Occidental as a base to explore the Bighorms, Fort Phil Kearny, Fetterman Site, regional museums, etc. There is also a lovely trail along the creek out into the country that you can access out the front door. We had dinner in the Virginian twice, and had excellent service and food both evenings. On Thursdays, The Saloon is a meeting place for local bluegrass musicians to jam, and Dawn will save a table for you. That was well worth the stay all by itself.

  • Liked — Ambience and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    65
    12
    10
    5
See reviews for
44
167
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

Well, after reading the other reviews I feel like we stayed at a parallel hotel as we had a completely different experience and it wasn’t a good one!

We were excited when we pulled up outside the Occidental, (my husband and me and our two teenage daughters) and were all looking forward to staying in something with more character than the motels we had stayed at the nights before. My husband came out beaming after he had been to the front desk saying how wonderfully authentic the lobby looked. However, that smile soon faded as we lugged our bags up the stairs (no lift – authentic you see!) and were then shown into the ‘Bordello Suite’. This consisted of three rooms and a bathroom. The place was filthy – you could write in the dust – honest! - and the floor needed a vacuum – bits of white stuff all over (we kept our shoes on). Even the toilet needed a wipe. We decided as we were only staying the one night just to deal with it and go and have dinner in the Virginian.

The Virginian was good, lovely waitress and very tasty steak.

After fortifying ourselves with some wine we returned to the rooms to play cards. When one got dropped on the floor, we discovered some dirty shorts under the bed. Further exploring also found a dirty towel under one of the other beds. After a pretty restless night, we left as early as possible the next morning. I noticed that my husband had, unusually, slept with his watch on. He told me he was worried that one of us would find bugs and wanted to be prepared to leave immediately!

As well, both the mantelpiece and the sink in the master bedroom were loose from the wall – dangerous to put anything on or lean on. In the end it has become something of a joke on the trip with the girls referring to it as the ‘Accidental’ and all of us saying that it hadn’t been cleaned since Butch Cassidy stayed there!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

Buffalo is a cute small town in the shadow of the Big Horn mountains. The Occidental is in the "downtown" district. This is an historic hotel and does have significant amounts of charm. However, you get the feeling at times that "history" is an excuse for not keeping up with some needed renovations and for some slightly less than professional staff that always seemed to be missing in action. To get ice for your room, you need to go to the bar and hope the bartender can be found. To speak with someone at the front desk, you usually have to track them down. Some of the usual pet peeves such as insufficient reading light, and poor shower pressure applied. You can brush this off by saying it's an historic property, or they can add more lighting and put in better showerheads which wouldn't seem to offend historians. In short, plenty of character here, but also plenty overpriced.

  • Liked — Charm and history
  • Disliked — Aging infrastructure
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allerød
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

We stayed 1 night in this wonderful historic hotel. There were some problems with our booking, but all problems were solved by Dawn in a very kind and professional way. It was a very hot day and Dawn recommended the very large swimmingpool only 5 min. walk from the hotel - a very nice experience.
We were there a Sunday, where The virginian Restaurant is closed, so we were sent up to a beautiful place in the mountains, where we had a lovely dinner. Would definitely go back, if we come to this area again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Hood, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

I'm a fan of Teddy Roosevelt. Read some of his books, most of his recent bios. So, on a road trip from Texas to Calgary, I figured it'd be great to stay in the TR Suite at The Occidental Hotel in Buffalo WY. Well, it wasn't.
We got in after dark, delayed by an hellacious storm between Gillette and Buffalo. The hotel restaurant was just closing, but they wouldn't cough up a sandwich for us, nor room service either.
The desk clerk looked a little anorexic herself, and studiously ignored me while she kept nodding and murmuring "Uh-huh" to some Minnesota woman who nattered on about a wedding the next week. A simple "I'll be with you in a moment, sir," would've sufficed; after all, what else might I have been doing at that hour, standing in front of her desk and all?
There was no parking. We had to park across the street and drag our luggage over the asphalt to the hotel steps, up the front steps, and then up a long L-shaped staircase that was creaking like my lumbar-sacral spine by the time I reached the top. Then more creak-creak-creak down a long dark hallway to the room.
The only thing that distinguished the room from any other, I suppose, and thereby justified the exorbitant sum we paid to stay there, was a cheap framed copy of the same TR painting that graces the cover of Edmund Morris' THE RISE OF THEODORE ROOSEVELT; I've got the book at home, might've saved $171.20 if I'd stayed there and stared at it.
The bed sagged and chirpy voices of little children guests down the hall drifted over the transom all night.
Finally, the parting breakfast on the patio was bland, and like the rest of the place, cost more than it was worth.
An honest cowboy wouldn't be caught dead there.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

What can I say. The other reviews will tell you, this is like stepping back to the 1800's and staying in a museum, but a very comfortable museum. Each of the suites and rooms are unique and redone with the original materials. The bathrooms, although having some of the original clawfoot tubs are updated.
If you are weary of siteseeing, just spend the afternoon in the lobby looking around and reading all the historical material that is there. Or wander over to the Saloon, also originally part of this hotel, or have a delightful dinner at the Virginian Restaurant.

This is the most wonderful, restful hotel I have ever stayed in and hope to go back someday so I can stay in a different suite--I would love to try them all.

  • Liked — Elegant, relaxed
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

Buffalo, WY: Historic Occidental Hotel: Full of character
If you like historic Inns, this is the place. You can imagine cowboys swinging through the doors. Small former rooms, have been converted to comfortable, spacious suites. There are many antiques and the original flavor is definitely restored. We stopped on the way out to Yellowstone. The proprietor is also very friendly and knowledgable about the area.

  • Liked — The character of the place and the down home, friendly atmosphere.
  • Disliked — It was a little pricey.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant

Address: 10 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834
Location: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Historic Occidental Hotel And Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.