We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Up In Smoke

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Up In Smoke
94 South Main Street, Buffalo, WY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 30 Restaurants in Buffalo
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced & disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Read the description in our hotel's book and it sounded fabulous- organic, healthful focus, housemade & margaritas. The woodsmoke aroma outside was amazing & the front room was full. Our extremely pleasant waitress showed us into a cold and lonely adjacent room with no atmosphere or people besides us. I ordered the half brisket sandwich and potato salad thinking anyplace that offers half sandwiches usually does so because their regular portions are huge. Nope. $7.95 for a half a Costco ciabatta roll with about 3 tablespoons of bland and somewhat fatty brisket. Without the unremarkable BBQ sauce added on top it would have been a tasteless sandwich. The extra $2 for the side order of mac & cheese was a waste. It is best summed up as icky and was lukewarm and oily as well. The margarita had no discernable tequila in it. On the upside, they had good local-ish beer, the pickles were awesome, the milk was organic and only $1, and the staff couldn't have been any nicer. $45 for a kid's half brat, and 1 1/2 brisket sandwiches, a beer, a milk & a margarita was a bit much for the overall lack of quality. :-(

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, Wyoming
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food. Great Brew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The barbecue is delicious. These guys think outside the box when they offer the specials of the day. I am always pleasantly surprised when I stop in for a bite to eat. It is a little on the expensive side, so I don't get to stop in as often as I would like. If you are visiting Buffalo, be sure and experience the great food and atmosphere that this place has to offer.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“try the ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on a long road trip from Yellowstone to Rapid City. The owners are from Texas, so the BBQ was pretty much what we're used to from home, traditional Texas style, and very good. We tried the brisket, pulled pork, and smoked turkey sandwich, and all were delicious. But the best part of the meal was dessert: maple bacon ice cream! Yum! My Dad is still talking about this ice cream a week later. We didn't try any of the beers, but it looked like they had a good selection.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Drawn in by the smell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Just ate here on a whim. The smell from outside pulled us in. Didn't know what to expect so was pleasantly surprised. I had the pulled pork with a side of mac & cheese and potato sale whilst my husband had chicken with mac & cheese and garlic bread both meals were delicious. We chose a red wine to go with it which was surprisingly nice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cash only!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a late night meal after very long road trip. Service very very slow. Food was very good thankfully. Had pulled pork, brisket, ribs. We all loved our meals. Spinach salad was awesome. Very small portions however and pricey. They don't accept credit cards which was surprising, had to go to ATM down the street. Food terrific however if you can look past poor service and small portions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up In Smoke also viewed

 

Been to Up In Smoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Up In Smoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.