We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Busy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Steakhouse

Winchester Steakhouse
117 Us Highway 16 E, Buffalo, WY 82834-9347
+1 307-684-8636
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Havelock, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Too Busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Food was good. Servers stretched too thin. Had to wait for refills on water. Loud restaurant. Waited to order.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    56
    28
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cowboy Sophistication.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This restaurant was a perfect mix of Country Western, Victorian, and classic all American beauty and comfort. The ambience was warm and welcoming and the food was delectable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Buffalo WY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Winchester is a very good restaurant. Everything that I have ordered has been good. If you judge it by the building's kitschy outside appearance, you will be missing out on a good dining experience. I am not going to lie and say it's in the same league as Peter Luger, Morton's, Ruth's Chris, or even Smith and Wollensky. But other than the ribeye I had at the Tunnel Inn, it's the best steak I've had in Wyoming. The service is great, and they make a very good drink. Props to the bartenders. My favorite thing about the restaurant is that civilians can open carry their side arms and no body trembles in fear (That's why I LOVE Wyoming!) Try doing that in Peter Luger, Morton's or Ruth's Chris! We also find the pricing to be exceptional regarding the quality of the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average Steakhouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival, the restaurant was freezing and several people had their coats and sweaters on to eat. The bread was served first and was just ok, but the scones were very good. Sangria was tasty. Clam chowder was too salty and not served very hot. Prime rib was average. Petite filet was better than the prime rib, but not the best filet I have had. Baked potato was cooked to perfection with little cups of sour cream, chives and cheese on the side, as a nice addition. The service was good and our waitress was friendly.This steakhouse has been rated as one of the best restaurants in Buffalo, but the food was average in my opinion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“So glad we ate here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We ate here this evening and wow did we enjoy ourselves! The whole experience from start to finish was excellent. As it was Wednesday we had the special at $15 per person including soup/salad/ bread or scone, chicken or beef pot pie or slices of sirloin in gravy, followed by ice cream and tea or coffee! My beef was thinly sliced in a tasty gravy and plenty of it, served with a baked potato.my husband and friends had chicken pot pie- again delicious, with light puff pastry plenty of meat served in a tasty sauce. After a decent gap we managed to eat lovely caramel pecan ice cream. We couldn't manage any tea or coffee! The waitress was lovely and very helpful, and we got talking to some great fellow diners! A fabulous evening and value for money!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winchester Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Winchester Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchester Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.