We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most charming stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shawlee Cottage

Shawlee Cottage
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shawlee Cottage to your Saves list
Shawlee Cottage
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   108 Lauchope Street | Chapelhall, Chapelhall, Airdrie, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Chapelhall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“The most charming stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The breakfast was divine and they always made sure the cup was full of coffee. The room was very clean and the service was excellent! The location is perfect for day trips around the low lands of Scotland. Sandy and Cathy always gave us tips for things to see and provided us with good stuff to have on the road. I will definitely return to this amazing bed and breakfast!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Big thank you for the great comments. We were glad you found it easy to navigate between our main cities even when we drive on the wrong side of the road. And found our wee house central for your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
31
6
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Again what a great place to stay . Just come back from another great few days stay at Shawlee Cottage , Breakfast brilliant as ever the rooms as imacculate as ever and of course Sandy and Cathy the nicest couple you can meet. Big congrats on their award from Tipadvisor fully well deserved.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the wonderfull review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay once more and are very happy that you found us all as you have come to expect. Kindest regards and Haste ye back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We visited Shawlee Cottage few weeks ago, and we loved it! We came with a motorbike from Finland, and this was the first B&B we visited during our holiday in Scotland. Sandy and Cathy were so nice! We got a wonderful picture of Scotland and Scottish people because of them. Sandy gave us good tips where to ride with our motorbike! Soili & Timo

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks for the great review we are glad you enjoyed touring Scotland on the bike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed at the Shawlee Cottage now for at least the 6th or 7th time over a period of many years and it won't be my last stay. Guess why?

Cathy and Sandy are the nicest hosts you can imagine.

The rooms are all very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was freshly cooked, tasty and plentiful.
Glasgow is within easy reach either by car or by public transport.

All in all, the Shawlee Cottage offers great value for money and what money can't buy is the really warm welcome and the great hospitality you receive from Cathy and Sandy who make you feel at home right from the start. If you're visiting the area, you should definitely consider to stay at the Shawlee Cottage. There's none nicer. Thank you Cathy and Sandy and see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for leaving the great review and remarks. Hope to thank you in person the next time you make it over here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The warm and friendly greeting we received from Cathy and Sandy as we arrived set the tone for the whole weekend.
Their hospitality was second to none.
The rooms were well furnished and comfortable.
Excellent Scotish breakfast, good variety and other choices on offer.
We were treat more as friends than as guests and i would highly recommend this B & B and would not hesitate to book a return visit.

Turnbull and Crozier party

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review which we are thankfull to receive. Please come back and stay with us and bring the same weather as you did the first time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I only stayed one night and wished I could have stayed longer.
A very friendly couple that makes you feel at home, looking forward to going back soon.
Breakfast was lovely the bed was very comfortable, nice size tv in the room.

Thanks you Sandy & Cathy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us the review which we are delighted to have. Like you, we are sorry your trip this time was a flying one and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at Shawlee Cottage. It is a wonderful B&B. Sandy and Cathy treated us like old friends. They are absolutely wonderful hosts. Cathy makes an extraordinary breakfast that set us up perfectly for our days. It was fabulous and the best breakfast, by far, Ive ever had at any B&B.

The room was IMMACULATE with an extremely comfortable bed and a great shower. The facilities were just perfect.

I can't say enough about how welcoming and friendly Sandy and Cathy are. Sandy was kind enough to drive us to the train station one morning. Our four days were broken up by a trip to the Highlands. When we returned we felt like we were coming home. It was truly a wonderful experience.

If you are planning a trip to Glasgow or Edinburgh you can't go wrong if you choose this gem of a place. We won't ever forget our time there. We were sad to leave.

Thank you, Sandy and Cathy for a wonderful stay! Your hospitality will never be forgotten.

Daniel S.
NYC

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Delighted that you enjoyed your time at Shawlee. Thank you for making the effort to leave such a nice review and comments. I am aware of the fact that you are still on vacation in Ireland and trust that you are still enjoying your travels. Because the world is round we shall meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shawlee Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shawlee Cottage

Address: 108 Lauchope Street | Chapelhall, Chapelhall, Airdrie, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Airdrie > Chapelhall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chapelhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shawlee Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Shawlee Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shawlee Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.