We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mead & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mead & Conference Center to your Saves list
Hotel Mead & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   451 East Grand Ave., Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tijeras, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It's obvious that the Mead is in transition since the new ownership took over in October of this year. Overall, the experience here was very pleasant, the staff friendly and helpful and can't wait to return in December. Hopefully some of the massive technology updates they have scheduled will be done as that Ethostream service is not at all conducive to getting work completed.....which meant I could take advantage of their Martini Tuesdays. Great time down at the Grand Avenue Bar.....the one day I didn't have a dinner meeting I indulged in an amazing pizza made in a natural brick oven which alone was pretty cool to see. I'm excited to see what other changes are planned for this very nice hotel.

Room Tip: The executive suites are quite large and roomy, especially the corner units. Although the bed wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
38
23
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Excellent food, excellent service and excellent preparation, need I say more. This is our second reception held here in the last 4 years and it's been a great experience. Planning was convenient, the event planner (Joan) was weary helpful, not to mention patient and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very nice overnight stay. Quiet, clean and a great value for the amenities. We had a delicious dinner at the hotel, very reasonably priced. Sunday morning buffet lacking, better to order off the menu.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Mead has again changed hands. I noticed a few changes that showed improvements coming. The desk staff was friendly and helpful, there was a coffee service available for guests near the desk and the king bed had four pillows instead of the usual three. Though I did not have time to spend in the hotel we did get a night cap in the evening and the staff there was also friendly this time. Great to see, hopes for a wonderful hotel!!

Room Tip: It costs more but seems quieter in the west wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franksville, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We showed up at 3pm for check-in and our room wasn't ready yet. We were told to come back later. We came back at 4:30pm and the room was ready. We went to our room and there were blankets, sheets, towels...etc., laying all over the place and the bed wasn't made. We went back to the hotel desk and they gave us a different room. That room had been cleaned. This particular weekend, the outside temperatures during the day were in the 40's and in the evening they were in the low 30's. We turned the heat on, and there was no heat. As we pulled to curtains closed, we noticed the window had a big crack in it, and it was leaking air. I called the hotel desk and they said that they would send maintenance while we went out for dinner. 2 hours later, we were back, and no heat. I called the front desk again. They sent the maintenance guy again who said that he just turned on the heat for our room at some "maintenance" location. He said we would have heat in about 30 minutes. 1 hour passed and it's literally becoming freezing. I went to the hotel desk and they gave me yet another room, so I had to move everything we had already unpacked, back into our suitcases and into yet another room. This room had been cleaned, and when I turned the heat on, I could feel the blower blowing "luke warm" (not hot) air. The room temperature got up to about 65 degrees (even though we set the temperature much higher) and then the heater stopped working (imagine that!). At this point, now that it's after 10pm, we said "the heck with it". We took the pain of a cold room on a 30 degree night. The next day, we went to the event that we needed to attend. We got back to our hotel around 4:30pm. We went to our room and neither of our room keys worked. Once again, we went back down to the lobby (our room was on the 5th floor) and wanted to know why they deactivated our keys, even though we were staying for 2 nights. They just had the deer in the headlights look. The next morning we were happy to leave. I don't think we will stay here anymore, even though I will be in Wisconsin Rapids every year at this time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arena, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I recently stayed at the Mead for 3 nights for a business conference. I was supprised to see that this older hotel is very very well kept. It has an exceptional staff. I arrived at 10 pm on a thursday after a long 3 hour drive, Angel (her name but she is!) one of the most courtious desk clerks I have had in a while.got me checked in and to my room in minutes.Very good!!! The board room and meeting rooms all very good and have from top to bottom an excellent staff. Is you need a place in centeral Wi give this Grand Place a chance. Rooms were quiet even though the hotel was booked solid. The resturant has excellent food here also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington WI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were here to attend a conference and we were treated like individual honored guests. The lobby was attractive; the swimming pool large and impressive. Our king bed suite was attractive and clean. We called housekeeping because of a missing TV remote, and in minutes a gentleman appeared with one. He was concerned about our satisfaction with the room and when he discovered that we may have been overcharged for our room by $20 he said he would go right to the front desk and have them correct the mistake. He did and they did. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and despite the fact that there was a crowd of young people on dates for Homecoming in attendance, the service and the food was excellent. The next morning, just before our convention banquet (good and well handled), we went to the bar for a glass of wine. No bartender was yet on hand, but the same great waitress we had the night before hustled behind the bar to help out and meet our request. I wish I had her name. All the staff had that "aim to please" attitude. Really, there was nothing lacking at the Mead Hotel.

Room Tip: With pleasant weather, we had our windows open and the outside air units were rather noisy. Next ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mead & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mead & Conference Center

Address: 451 East Grand Ave., Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wisconsin Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mead & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Central Wisconsin, Hotel Mead offers distinctive, luxury accommodations at affordable prices.Whether you are planning a meeting, romantic getaway or wedding reception, our attentive and seasoned staff pledge to insure a pleasantly memorable experience. Plan your next stay, vacation, business meeting, group event, banquet, conference, convention, wedding or reception at Central Wisconsin’s premier lodging and conference destination - the Hotel Mead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mead & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mead Hotel Wisconsin Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mead & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.