We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem, a must try!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunder Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thunder Valley Inn
W15344 Waubeek Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A gem, a must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent a two-night weekend at Thunder Valley Inn and absolutely loved it. We have already recommended it to several friends. I am so glad that I did not let that recent 1-star review deter us.

We were in the Swedish Hus, in the room with the jacuzzi. It worked well (which is not always the case when rooms have them). We had a kitchenette, lots of space, the room was filled with books and brochures and fun decorations going along with the Swedish theme. The one drawback was that we could not find any drawers for putting clothes, but there was enough flat surface that we managed just fine. Although the room is in the direction of a larger road with traffic, this didn't bother us at all.

The breakfast is fantastic, remember to show up at 8am for the meal with other guests. Anita, the hostess, will entertain. The food is absolutely delicious.

If you can include a Sunday morning in your visit then do so! The Sunday brunch is included in the room cost and is absolutely terrific. I have never had French toast that good and you also get various Scandinavian specialties in addition to the more usual items like eggs and sausage.

On Sundays, there is also a Farmer's Market from 9am on the grounds from various vendors selling veggies as well as nice mementos and bath products.

Note that there is a coupon for 25% off some local attractions in the room so be sure to pick that up before you head out for a boat tour or whatnot.

I am quite certain we will return to this place as it was an integral part of our perfect weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The most fun I have ever had at a B & B! My husband, parents, and I stayed three nights at Thunder Valley Inn in the Wisconsin Dells. We stayed in the Swedish Haus, two rooms with a common room in between. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We were welcomed with a large bowl of popcorn. There is a fridge and microwave, and also a big common area at the main farmhouse if anyone would like to cook a meal. The highlight is the wonderful farmhouse breakfast every morning. It was worth its weight in gold! Scrambled eggs, fried potatoes, sausage, fresh sweet corn, pancakes, strawberries, whipped cream, toast, homemade cinnamon rolls, coffee, tea, mik, chocolate milk! So tasty, and I can't rave enough about the homemade strawberry rhubarb jam for the toast. If a person walked away hungry after all the awesome homemade food, it would be their own fault! Anita Nelson, the landlady, is so fun and cheerful, and made our stay there extra-special. We were able to get in on one of the Threshing Dinner shows. The meal was great and the evening was very entertaining with music, sing-a-longs, and jokes! The staff is very friendly. Anita even took us to her dairy farm up the road. She had a fire going in the fire pit in the evenings so we could sit around the fire and chat. There is nothing I would have changed about the place. We definitely hope to go back again someday!

Room Tip: If you need a suite, the Swedish Haus was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Beware!! My husband & I have stayed at many wonderful bed and breakfasts and were anticipating the trip to the Dells. We checked into Thunder Valley, and checked out! This is not rustic it's delapidated! It's not old it's rickity! Dead bugs in the windows and creaky chairs and floors,Buildings that were ready for demolition.
We were leary when we say the 'adult entertainment' accross the street, but wanted to give it a chance. Of course we paid in advance, so it was an expensive lesson.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have been coming here for a few years now and will continue to come for many years. We visit on Sundays because there is a farmers market and they offer a buffet for breakfast. It is reasonably priced (15.00 for adults, and 13.00 for seniors) but the atmosphere is so cute and inviting that I would pay double the price! It's always packed (not overly crowded or noisy) and everyone you see dining here is smiling and enjoying themselves. The staff is awesome and attentive and all of the food is homemade using ingredients from their farm. They have a large variety to choose from (bacon, sausage, eggs, pancakes, French toast, biscuits, fruit, yogurt with granola, etc.) and the food is always hot and fresh. The restaurant itself is so charming, cute, and wonderfully decorated, and they offer gifts to buy as well. They have goats you can feed, rabbits, and a peacock. The farmers market on Sundays offers flowers, fresh veggies, and home made soaps and crafts. This is a rare gem in such a busy city and its a must see!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POLO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the Farm Haus, there were 6 of us that had 3 rooms. Clean rooms and a very hospitable staff. Don't expect all the amenities, there was a VCR rewinder and a hundred VCR tapes! Free wi-fi, the TV's were the small old type, and a piano.The staff is friendly, hospitable and will go out of there way to get you anything! Great Scandinavian breakfast, Coffee is delivered to the Farm Haus kitchen by 7 am every morning, and there are homemade cookies on the counter. They make fresh popcorn in the evenings, there's farm animals to pet and feed, activities like bags, a sandbox for the kids, soccer balls, badminton and volleyball. Less than a mile from the Wisconsin Dells. Easy access to all the Dells touristy stuff, but you don't need to go there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Farm Haus, and the Wicker Room had a King bed, and a twin bed. There are bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife, two year old daughter, and I enjoyed a relatively pleasant two night stay. I always start with the positives, and I do think there are several. The cost is very affordable, and was the primary draw for our booking, in conjunction with the attempt to stay away from the mega-resort feel. Anita, the matriarch of the family, is a good hostess and greeted us very warmly. There were warm cookies/cakes, popcorn, ice tea, and lemonade available most of the day each day in the common area of the farmhouse. Many of the other guests had children, and the environment is very child-friendly. The farm/petting zoo area was absolutely wonderful. Most of my daughter's time was spent feeding and "talking to" the rooster, four goats, peacock, rabbits, and kittens. The basics of the positive reviews are very accurate.

On the equivocal side, guests need to remember that this is an 1800s farm house. It creaks, has musty odors, and rotten wood permeates a lot of the exterior gazebo/common areas. The room, however, was relatively clean.

On the negative side, the first impression upon arrival is one of confusion. There is a sign that points to "check-in", but the idea of reception or check-in is very loose. Much of the direction received from the hosts about events or how to reach someone on staff is placed on notes taped to the farm house door. There are many toys/books/videos available for children to utilize, but they are very old, worn, and somewhat dingy. As one of the other reviewers noted, the breakfast is very mediocre at best. The greatest drawback, ironically, was the location. We were hoping for a more country setting, but the inn is located adjacent to a 55 mph freeway that is elevated above the inn. It makes for a very noisy nap on the hammock in the yard.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, which is why we rate the experience a 3 out of 5, but wanted other travelers to have a balanced perspective. We would still choose this location over one of the crazed resorts, and it was a great value when you include breakfast--but we may try something a bit more expensive next go-around for an annual get-away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

WE stayed one night and woke up to a nice warm breakfast =) .. our room was very small , but other than that we felt welcomed .. its a kid friendly place lots of toys !! my son loved the farm animals and the kitty room =)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thunder Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Valley Inn

Address: W15344 Waubeek Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunder Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Thunder Valley Inn to your Saves list