We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great great food =)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunder Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thunder Valley Inn
W15344 Waubeek Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Palatine, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great great food =)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

WE stayed one night and woke up to a nice warm breakfast =) .. our room was very small , but other than that we felt welcomed .. its a kid friendly place lots of toys !! my son loved the farm animals and the kitty room =)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our family recently celebrated with 16 of us from 3 different states and met at Thunder Valley Inn. The price is reasonable, the breakfast is fantastic (especially on Sunday's), they had farm animals for the kids to feed/pet, a farmer's market on Sunday afternoon, a large yard to play in, covered outdoor eating area, a large fire pit for roasting marshmallows, and a fantastic dairy farm tour where we were able to milk a cow and pick eggs from the chicken coop.

We had an excellent time and you are even able to buy scandinavian souvenirs from the gift shop.

Room Tip: I would recommend the larger rooms on the 1st floor of the Farm Hus: Wicker Room, Norske Valley suit...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a trip to the Dells for my birthday. He found Thunder Valley on-line. We were very blessed from the get go when we arrived were greeted warmly by Anita. When we arrived in the room after a small tour there was a lil hand written banner saying Happy Birthday from Thunder Valley Inn. Anita also told us some of their favorite places and we took advantage of a few that showed the beauty of the area and a winery that was about 45 mins. away. The b&b was a little rustic get away with good home cooked scandanavian food (yes there are a few yummy sweets) we did not see or smell any thing the people who complained were talking about and our room smelled like cedar as tge walls were cedar. Yes it is slightly worn as the place is over 100 years old but they are doing some updates and it adds to some of the charm. Get ready to be genuinly treated warmly as friends or family. My only regrets are that we were only there for the weekend and sorry we did not know it was customary to leave a tip. Ignore the bad reviews!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed here during a trip to the Dells. The price was good, but then with the coupons we got, which saved us $$ it got even better. It is outside of the city area, so it is quiet. The farmhouse is old, very historical from the mid 1800's. The room was large and comfortable, with a small kitchenette in the bargain, and very clean. The spacious downstairs was open to all, and had lots to do. The breakfast in the morning was EXCELLENT! Plenty of variety and very good and tasty! And our hostess was both gracious and fun!. An excellent value, we loved it, and will stop there again given the chance!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I was very pleasantly surprised at the charming atmosphere in the farm haus - it was just like staying at Grandma's! Anita was the most gracious host, giving us a tour and explaining more of the facilities. We traveled with a group of four couples and each of our rooms were very unique and cute. The breakfast the next morning was wonderful...something for everyone's taste and plenty of it! I enjoyed the offering in the gift shop and an extra was a farmer's market that is held on Sunday featuring fresh produce and crafts. I can't wait to go back with my kids - they'll love the petting zoo! I highly recommend this B&B to people looking for a wholesome retreat!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

If you would like quiet, peaceful, yet fun and interesting this is the place. It was immaculate. The website appears much more kitsche the the actual place. Anita is a great hostess. I would definitely recommend it. I have traveled alot and this place exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

I LOVED this place. For anyone who would like to stay in the Wisconsin Dells but not in a cookie cutter hotel room, who might be interested in an incredible made-from-scratch breakfast that is prepared and served by a local, hardworking, and gregarious farm family, and who might want their kids to experience a good old fashioned petting zoo and farmers market before they ride the roller coasters and water slides.

It ain't a Best Western. It's a bed and breakfast, and if you enjoy these small and endearing types of places, then do not be swayed by ignorant reviewers who apparently mistake the smell of baking bread in an old gas oven for something foreign.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thunder Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Valley Inn

Address: W15344 Waubeek Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunder Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Thunder Valley Inn to your Saves list