We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Predictible chain BBQ, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
435 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
(608) 253-6683
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 169 restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Predictible chain BBQ, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The location we visited was the one near the Kalahari resort. It was mid day, off season and we were the only table in the restaurant. It was clean and inviting, blues music playing in the background. There was no full bar service, which was disappointing, only wine and beer. The hickory chicken sandwhich had a chicken breast that was significantly smaller than the bun. The kids chicken was well done as well as the combo lunch meal. The server was great, taking time to give us chips, and explain all the different sauces available prior to our meal. It was a decent visit, we have been to several Famous Dave's and this was familiar and friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    96
    58
    28
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Graet BBQ Food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We always visit Famous Daves..there is an upstairs and downstairs and its a nicely decorated building with the same Famous Dave's fantastic BBQ food. Service depends on what time of day because they really get busy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“ALWAYS good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I frequently go to the Famous Dave’s near the Kalahari. Our most recent visit was last weekend and I had a birthday coupon for a free meal, however, I had forgotten to print the coupon off. Luckily, I was able to pull it up on my phone and showed our server. She looked at it and immediately and said it would not be a problem. She then took our orders, brought us back our drinks, and must have spoken to a manager inbetween because she said next time we really need to print it out, but they’ll be able to do it this time. It was nice that they were able to do this for us, especially these days, when everyone wants your money. We love this Famous Dave’s and every time we come here we always get fast and friendly service and the food is always delicious!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The only one that is good to go to, is the one on Broadway. The one next to Kalahari has bad service and cold food. On Broadway, good service and good food, go on a busy day!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Usually Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good food, nice staff, but a few problems. One time someone in my family got a small bone in their pulled pork sandwich. One time, the chicken tenders didn't really taste right, like they used a new recipe, which isn't bad, but, the weird thing is, someone else had gotten chicken tenders too, but they tasted normal. We've had many times, at least two that I can remember when we ask for lemonade, and they either say, they're out, or we get the lemonade and it tastes like water with a small hint of lemon. But other than that, it has always been good, nice waiters and waitresses who take care of the problems.
Tip: To save money, go for lunch instead of dinner.
Tip: The Downtown Dells location is not as spacious as the Lake Delton location, by Kalahari.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.