We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
435 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
(608) 253-6683
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 169 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The only one that is good to go to, is the one on Broadway. The one next to Kalahari has bad service and cold food. On Broadway, good service and good food, go on a busy day!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    61
    30
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Usually Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good food, nice staff, but a few problems. One time someone in my family got a small bone in their pulled pork sandwich. One time, the chicken tenders didn't really taste right, like they used a new recipe, which isn't bad, but, the weird thing is, someone else had gotten chicken tenders too, but they tasted normal. We've had many times, at least two that I can remember when we ask for lemonade, and they either say, they're out, or we get the lemonade and it tastes like water with a small hint of lemon. But other than that, it has always been good, nice waiters and waitresses who take care of the problems.
Tip: To save money, go for lunch instead of dinner.
Tip: The Downtown Dells location is not as spacious as the Lake Delton location, by Kalahari.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

over rated and not that good. I would not eat there again. I see their items in the stories and if they are anything like what the serve I am not interested.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Need lots of napkins!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I like to stop whenever we have the chance when driving through the Dells, The ribs are awesome! If family is present we recommend the trash can lid, which is a little bit of everything.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Douglas, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wow! Delicious and good prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Loved this place. Very reasonable prices and the best ribs...and I am not even a big fan of them. The waitress was great too. I would go back to Famous Dave's if I am ever in the Dells again! My girls ages 12, 10 & 8 loved it also. The 8 year old had the kids ribs and couldn't get enough of them. She wasn't crazy about the mashed potatoes since they were very garlicy (I ate them for her and they were delicious to me!). The coleslaw would make it worthwhile for me also! We really loved it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;