We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, if you don't mind waiting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr Pancake

Mr Pancake
1405 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9708
608-253-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 169 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food, if you don't mind waiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This place is the best breakfast place in the Dells. Delicious pancakes, huge portions, you may want to share (though they do charge extra fee for that). But! We had to wait for like 40 minutes to get our food! And this is breakfast (not dinner, not lunch) and we did go on a weekday, not weekend. The place did look kinda busy, though there was no wait to get a table, we were seated right away. Can't even imagine what it would be like if we went on a weekend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    108
    62
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mequon, WI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a large group and everyone enjoyed their breakfast with many different items ordered. Fairly priced. We would definitely go back again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I arrived around 11:00am and were seated right away. I ordered an omelet which was very good but the pancakes were out of this world! My wife had the strawberry pancakes which she liked but could not finish because of the size of the portion. Actually both of us were full for most of the day!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unreliable Place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Are they open? Are they closed? They are called Mr Pancake, but sometimes they actually STOP serving pancakes after a certain time. I got into an arguement with them once when I went here for pancakes, and they told me it was lunch time so they didn't serve them. I asked why they are called Mr Pancake if they don't serve them all day. This year, it seems like they are open until 1:30pm. The food tastes okay if you can actually manage to get in at the right time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Iowa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“I Hope You Are Very Hungry.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel we stayed at didn't have a continental breakfast so we found a coupon for here and decided to try it. First plus for me was, the outside looks like a side-wheeler riverboat. Walked in and the inside is decorated also like a riverboat. Décor alone gets a 5.
Looking over the menu I decided on Pigs in a Blanket and my wife ordered their signature Banana Split Waffle. When our food arrived the look on my wife's face was priceless. Her waffle was huge. The mountain of toppings stood a good 8 inches high on top of a 10 inch Belgian Waffle. My plate had three huge pancakes wrapped around pork sausages.
The prices seemed a little high, but you are in a tourist trap town, until they bring your plate of food and then things look a whole lot different and not so expensive at all.
I would definitely come back here to eat breakfast the next trip to the Dells. What a great place, Very friendly wait staff, awesome décor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Pancake also viewed

 

Been to Mr Pancake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr Pancake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.