We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great high-end steakhouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaminski's Chop House

Kaminski's Chop House
2501 River Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
+1 608-254-2001
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $90
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Wine Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Roscoe, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great high-end steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Have dined here twice and been very happy both times. They have great food and service. The steaks are USDA prime, so expect to pay $45+ for one, then add the price of the sides. It's worth what you pay, but just be prepared for it. My wife and I went there this time with our son and his friend. We all shared a shrimp cocktail (huge fresh shrimp). We each ordered a steak and shared a couple of sides. My wife and I ordered a "cheap" bottle of wine, and the kids shared a desert. With tip, we spent $320 on dinner. That's a good bit of money for dinner, so be warned. But, in my book, the meal was worth the price. We had filets, strips, and ribeyes at the table, and all were great. Know that the sides and deserts are huge, so plan on sharing. We ordered one order of the loaded mashed potatoes between the four of us, and still brought a huge box of them back to the room after dinner. So if your party is three or four people, I would suggest just sharing one or two sides.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    24
    14
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate here to celebrate a new job promotion. The views are beautiful! You overlook the wisconsin river from everywhere in the Resturant. We started with a few of their specialty martinis which were great. They start by bringing out their meat cart where they show you al their different cuts along with their fresh seafood. Our waiter Aron ? Was great. He did a great job explaining everything. We decided on the kbc surf and turf to share. It was as 32oz lobster tail and 14oz bone in filet. We each got a garbage salad with our meal. They bring a cart out with salad and a selection of toppings. You tell them what you want in your salad and they mix it together in front of you, which is a very fun idea. The dressing they use is excellent! Our food arrived and it was big enough for three! The lobster tail was the size of a football. Our steak was cooked perfect. It melted in your mouth and had great flavor. We also got a baked potato which was at least a two pound potato. We did almost finish the whole thing. They brought us a dessert menu which had a lot of great choices. Nothing is small here so go hungry! The dessert list had lots of choices, ice cream sundaes with 20 scoops of ice cream,cheesecake, brownies. We decided on the warm brownie with ice cream and chocolate sauce. It was amazing, and again the size of about a quarter of a cake. It was two giant brownies on top of each other with a chocolate fudge in the Center. Yes it was expensive but well worth it. Perfect for a special occasion! We will defiantly go back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Central Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Dirty Martini's, oysters on the half shell and TREMENDOUS steaks! Best part of the stay by far. Ate at the bar served by THE most hospitable bartender ever. Mwah, mwah!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, WI
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

One of our favorite places to eat in the area. The bone-in ribeye is fantastic, as are the crab legs and lobster tail. The best hash browns I have ever had. The service matches the food - always top-notch. Some people we know shy away from the prices, but I would rather pay more and really enjoy the experience. We have eaten there many times and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Didnt get steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Although we didnt get steak and only ate there because they gave us a $50 gift card for attending the timeshare meeting that we ere required to go to anyways it wasa really nice place. The bartender there was a 10 yr vet at Chula and was super friendly and nice and very knowledgable about the place and the drinks availble.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaminski's Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Kaminski's Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaminski's Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.