We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish Fry”
Review of Brat House Grill

49 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy S, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8267
608-254-8505
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #21 of 166 restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Originally constructed in 1850, the Delton Academy, was a one room Baptist Boys School House. It continued as such until the time of the Civil War. In 1865, it became the Delton Methodist Church. In 1894, the church was expanded and the entry way and side room additions were built. What was originally the entrance was replaced with the G.A.R. stained glass window and the bell tower was added. During this period it was also used as the G.A.R. Hall. The Grand Army of the Republic was the Civil War version of the V.F.W. for the Union army. In 1868, General Order #11 of the G.A.R. called for May 30th to be designated as the day of memorial for Union veterans; originally called "Decoration Day", it later evolved into the U.S. national Memorial Day holiday. The G.A.R. was also active in pension legislation, establishing retirement homes for soldiers, and many other areas which concerned Union veterans. The influence of the G.A.R. led to the creation of the Old Soldiers' Homes of the late 19th century, which evolved into the current United States Department of Veterans Affairs. The back room, bathroom and kitchen addition was added sometime in the 1950's. In the 1970's, the Methodists built a new building across the lake and vacated this one. It was then purchased by a group of local residents and it became the Old Delton Academy Antique Mall. In January of 2000, the building was aquired by it's present owner and after an extensive remodel, became an internet cafe. In the spring of 2007, the building again underwent a revamping and became what it is today; the oldest public building in the southwest Wisconsin area and home of the Brat House Grill. Given it's age, the building still retains it's original wood floor, waitscotting and window frames. It's remarkable what great shape the building is in after it's extenvise and varied history.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    45
    23
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Brat House Grill
See the most recent reviews
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Fish Fry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We love eating at the Brat House Grill in Wisconsin Dells. Once again we had great sevice and a good fish fry. We have been eating here for the last four years when we are in the Dells and would recommend it to everyone. It is right across the street from Moose Jaw.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“great homemade food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Me and my girlfriend came here because we love brats and it was on the $10 fun card we bought (buy one brat basket get one free). My girlfriend cant eat beef and all their brats are made with beef but they were nice enough to make my brat free even though she ordered a chicken sandwhich

Food was great! I ordered cheese curds for an app, they kind of looked like nuggets but tasted really good! I had a beer brat and paid extra to get seasoned waffle fries, was perfect! My girlfriend had a chicken sandwhich with some sort of sauce and she said it was real good. she had the kettle chips with her meal and omg they where home made and had great taste!

We where going to sit outside but saw a spider on top the patio and changed our minds. After gong inside saw a pool table and played a game of pool while waiting for our food. Our waiter was very nice and timely. wouldnt mind coming here again for lunch :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service. Very family friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Freshly made soups and service was excellent. Very clean and food was outstanding.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

From the road you might not be sure if its family friendly but it is! The food is delicious and the atmosphere relaxing. Grab a brew on tap for the adults and Sprecher's root beer in a frosty mug for the kiddos.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Brats! Very surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Although this is a "bar" and I watched 2 families walk in and then walk back out. I felt bad for them...they really missed out.
Brats were all delicious and reasonably priced. Their homemade fries were excellent. Staff was friendly. We will be going back here for sure.
The only thing is being as they have such great food.... wish they had more room for more people to eat. They would make a killng.
If you go here.. please dont walk in and walk back out. You are definitely missing out!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brat House Grill also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Brat House Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brat House Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.