We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see the Upper Dells and Stand Rock” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dells Boat Tours

Dells Boat Tours
Upper Dells Dock (107 Broadway) or Lower Dells Dock (Jnc. Hwy. 12, 13, & 16 - Wisc. Dells Parkway), P.O. Box 630, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
608 254-8555
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
475 helpful votes 475 helpful votes
“Great way to see the Upper Dells and Stand Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The boats are very traditional. When we visited in late September it was not too busy so the upper deck was only 50% full. This meant people were not too crowded and had plenty room to move around.

Both the captain and our guide (can't remember her name however she had recently qualified as a chef so this was her last tour season) were very knowledgeable about the area.

There were 2 stop offs - one at Witches Gulch and the other at Stand Rock. Both were very interesting. If you stop at Stand Rock take the more challenging route back to the boat - it allows you to see a spectacular shelf of rock from right beneath it.

All in all, a nice way to spend a few hours away from the tackiness of the downtown Dells.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    85
    17
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“take sunscreen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

great view and neat shore landings on the upper dells plenty of photo ops
they cram you in and it can get hot on the top deck

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Considered some of the more quirky options, but the Dells Boat Tour is definitely a classic worth taking. Madison our guide was knowledgable, witty and charming on the upper Dells tour. We would have definitely taken the lower Dells tour too if we would have had the time... we even bought the souvenir photo.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Wisconsin Dells is loaded with tourist venues of all shapes and sizes, but we wanted to see the real Dells not all of the junk stuff. I have been on a lot of river tours and this one was very good. Our tour guide, Kevin, and the Captain were both knowledgeable and friendly. I delighted in getting to see the Wisconsin River up close. We drove by it for several miles and just caught glimpses but the boat tour gave us an opportunity to see it up close. It is so important that we save the wild places for future generations. As far as I am concerned you could get rid of the rest of the stuff and just keep this little piece of the real Wisconsin.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Classic dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you do just one thing while visiting the Wisconsin dells, then make sure to take the 2 hour dells boat cruise. We took the upper dells cruise and it did not disappoint. The captain and tour guide were informative and friendly. There were two shore excursions during the trip; one to witches gulch and the other to stand rock. Witches gulch is like no other place...it is a beautiful, narrow and steep gorge that is steeped in history. Stand Rock is possibly the most iconic location in all the dells; where the famous photo was taken many years ago of the boy jumping from the canyon ledge to Toadstool rock. On the tour today visitors get to see a German Shepard accomplish the same feet. The scenery all along the boat ride is amazing...and one of the only places it can be seen in the whole world. This is of course a business and visitors will have to deal with the usual pushy photographer in the beginning and concession stands at both shore excursions. None of these things do much to detract from the experience however. This tour is good for just about everyone in the family from younger kids to the elderly. The staff on the boat is very accommodating and will assist guests with anything they need. Bring your camera as well because the entire trip is filled with unbelievable scenery. Note...the view from the lower deck is just as good as the upper deck (and usually cooler and much less crowded)...also you may want to consider buying the "passport to savings" to save a good chunk of change on this attraction and several others.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dells Boat Tours also viewed

Wisconsin Dells, WI
 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Dells Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dells Boat Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.