We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Disgusting Motel Ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chippewa Motel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Chippewa Motel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chippewa Motel & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1114 East Broadway Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 78 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
GreenLeadersGold level
Racine, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most Disgusting Motel Ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel was the worst ever! When making reservations online, the website shows a beautiful outdoor pool and huge indoor pool that states it is heated. The website also states it was newly renovated. Upon arrival they had a sign at the front desk “be back in 5 minutes” so we had to wait to be able to check in. They put us in the external building, even though when making the reservation we requested the main building. The stairway leading to the second floor of the exterior building was disgusting, hadn’t looked like it had been vacuumed in months, the toilet was loose, the bathtub was leaking and had rust stains so obviously had been for quite some time, there was no a/c or tv in the private bedroom, the carpeting had several stains on it and the curtains didn’t fit and had tears in them. When we complained about the room, they “upgraded” us to the main building, but we had to wait for the room to be cleaned.
When we returned to the room the a/c in the private bedroom didn’t work, when we called the front desk no one answered so we had to walk to the desk to get service. The front desk manager didn’t even know the maintenance guy’s name. When they came to fix the a/c he didn’t really seem to know what he was doing. To get to the front desk we walked through the indoor pool area where we found the pool deck to be filthy dirty, water temperature ice cold, and garbage in the pool. Not to mention the hot tub didn’t have any water in it. We took a look at the outdoor pool where the water was green and had tadpoles living in it. One gate was locked, but the second gate was open and had no signs saying the pool was closed, nor did the girl at check in tell us the outdoor pool was closed. We also discovered that one of the doors leading to the main building hall didn’t lock and didn’t have a latch.
We asked a man walking through the parking lot if he was the owner/manager and he said no, but then got into a Mercedes that had just been uncovered by one of the hotels staff members. So I’m pretty sure he was. No one was able to tell us who the owner was.
When we asked about the outdoor pool we were told the pump broke over the weekend, but they had a new one and would shock the pool and we could use it the next morning. After a night of no sleep for fear of touching anything we went to look at the pool and it hadn’t been touched, still that green color. While talking with other disgusted guests we discovered that we were all put in the exterior building and then “upgraded” to the main building (seems to be the same case with a lot of other reviews I’ve read). One guest was told the indoor pool would be heated by the next morning and it was still ice cold.
We couldn’t stand to be there anymore so we searched for another hotel. After finding one we checked out of the Chippewa immediately. Several of us went to the front desk to complain and the guy at the front desk, Mark, claimed to have no power to give discounts or refunds but would be sure to tell the front desk manager, Devin, when he came in that afternoon. While talking to Mark, he insisted that the pump to the outdoor pool just broke over the previous weekend, but when reading other reviews there was several posted 3 weeks prior to our stay saying the outdoor pool had algae on it then, he claimed that was a lie. Also upon search for reviews I came across a picture posted a year ago showing that the hot tub was out of order.
We stayed at this hotel several years ago and while it wasn’t a 5-star motel it was decent for the price, now you couldn’t pay me enough to stay there again. You would be better off sleeping on a park bench before staying here.
In addition, on several review sites, I have found the general manager giving 5-stars and positive ratings for this hotel.

Room Tip: There is a motel close by called BlackHawk Motel that has nice indoor/outdoor pools and great servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Chippewa Motel & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    0
    1
    52
See reviews for
32
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The minute we walked into the room , we saw dirt all over one bed, we had to call the front desk and he brought us new bedding. As we were putting the new bedding on the headboard fell on me. There was burn holes in the comforter. There was no light bulbs in any light but one, I paid extra for microwave and refrigerator and the microwave did not work, and there wasn't even a turntable plate in it. There was less than a half a roll of toilet paper just sitting on the holder, the curtains did not fit the window, the kleenex box fell out when we grabbed a kleenex. There was food on the floor, that we didn't eat there. We asked the day guy to tell housekeeping to give us extra towels, but housekeeping never came to clean the room. There was no clock, and this is the first time ever I had to pay for ice, and then there was white stuff on it. No way to contact office after 11:00, it was closed, dark and locked, and no one answered the phone. The day guy was so grubby and nasty looking, we would have left if there was ANYWHERE else to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Chippewa Motel & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Rooms dark,dirty, and smell like the sewage backed up and flooded. Pool area disgusting, no chlorine, and hot tub dismantled. Carets wet in rooms and filthy in hallways. Management disrespectful land rude.Not a Motel that should be open at all!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Chippewa Motel & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Internet not working.
No shower curtain.
TV remote missing
Shampoo missing
Front desk doesn't answer phone, so had to walk to lobby for each item
Hallway carpet filthy.
Holes in the wall near door.
It's like nobody cares.
Worst hotel ever.
Worst motel ever..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Chippewa Motel & Suites, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

First to management…..don’t even reply to this with your lies like you have done to others. You haven’t done anything to change everything that is wrong. This place was never renovated and you know it!!!! There is another review from not too long ago and someone said the same thing about the dirty outdoor pool and it looks the same. You just want others to believe you changed. This place should be shut down!!!!! I was there June 21st through June 23rd I don’t even know where to start. When I walked in I immediately went to use the bathroom and it was nasty. Long black hair all over the floor. It was filthy….The entire room was gross. Thankfully I had my own bedding. There was mildew in the coffee pot and a black curly hair wrapped inside one of the many broken pieces to the pot. Funny thing…there were NO cups lol The room walls are very thing and two young teenagers had to hear our neighbors have relations all night. Screaming and you name it they were doing it because we heard it…sadly it was more than two people in that room together and you could clearly hear. No one was ever at the front desk. There was a sign be back in 5 minutes which was a los a big fat lie. The outdoor pool had 2 inches of algae in in. The indoor pool was ice cold. They charge you for ice. Some of the workers must live in one of the units because they had their base on so load the outside ice machine was shaking. The list goes on….we wouldn’t even eat the free breakfast…too scared. When we came back to our room they never even came in and cleaned it…so no clean towels…not surprising seeing it wasn’t clean when we got there. When we left to go have fun on Saturday there was a bunch of cereal in the hallway and when we left Sunday it was still there. We met several others who were there at the same time we were with the same complaints. I wish I had an hour to write everything that was wrong. I wish I had read the reviews beforehand. DON”T STAY THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Chippewa Motel & Suites, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashotah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had booked for 2 nights, through booking.com and then read the reviews. We cancelled right away throught booking.com. It was like within 10mins. We got a confirmation from booking.com. 5 days later our credit card was charges $290.00. not even close to what the rooms would have cost! Booking.com doesn't understand why the motel charged the card. Booking.com and ourselves have been trying to call the motel and no answer.. What shady business! We had read that the weekend we were suppose to go, they got shut down by the fire inspector. So many other nice places around them to go to..

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Chippewa Motel & Suites, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Was promised free waterpark passes with my reservation, but never got them. Even after they said they would hold them for me.
Other issues included:
All pillows lacked pillowcases
One of the lamp shades lacked a light bulb
The plumbing was especially noisy throughout the whole stay, we even closed the bathroom door to keep the level of noise down.
The shower had very low water pressure and
There was no regular coffee in the continental breakfast, only decaf
This is just a partial list of the issues we had during our stay.

The full list is VERY lengthy. Never will I book with this hotel again. And definitely not worth the $113 for one night during spring break.

Room Tip: Even non-smoking rooms smelled of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Chippewa Motel & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chippewa Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Motel & Suites

Address: 1114 East Broadway Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 78 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chippewa Motel & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated motel is located on the East side of downtown Wisconsin Dells. We offer clean, modern rooms for all budgets. We have more than six different room types to accommodate your needs. All of our rooms include free Wi-Fi, continental breakfast and cable TV. Our indoor common areas include Olympic-size swimming pool, whirlpool, dry sauna, game room and on-site guest laundry. We also have a seasonal outdoor pool and picnic area for guest use only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Chippewa Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chippewa Motel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.