We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chippewa Motel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chippewa Motel & Suites to your Saves list
Chippewa Motel & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1114 East Broadway Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
salem
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This place is a mess! Everyting was filthy and the building is delapitaited. whirlpool broken coverd with plywood, pool deck hasnt been cleaned ever? Ice makchine doesnt work, seems to be understaffed, trash everywhere. I booked online and was very upset when we arrived and saw what a dump this place is as well as unsafe espeially for young kids. Cheap price i guess you get what u pay for eww will never go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Chippewa Motel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Julie M, Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Mukwonago, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

All the other reviewers are spot on. We refused to check in and are disputing all credit card charges. Smells like a mold infested foreclosure property! If there was a negative ratting I would pick it because terrible is generous!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Chippewa Motel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Jennifer B, Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was the worse motel I have ever stayed at. For starters the room was "FILTHY" I can't emphasize it enough.The bedding was old and dirty, I had to go to Walmart and buy bedsheets to put on my bed so I would'nt catch an infection.The carpeting was the worst of all, the carpet was so dirty it had huge brown stains all over again I had to go buy plastic to place on the carpeting so we wouldn't have to walk on them.The bathroom tub was dirty, the towels had holes on them and when I asked for fresh towels the following day, they said they ran out of them. There were no garbage bag in the bathroom trash can. I ran out of toilet paper (since there was a tiny roll when I got there,) I requested another roll on saturday morning and I checked out on Sunday and never got the paper, I had to go buy some. The mattress was so old I can feel the springs by just placing my hand it, I reguested a new one and they didn't bring it up until 2:30 am. This is a horrible Motel!! I would not recommend anyone to stay in this NASTY, FILTHY motel. They should close this dump!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marinel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Chippewa Motel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Marinel R, Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is the worst hotel I have ever been too! To start off , they have no Jacuzzi because it was broken. The rugs in the room were nasty, dirty and stained. The beds were broken. They were literally on the floor with a damn sheet covering it. The outside pool is dirty as hell. When I called to ask for towels, they told me that the laundry was all dirty and they didnt have any. I went to the front desk to speak to manager, he was not available so I left a name and number and the 3 days I was there, he never called me! The employees there look like they are on some kind of drug. This is the most ghetto hotel I have ever been too!!!! Never will I stay here again... Not even if it was free!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank marit60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Chippewa Motel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Marit60097, Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock, illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place is a total DUMP!!! Carpet was filthy. Pieces of toilet paper and hair on the floor in the bathroom of the room. A/C didn't work well. The outdoor pool is green and scuzzy. Toilets have a had time flushing. Toilet in the indoor pool area wouldn't flush. When I called the desk to tell the guy about the bathroom window which would not close, he came quickly to my room, and let himself in the room without knocking. Dead bolt in my room would not lock, I had to insist on another room which the guy at the desk thought was not big deal. They will not refund your money,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Chippewa Motel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Bren M, Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

There are so many things to say about the Chippewa Motel I don't know where to start. This motel is disguisting - I don't think the carpets have ever been vacuumed, there were clumps of hair by in the indoor pool, the bathrooms by the indoor pool did not flush and were filthy, our bathroom had hair on the toilet and did not appear to have been cleaned. The only thing that was clean in our room was the inside of the mini fridge. At one point I saw the supply closet was open so I thought I would see what they had for cleaning products and clean my own bathroom. I was horrified at what I found - ONE can of cleaner and a bunch or rumpled up sheet & towels. The supply cart had no cleaning supplies and not one vacuum cleaner in sight. I still can't believe we stayed the night at this place - it is a health hazard. We would have been better off sleeping in our car. Don't waste your money or risk your health - stay anywhere else but the Chippewa Motel. YUCK!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momtwoboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Chippewa Motel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear momtwoboys, Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Where do I even begin with this place. The first day we got there our room wasn't ready, so they upgraded us to a suite. Which under normal circumstances would be great, but this was no normal circumstance, we got there and the floor was obviously unvacuumed, as a matter of fact i don't think the hotel owns a single vacuum, on top of that there was also a mini coffee pot, a microwave, and a mini-fridge in the room, all three had a nasty food stains in them. When I was looking for my keys in the couch I found some free fruit loops! The Jacuzzi and showers seemed like they had never once been cleaned in the last five years. The beds were not even put together with nails, screws, or anything that would fasten the frame together, and broke when we sat on them. The indoor pool was disgusting and the outdoor was literally the color green. You couldn't even see the more then a foot into the water, the outdoor pool also appeared to be filled with hose water, with no chlorine.

The second day we got to the hotel around 9 o'clock p.m. and the help didn't even know that we were supposed to have a room. So he had to rush for half an hour to clean the room. Regardless he did a terrible job. An hour later we had to go back down to the main office and ask for towels even though they had previously said they would get some to us. This room was just as disgusting if not more then the previous room. The bathroom was disgusting and in my opinion unfit for human life. Not only was the shower the most disgusting thing I've seen in all my years but the water was ridiculously cold. We let the water run for 20 minutes to no avail. Granted nowadays the majority of the world has cell phones, the hotel still advertised that they had phones in all of the rooms, which granted they did, but they didn't have phone jacks in the room. The Continental breakfast was an atrocity, there were unaccompanied minors trying to make waffles with the waffle iron and the fruit and beverages should not have been allowed for human consumption.
All in all it was pretty much one of the worst experiences of my life and I think that the hotel should be shut down until it is fit for human life.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Chippewa Motel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Tim A, Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#44 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ambers Resort & Conference Center
Ambers Resort & Conference Cente...
#38 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#25 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
2.3 mi away
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
#8 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Hawk Motel
Black Hawk Motel
#1 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Motel & Suites

Address: 1114 East Broadway Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Chippewa Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated motel is located on the East side of downtown Wisconsin Dells. We offer clean, modern rooms for all budgets. We have more than six different room types to accommodate your needs. All of our rooms include free Wi-Fi, continental breakfast and cable TV. Our indoor common areas include Olympic-size swimming pool, whirlpool, dry sauna, game room and on-site guest laundry. We also have a seasonal outdoor pool and picnic area for guest use only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chippewa Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing