We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Historic Torture Devices

Museum of Historic Torture Devices
740 Eddy Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
608-254-2439
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Historic Torture Devices provides a look into the darkest chapters in human history. View several torture devices and descriptions of the barbaric ways they were used. Admission also includes access to the special exhibit: John Wayne Gacy- "Torture King of Chicago". The Museum of Historic Torture Devices is located in Downtown Wisconsin Dells. Open daily mid-June through Labor Day and weekends only in Spring & Fall.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The title is so intriguing, however it was very cheaply put together. A few signs on Microsoft word and plywood covered in fabric dividers to make one room a maze, the music was clearly to entertain the staff and took away from the experience/mood. There was a wealth of information(mostly common knowledge things with a few more facts) The experience just wasn't worth the money.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    7
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Freaky but cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled upon this little treasure off the main drag. Of course it is not for little kids, any parent with a brain could assume that basedthe off thethe name! As an adult who enjoys unique experiences, I enjoyed this attraction. There are tons of crazy torture devices accompanied by plaques to explain each one's history. Mu friend said many of which were featured on the History Channel. For anyone who complains about the price, they are crazy; any museum or attraction has an entrance fee to cover the cost of doing business. I recommend this attraction to anyone who likes history and/or an unique experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansbach, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“CREEPY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was a great place with super duper freaky things!! i had nightmares my teenage son loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It was alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I wouldn't recommend bringing young children to this. It was alright for us but we found the movie they showed a little disturbing. We were ready to go have lunch going in but when we left we had lost our appeitite.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Big ole ripoff.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Obviously, we enjoy this sort of thing. Can't imagine that people who aren't intrigued by something called a 'museum of torture' would even be drawn to pay the admission price. Unfortunately, we were sorely disappointed. We thought it was cheap and not worth the time. We had a hard time discerning which, if any, were 'authentic' torture devices. We felt that most of them were definitely reproductions. Misspelled and grammatically incorrect informational plaques. Also, no air conditioning on a hot and humid day.. sweatier inside the place than outside. We later visited the Ripley's museum across the way and its small section that covered torture history was far superior to this whole place. Don't waste your money.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Historic Torture Devices also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Museum of Historic Torture Devices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Historic Torture Devices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.