We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Rock Cafe

High Rock Cafe
232 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1565
+1 608-254-5677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Eclectic, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The food was excellent and creative. The food would have cost 2x the amount in Chicago. Not really a kid place, but we did bring ours and they loved it! Our kids are 11 and 9 and they did offer a children,s menu. It was a great place for my birthday celebration. We will go again!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    159
    47
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Planned a trip to the Dells to meet some friends. With some research for a decent place to eat I came across this establishment. With as many high ratings as this place has I was ready to be wowed. Service was fine. Food was awful! A lot of people order water these days (im a fan of soda) and the three couples I was with ordered water. In a moment when they all sipped their glass their faces turned into "Bitter Beer Face". This place must not have cleaned their tap lines. HIGHLY and I mean HIGHLY clorinated and pungeant. Each of the four different meals were below average in taste and expectation. I'm sorry I can not recommend this place to someone based on this experience. I sometimes will give a place a second chance. I won't here with so many other offerings in the Dells.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food; good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This of very off season in the Dells so to find such an excellent restaurant open was a delightful surprise. Probably one of the most important things is that in this very tourist town, the locals eat here! The view from the upstairs is great; overlooking the streets of the "strip." The food is very "uptown" for such a tourist area. For instance, I enjoyed beet soup (beets, apple and squash pureed) served in 1/2 an acorn squash with a dollop of crab salad on top that was wonderful. My husband had pork roast with steamed vegetables and mashed sweet potatoes that he declared some of the best food he has eaten. Good menu of sandwiches, salads and full meals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We decided to try High Rock Cafe for a late lunch. I was very happy with the atmosphere of the restaurant. The menu looked so delicious! I had a beet salad which was amazing, grown up mac and cheese which wasn't any good and had a bite of the crab cakes which are the best I've had to date. I recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for a more upscale place in the Dells but not too fancy. We did have a problem with getting double charged for our meal but they fixed it right away. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was by far our favorite restaurant when visiting the Dells. The atmosphere was great and if you sit on the second floor you have a great view of the outside area when eating. There is an excellent assortment of food to choose from and our service was top notch.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Rock Cafe also viewed

 

Been to High Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Rock Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.