We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ribs and brisket in the Dells area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alabama's Dixieland Bbq & Suds

Alabama's Dixieland Bbq & Suds
414 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
608-253-2020
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 167 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hudson, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best ribs and brisket in the Dells area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have found the best place this side of the Mighty Miss for ribs and Brisket! Wow! This place has ribs falling off the bone and the tenderest brisket. The staff are wonderful. Very helpful and friendly. The atmospher and decor are great. If you visit Wisconsin Dells, you need to eat here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    5
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great BBQ Joint in the Dells”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stopped in here while in downtown Dells and it had some pretty good BBQ for the area. We had the barbecued pork and chicken and they were both good. The signature sauces they give you are great (I really liked the regular) and the deep friend green beans were awesome. The atmosphere is definitely something different. I would go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice experience and great menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

a very unique restaurant decorated with an array of antiques particularly tools and such. Food quality was great with a wide variety of BBQ products. FUN! Loved the music also and the moonshine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All and all just eh (No concealed carry or weapons sign).”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I typically won't even step foot in any place that doesn't support the law abiding citizens right to carry firearms. I find these individuals or establishments to be one of two things - uneducated or ignorant.

Anyway, everyone was hungry and the kids were getting crabby (and the wives wanted to check this place out). So a couple of us went back to our vehicles to lock our firearms away and proceeded back to the restaurant to make the kids and wives happy.

The following was our experience:

Very slow service (no one was really even in the restaurant).

Staff was friendly. That is always pleasant.

Food was just ok - it wasn't horrible and it wasn't great.

Conclusion:

We will never go there again and I know MANY people that will not support your business for that little sign in your window.

Good luck and thanks for the the experience! .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“First time visit - will go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were in the Dells this week (May21-25) and wanted to try this restaurant after reading about it on Trip Advisor. Very few people in town this early in May so we were not too surprised to be the only customers at 11 a.m. just as they opened for the day. We had a new waitress shadowed by another employee and she did well. We both had the half chicken and it was very very good, moist and flavorful, fell off the bone. I had potato salad (spicy) and not for children for sure and green beans which I did not know would be fried - but they were good and not greasy with a light coating. The price for our meals was $11.99 I believe and a good value for the area and what we had. I did not add any BBQ sauce to my chicken although they brought 3 kinds. We would definitely return here, they appear to have entertainment at night or weekends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alabama's Dixieland Bbq & Suds also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Alabama's Dixieland Bbq & Suds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alabama's Dixieland Bbq & Suds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.