We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic Family Fun in the Dells” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Canyon Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Save
You added Glacier Canyon Lodge to your Saves list
45 Hillman Road, P.O. Box 830, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Fantasic Family Fun in the Dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

Our family of 4 just left the Wyndham portion of the Glacier Canyon Lodge in Wisconsin Dells today and we miss it already. We purchased a 6 night stay from a seller on eBay and got a 1300 sq. foot, 3 bedroom Presidential Suite for $1000. Wow. This condo is the nicest accommodations we've ever stayed at (and we travel about 6 times a year), perfectly laid out and beautifully decorated.

The resort is huge but our kids, 7 and 5 years old, had no trouble walking to all of the waterparks. We took a shuttle one day just because it was right there. This place is literally a Vegas for kids; no clocks anywhere, everything is larger than life, and it's all about fun, fun, fun.

We loaded up on groceries from the Super Walmart nearby and only went out for dinner each day. On the resort, Fields Steak House is good but very pricey, Monks has the best pizza ever and decent prices, Wild Canyon Buffet is OK, and Sarrentos Italian Restaurant is pretty good.

Only negative about the resort is no in-room internet. Otherwise highly recommended!

  • Liked — Lots of square footage!
  • Disliked — No internet.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    230
    57
    38
    26
See reviews for
502
24
Solo
0
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

booked from our timeshare the Glacier Canyon is a resort i am willing to return....

rooms were brand new. nicely furnished. we stayed in a 2 bedroom deluxe. the master bedroom was "pimped out" with its own jacuzzi, king size bed and a large shower. guest bedroom has 2 full size beds and its own bathroom as well.

the downsize was no indoor water park on site. you have to wait 15 minutes for free shuttle to the wilderness resort

Other than that friendly staff, clean, and peacful resort.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, freindly staff, indoor waterparks and being a new resort
  • Disliked — distance from indoor water park...not onsite
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

We stayed in the Wyndham Vacation Ownership section in a 2 bedroom Presidential unit, and realize our accomodations were not average for the resorts. The unit we were in was incredible - great bathrooms with rain showers and whirlpool tub, granite and stainless kitchen, Flat screen TV, nice large fireplace and over sized balcony. Only real complaint is lack of Internet access in rooms - to me that's a HUGE miss in a new resort - not asking for it to be free, just available.

Resort has 3 outdoor and 3 indoor water parks, plus a couple of arcades, laser tag, huge indoor play area (imagine a McDonald's play place on steroids). We were there 4th of July weekend - so assume entire resort was at capacity. Still we always found tables and chairs by water parks, lines on slides were not long, and we were always able to find tubes and floats for the lazy river.

Food prices at the water parks were as expected - could be pricey to feed an entire family. Felt drink prices to be high ($8.75 for a juice based drink special of the day). Signs everywhere about no food or drink may be brought into water parks. This must have been being enforced, as I noticed people picnicking just outside of the water park fences. We never ate in the water parks.

Will definitely return for short weekends - only live 90 minutes away and have ample points within the Wyndham timeshare system. Based on the general resort amenities I recommend the entire resort to non-timeshare owners. Not sure I could do a whole week in the Dells, but that's just me.

  • Liked — The waterparks
  • Disliked — Lack of internet access in room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Heights, IL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

We heard about Glacier Canyon and the Wilderness property from a co-worker. I got on the Trip Advisor website and read the mixed reviews. I will say that we had a GREAT experience there. We stayed at Glacier Canyon Lodge, which is the newer part of the resort. We rented a 2-bedroom Deluxe unit and were VERY happy that we did. It had all the amenities of home (living room, dining area, and full kitchen with all of the cooking necessities). Previous reviews that complained about small hallways and such need to realize that it's a hallway, not a highway. OK, so maybe you can't walk 3-people wide in your group and expect to get past the people walking towards you, big deal. I found the place clean, both inside the resort and out in the waterparks. There was plenty for my 2 and 6 year old sons to do.

We were there 4 days and 3 nights. Each day our plan was to start at one of the indoor parks in the morning and then go back to the room for lunch and nap (2 yr old & sometimes dad!) then in the afternoon, we'd hit one of the outdoor parks until we were ready for dinner. Then after dinner, we headed to Dodge 'Em City, it's like McDonalds playland, only 20 times bigger. The kids had a blast climbing everywhere and dad had fun shooting the teenagers with the foam balls in the airguns.

Yes, it does seem that most of the lifeguards are from Lithuania, but they were very friendly and personable with the kids, often smiling and waving to them. They were able to answer the simple questions that I asked, when I needed info. As a side note, this must be a new trend with amusement parks, because last year when we went to Branson, MO the amusement park there employed MANY Russian speaking workers too. It must be part of some exchange program or they get a tax break or something.

We were very happy with the time we spent there. From the customer service at check-in until the time we checked out, I can't think of a single negative thing that happened during our experience there. We're looking forward to going back next summer.

HINT: Ask for a room near the skywalk, this will lesson your walk between areas of the resort, a little. But, honestly, the shuttle is really the best way to go.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location (view of the waterpark), paying one price and enjoying the entire resort
  • Disliked — slow elevator
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

me, my husband and our two girls (16 & 5) stayed at gc for four nights and we had a blast! we stayed in a one bedroom deluxe on the wyndham side (there are about three different properties in all) the room was beautiful and very spacious. we had a full kitchen, dining rm, living rm seperate bedrm ,two flat screen tvs and a balcony.
the water parks were fabulous. we stayed in our swimsuits all day. there is alot of walking between parks, but you can take the shuttle (free) it comes as soon as you call. there was so much to do we never left the resort. the only down side is the price of the food on the resort, but thats ok because we went grocery shopping at the super walmart ( 5 min away) right after we checked in, so the only thing we bought on property was a large slushie ( large enough for the girls to split) for $6.75. everything else was included except for the laser tag (fun) $5.00 per person for 10 min.
we will definately go back with more of our family.
by the way we are wyndham owners so our stay was part of our timeshare, but i did check out the prices to stay and if we did have to pay out of pocket i still would say it was definately worth it

  • Liked — everthing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, IIN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

We stayed in a one bedroom condo and it was fantastic! Very clean, spatious and we loved the full kitchen and deck. The kids slept on the Murphy bed in the living room and had their "own room". The water park was just outside our unit, and we thought it was the best of the 3 outdoor parks. It seemed that not too many guests from the Wilderness Lodge had ventured over to our waterpark, so it was realatively empty.

Everyone we encountered was very nice, the service was great and the price was just right.

We especially loved all of the indoor walk ways - you could walk to anywhere! We even tried the shuttle once, and that worked very well.

The indoor play areas were a blast - thekids loved the air guns.

We would HIGHLY suggest this place for anyone. Very lovely.

  • Liked — Clean spatious rooms
  • Disliked — Lots of walking to get to where you want to go
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ironwood mi
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

We had 2 adults (not grown-up). And our 4 daughters 22, 20, 19, 15. 1 son-in-law 21. And 3 family friends-18 year old girls and my 2 year old grandson. The Glacier was by far the best resort for all of us. We stayed in a 3 bedroom deluxe and it was clean, roomy, and made the vacation more homey. We only stayed for 2 nights which is not enough time to see everything they have here. I don't know why the reviews of negative customer service because ours was great!! The security was very helpful. The shuttle was always on time and the drivers friendly. I can't say enough about this resort. But We will be back and I can't wait. I did take the tips and we brought our own bottled water and beach towels and we cooked in our room. This way the trip was really cheap for all of us that went. I will say this is the best vacation we had!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Vacation wasn't long enough
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Canyon Lodge

Address: 45 Hillman Road, P.O. Box 830, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 460
Also Known As:
Glacier Canyon Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Glacier Canyon Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.