We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Canyon Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Save
You added Glacier Canyon Lodge to your Saves list
45 Hillman Road, P.O. Box 830, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great vacation resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is our 4th time staying at Glacier Canyon. We had the 1 bedroom deluxe condo this time. It was perfect for 2 adults and 2 kids. We were close to all of the outdoor water parks and the rooms were very clean. Again, we were pleased with our choice to stay at Glacier Canyon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    230
    57
    38
    26
See reviews for
502
24
Solo
0
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago IL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights at the GCL section of the Wilderness Resort. This time with a blend of family & friends, we rented the 3 bedroom premier condo. Basically this is the 1 BR premier and the open the adjoining doors on either side which is where your 2 queen bedrooms are. Each had a pullout couch too as well as a balcony & can easily accomodate a group larger than ours of 6 adults & 4 kids. Those rooms also remain quiet for the kids to sleep if the adults want to stay up later in the main living space. It's been an odd weather summer so unfortunately we didn't have great weather, 2 days sunny out of 4, but that's where this resort shines. Lots of places to play at indoors & lots of outdoor hot tubs to warm up in if you're chilly from riding slides, lazy river, etc. This year, we took our 1 perfect day and spent it over at Wilderness on the Lake. A nice quiet afternoon can be had there after your ears tire of the screaming & rushing water of the attraction areas. It's our 3rd stay in 1 year at the same property and we'll continue to return. HOWEVER, the screen in the master bedroom was completely ripped open at the bottom and the armchairs in the living area had quite a bit of wear & tear on the arms. For the nightly cost, I expect these accomodations to be pristine. And the "well equipped" kitchen misses certain key items you'd want for a bigger group, like a large salad bowl, so you have to meal plan wisely & thoroughly. I'd like to add that I completed the online comment card I received via email from GCL over a week ago, mentioning these detractors and I have yet to hear anything back from the Wilderness. That is disappointing for a resort of this caliber when they hear of any issue from frequent fliers like us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my extended family and we all had a wonderful time. The rooms are nice and the kitchens exceeded my expectations. It is easy to get around and with 4 indoor parks you can have fun even in bad weather. We rented a cabana which made a great "base camp" for the whole family. Wild West outdoor park was perfect for our 3 to 13 year old crew.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our first time at The Dells and what a wonderful stay we had at Glacier Canyon. We got a wonderful 2 bedroom suite. What a great money saver by having a full kitchen. It was perfect for cooking our meals. They thought of everything from the can openers to noodle strainer and serving platters/bowls. I can't recommend the resort enough. The connected hotels with the Glacier Canyon was awesome. It gave us 3 indoor and 3 outdoor pools. We had a great time with the Laser Tag, in-door glow in the dark putt putt, the arcades. Me and my husband loved the two level lazy river the best! Even though we didn't use the staff driven go-carts to take us from place to place, it is a wonderful feature for those who find it difficult to walk. They also had complimentary shuttle services via mini-buses to take you to the other hotels as well. I just can say thank you enough for such a wonderful vacation.
- Family of 5, Glacier Canyon- August 2013

Room Tip: Room 1123 was perfectly located to walk everywhere, it was parking lot side. If you want pool side t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the one bedroom premier rooms at Glacier Canyon and we very happy with the set up and the many attractions surrounding us on the Wilderness campus. Ask for a room on the 2nd level close to the skywalk and bring a stroller. The Lost World had the best outdoor area for little kids (we had a 2 year old and a 9 month old) structure was perfect for elementary kids. Wild West was the best indoor park for little ones. With 6 waterparks, arcade, zipline and much more, there is no need to leave the resort if that interests you.

I will suggest that you bring some of your own food or get meals off of the resort as the concession stand makes for an over priced lunch.

Overall great experience! Thinking about coming back next year already!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Clean and friendly all around, the lifeguards are fantastic and so are all the staff we encountered. The only slight recommendation I have is they start to do some painting of slides/areas and touch up of some concrete work before it becomes an issue.

Room Tip: Its a huge facility but there are shuttles that run around the outside. There are rooms that are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this lodge and the water parks that were there. Everything was great and all the employees were the best and very helpful. In filling out my review I assumed the first spot to mark was the excellent spot but it wasn't so I marked it the opposite of what I thought.

It was a great experience for the whole family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Canyon Lodge

Address: 45 Hillman Road, P.O. Box 830, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 460
Also Known As:
Glacier Canyon Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Glacier Canyon Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.