We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off to a great start” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Canyon Lodge

Save Saved
You added Glacier Canyon Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glacier Canyon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Hillman Road, P.O. Box 830, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 78 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Indianapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Off to a great start”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I may be jumping the gun on this review because we are still here (kids are down for a nap). Things are off to a great start.
We originally booked in the resort section of Glacier Canyon, but cancelled our reservation so we could purchase a timeshare room off of eBay. We ended up booking a 3 night stay for about $100 less than the price of our originally booked 2 night stay. Plus, the rooms in the Wyndham timeshare section all have washers and dryers which we felt was a nice perk to drying wet swimsuits.
We have very small children with our group ranging from age 4 down to 9 months. So far, everything has been perfectly manageable. The kids all loved the Wild Waterdome this morning. That park has a large wave pool, a family raft ride and a 1.5 foot deep splash park for the little ones. We are here on a weekend, but I'm guessing that since its "off season" the crowds aren't bad at all. We had no trouble finding two tables to put down all our stuff. We arrived about 45 minutes after it opened and there was plenty of open seating still. (After nap is over we'll be headed to Klondike Kavern). We heard that Wild West, which is the third of the connected waterparks is geared more toward younger children, so we are saving that for tomorrow morning.
In regards to our room... We like it very much. The kitchen had a little more than I expected ( scissors, tongs, spatula, blender, tableware for 8 place settings, etc.) We brought in our own groceries to save money and cater to the demands of our very young crew. The only thing I thought was an obvious "miss" from the kitchen was that there was no hot pads or oven mitts. We had warmed up some chicken nuggets on a cookie sheet in the oven when we figured this out. There are two kitchen towels, so we used those, just thought it would have been nice to have a hot pad. Oh, and by the way... We did have a small salt n' pepper set in our kitchen when we arrived... And even enough coffee provided to make a pot of regular and a pot of decaf... And 1 roll of paper towels. I had read on Tripadvisor that none of these items were provided, so we brought our own, as well. We took another travelers advice and brought a crockpot to make a Mississippi roast and it smells awesome! We threw everything together this morning, went to the parks... And by dinner time we will have deliciousness with no effort.
Other info worth knowing: if you have small children, pack n plays can be requested. You can get restaurant-style high chairs for your dining table area, as well. You are welcome to bring your own life jackets for use at the waterparks, but you can find options in multiple sizes available for use for free at the parks -- look for them hanging on the walls. If you stay at Wyndham, no cleaning staff will enter your room during your stay, so that means if you want clean sheets, you clean them yourself, but no one will be going through or stealing your stuff. The waterparks are all very far away, but the shuttle is so easy to use and worth it! Use it. Being this far out is nice for the peace and quiet and the shuttle gets you to all the action at a fraction of the time it would take to walk.

Enjoy yourself. Remember you are on vacation, so just enjoy the time spent with family.

Room Tip: Use the shuttle rather than walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    196
    48
    34
    24
See reviews for
455
22
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is our second time staying at the Glacier Canyon- part of the Wilderness Resort. My one huge complaint is the quality of the beds and the small, lumpy pillows. We never get a good night's rest when we stay. I can ignore the loud children and adults in the room next to us; it's a family resort so I expect that. But I do not expect the beds to be so uncomfortable.

Otherwise, we really enjoy this resort. I've never been in summer because I'm wary about the crowds. But April is always a perfect time for us to go. We mostly hang out at the Wild Water Dome, since it's my son's favorite. Unfortunately the Glacier Canyon rooms are about as far as you can get from the Water Dome... so we walked A LOT. For small kids it's too long a walk so I'd recommend a stroller or wagon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel for families. We had a two bedroom deluxe suite. It had two bedrooms, two bathrooms. Full kitchenette, dining area and living space with fireplace. And balcony off of master suite. It was great because we could cook our breakfast and lunch ourselves. Everything was clean, and it's just families everywhere, very safe atmosphere.

The water parks were great with a lot to choose from, lineups were not bad at all, although some mornings I made a point of claiming our seats early. Lots of choices for kids. Ropes course, arcade, laser tag, candy shops, zip lining, horseback riding etc. Not cheap of course, but definitely a fun vacation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The people above us are so loud! We have called and complained several times but it doesn't seem to make the stomping end! Guest services called to see how our stay was, when we told them of the excessive noise they blew over our complaint saying that it was a family hotel. The stomping never ends and it is rattling the fan and other fixtures in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

From NYC NY to Wisconsin Dells, WI! night and day .

Great spacious room, queen size beds, separate dressing/prep area, frig, microwave. Oh, NY...$350|nite...Dells, $130. Give me open space, no garbage and quiet anytime.

Clearly a summer resort area, but in April it's a haven of solitude. Will be back with the kids in a couple months.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you have not stayed at this Wisconsin Dells hotel, you are missing out! Beautiful rooms, quiet hallways, and great conference facilities. Staff is friendly too! While attending a conference, I found the food to not be the low quality conference I am used to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Met extended family at this hotel, part of Wilderness resort. The rest of the family got standard rooms at the Wilderness, we opted for a little more space with 2 BR deluxe unit at Glacier Canyon.

This room was exactly as promised, no complaints! Linens very nice, bed very comfortable, everything seemed in good or like new condition. Everything you need is there, esp in regards to kitchen. We hosted our family from their little rooms for dinner both nights (ordered in food mostly) and worked great! Of course you are staying at this resort for the waterpark experience (or you're staying at the wrong hotel!). There are 3 indoor waterparks at the Wilderness, which is attached to this resort, the Glacier Canyon, via skywalk. We had a room right next to the skywalk on the second floor, and I would say it was a 5 minute walk to the closest waterpark, and 10 minutes to the other two (all indoors), if not a little more.

As a parent of 2 year old toddlers, I would say the Wild West indoor waterpark, although the furthest from Glacier Canyon, was the most fun for 2 year olds. It had lots of small to medium slides, that we (adults) could go down with kids, or they could go by themselves. Lots of spraying water, and huge zero depth area. All 3 of the indoor waterparks had zero depth areas, so you really cant go wrong. We tried them all, and they all had something unique, but my kids liked the Wild west one best.

My only complaint about the whole experience, was, of course, the table/chair situation. On a busy weekend, they seemed to fill up within 5 minutes of opening. People will throw down a hotel towel and consider that table reserved for the entire day; even if they go back to their room for a nap!

Tip: We brought our wagon for our twins to ride in. SO GLAD (even though it took up most of cargo space in car). Many envious looks from other parents. No problem stashing it in waterparks, and just made the commute from Glacier Canyon hassle free.

Tip#2 There is an indoor (dry) park, jungle playgym area that was great for checkout day; I wanted to tire the kids out for ride home, but didnt want to deal with wet suits etc, since we had to check out by 11.

Tip#3 Buffalo Phils (off property) is great if you're kids are "Train-heads"like mine. Little trains deliver food to your table. The whole Wisconsin Dells town caters to kids and family, and this place was no exception.

Room Tip: When I checked in , I mentioned I had 'new walkers' and requested a suite adjacent to skywal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Canyon Lodge

Address: 45 Hillman Road, P.O. Box 830, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Canyon Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Glacier Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Canyon Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Glacier Canyon Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.