We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day Trip - Family of Four” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Canyon Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Glacier Canyon Lodge to your Saves list
Glacier Canyon Lodge
45 Hillman Road, P.O. Box 830, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“3 day Trip - Family of Four”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We just returned from our 2 night stay at the Glacier Canyon Lodge. For those of you that are not familiar with the property, the GCL is made up of condos instead of traditional hotel rooms. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo with our 3 and 6 year old children. The condo had a master suite, kitchen, dining area, family room and the kids had their own room with bunk beds. It was very clean and spacious, but you will probably be paying about 75% more than you would at the hotel. The GCL area seems to be much nicer and quieter than the hotel area. It was about a 10 to 12 minute walk to any of the 3 indoor waterparks.

My major complaint was that parking was difficult and the WiFi was very spotty. My cell phone (AT&T) was also very spotty. I had no reception most of the time. Also, be prepared for major crowds at the waterparks.

Overall I would recommend staying at the GCL. The condo was a nice retreat from a hectic day at the waterpark. Keep in mind that we visited in the winter months, so I’m assuming that there is much more to do in the warmer months. I agree with other reviews and I would NOT stay at the hotel portion.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor. We were told that is was the quietest floor. We slept very well and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hike337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a family getaway over Christmas break. Upon check-in, we were a little worried when we saw large groups of kids in the rooms next to and across from us. The traffic and noise in the hallway were quite loud. Imagine our surprise when we got into our rooms and the noise almost was completely gone! We were very impressed with the sound proofing of the rooms. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was very nice. The fireplace was a complete joke. It was totally fake- just a rotating glowing light. Why on earth would they do that?!? The towels and washcloths could afford some updating. They were very thin and harsh.

The water parks were not that far of a walk away. They were crowded because it was the weekend, but we still enjoyed ourselves. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the other amenities were. The miniature golf courses were top notch. The sky ropes were a LOT scarier than they looked! The staff members working on the ropes were great at helping kids that were afraid. The haunted house was really cool and not at all gory. My 9 year old wouldn't go in, but my 11 year old and I really enjoyed it. Everything we tried was well done and maintained. We would return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MUMerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend greatway with the whole family. Eight adults and four young kids. We stayed in a three bedroom deluxe room. Plenty of room. The place was very nice lots to do indoors the kids had a blast! The wilderness is great. Only two negatives, i wish we could stayed longer, and kind of a lot of walking but overall very nice we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cronek28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
279 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was here with two co-workers for a conference, we stayed two nights. It was very confusing finding Glacier Canyon Lodge from the Wilderness itself. At check-in, they had difficulty finding our reservation under any of our names, it was only after running my credit card that they found us. Then it was very confusing trying to find out room - buildings would be easier to navigate if there was better signage or maybe if the buildings were different colors/styles.
The room itself was clean and well appointed, but very dark. The high ceilings do give it a "canyon like" atmosphere, but make it a little cold and dim. Amenities were nice, but towels a little thread bare.
The conference rooms were set up nicely, coffee and water was available and always full. Staff was cordial. Never got to the waterpark, so that is probably the highlight of this resort and its best feature.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine102262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We love getting the 2, 3 or 4 bedroom "presidental suite" at this property...depending on how much of the family is coming along. You can get some GREAT deals on these rooms via eBay...particularly off the peak weeks, when the kids are not on vacation breaks or summer weekends. There's a "deluxe" version of the rooms that are not quite as upscale but are still very nice. Both room types offer the same access to ALL the Wilderness waterparks. The other great thing is that this portion if the Lodge is basically time shares, and the amount of people and hallway traffic is limited. Although, parking can be an issue when checking in during the peak times or evenings.

Room Tip: Use eBay to get best deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cocoacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This trip was actually our second time staying at the Glacier Canyon Lodge with our extended family. Our kids were toddler through teens. Both trips we stayed a full week. The first trip we stayed in a two-bedroom deluxe, and this trip we stayed in a three-bedroom deluxe. The entire lodge is made up of combinations of a few room types: 1) a main room with a half bath, living room w/ murphy bed and a kitchen. Attached to this room on either side you have 2) a hotel room with 2 queens, double sofa sleeper, full bath, mini fridge and balcony; 3) a bedroom with a king bed, full bath and balcony and 4) a bedroom with a twin-over-full bunk bed that shares a bath with the king bedroom and has no windows or fan.

Depending on the group size, you can have 1, 2, or 3 bedrooms along with the main living room/kitchen w/ half bath. This is great except that the square footage of the living room/kitchen is always the same no matter how many bedrooms you will be using, so the larger the group, the more cramped it feels. There is a dining table for four people only, so if you have more people than that, plan on eating on the sofa and at the breakfast bar. The first trip we had 6 people and this trip we had 9 people. Even with 6 people we felt cramped.

First the good:
The rooms both trips were very clean. Fireplaces in every room. Very convenient access to the water parks so everyone can come and go as they please and don't have to stay together as one group. Nice rustic decor. The kids absolutely love the water parks (we were off-season so only the indoor parks were open) as well as the arcades and ropes course. Laser tag and indoor mini golf is also open. The kitchen is fully stocked, albeit like a typical extended stay hotel. If you're cooking for a large group, you'll want to bring some larger pans/bakeware and a non-stick skillet for eggs. Eggs stick to the aluminum pans like crazy. We brought a turkey roaster and made most of our meals in it.

Some cons:
The closets are TINY. The bunk bed room has no windows and no ceiling fan for air movement making the room feel stuffy. Depending on how close you are to the skywalk, you could have a short walk or a very very long walk to the water parks. The downside of staying closer to the skywalk is the hallways smelled strongly of chlorine. In the off-season the prices are lower but you also get less. For instance, during the week typically the only water parks open are the Waterdome and attached Klondike Cavern. The Wild West water park opens for the weekend and holidays when occupancy is higher. The zip line was open only on the weekend but by then it was far too cold to do it. Go Karts and everything else outside is closed in the off-season. Horseback riding is open and fun for the kids but the guides are terrible and don't seem to enjoy their jobs.

The Water parks:
The Waterdome seems to be everyone's favorite. It tends to be too warm inside the Waterdome unless you're in the water. There is a shallow spray area for little kids. The bottom is very rough and sometimes hurts to walk on it. The water was salty and their was a lack of chlorine smell...so I think it's a salt water pool although I never saw that written anywhere. There are also two large raft water slides (only one was running) that are not steep but it's dark inside making it more thrilling.

The Klondike Cavern has an indoor-outdoor hot tub, lazy river and huge spray playground for kids up to 12. It's actually fun for the teens too but they try to keep it only for kids 12 and under. It also has the Hurricane water slide which is a raft slide that drops you into a huge side-sitting funnel and propels you up the side of the funnel almost to the top. You feel like you might tip over if the raft were to go any higher and it is very thrilling. The adults and teens enjoyed it very much, even Grandma. There are also a couple tube slides.

The Wild West water park has another spray playground for kids 12 and under, bumper boats and a couple (body?) slides and a small spray area for babies. This was only open on the weekend and we didn't stay long because the water was far too cold. The Wild West water park is a decent walk from the Glacier Canyon Lodge. When the weather was warm, we walked to it outside. When it was cold, we took the car.

The Ropes Course is above the arcade in the Wild West and the whole family seemed to enjoy it, even Grandma. Inside the Wild West arcade is a play ground for kids 12 and under (and their parents) and a small area for babies. This play ground is actually a blast as you have to climb through all kinds of tunnels and obstacles to get to the top where you shoot soft balls at other people. There are several tube slides attached that are actually scary for an adult! The kids and teens and even Mom and Dad really enjoyed this.

Our first trip we played 3D mini-golf and laser tag but not this trip. They were just OK. We wanted to do the mirror maze but found out that it is part of the haunted house which we didn't want to do so we skipped it.

Overall I'm rating the Glacier Canyon Lodge as "very good." Is it perfect? No, but it's as good or better than elsewhere in Wisconsin Dells and you just can't beat the convenience of being able to come and go from the water park when you want without having to stick together as a group.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the Sky Walk so you don't have too long of a walk to the water parks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silicagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Vernon, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Delightful! Everything was clean, well-maintained, and quality throughout. We stayed in a 2 Bedroom and it was perfect for our family of 4. The kitchen was well-stocked with basic supplies and plenty of cooking utensils. We stayed in late May so the waterparks and pools and were not packed. The shuttle to the other parks was great and the drivers were very friendly and kind. We left the Wilderness property only a few times to get groceries, meet friends for dinner and drive around the Dells. My entire family loved the stay and didn't even complain about the 11 hour drive home!

We bought the Wild Fun Pass when we booked and the kids enjoyed the extra activities. My kids are 16 and 10 so having the extra 1/2 bath and privacy of a 2nd bedroom is very nice!

Room Tip: We walked through the main hotel to get to one of the waterparks and I was impressed with it, but am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#20 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
2.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#55 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#24 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#23 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#22 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Canyon Lodge

Address: 45 Hillman Road, P.O. Box 830, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Glacier Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Canyon Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Glacier Canyon Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing