We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzgeralds Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitzgeralds Motel
Save
You added Fitzgeralds Motel to your Saves list
530 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965, Wisconsin Dells, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Union Grove, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We decided to stay here because it was reasonably priced and had decent reviews. The owners were very friendly making sure our room was clean so we could check in early. The family suite we stayed in is very dated but clean. Air conditioner was noisy but didn't bother us as we are not light sleepers. Very good location as we were able to walk to all downtown attractions. The WIFI did not work even after getting the password from the office. This was not a big deal since we were not in the room often. We would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    28
    7
    0
    5
See reviews for
29
19
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

No WFI or At&t cell service Room above us was very noisy and the cleaning people started vaccuming at 9:00 a.m. sharp on Saturday owner did not even say Thanks when we checked out after our 3 night stay he must not had been in a good mood

Room Tip: Cheap and kind of clean needs some up dating nice tv has frig and microve no WFI maybe at the pool b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We decided to stay at the Fitzgerald because of all the good reviews it got. I will have to say that almost everything everyone said about this motel is true, clean rooms, very good service from the owners and the location is the best, within walking distance to the downtown area. I would suggest room 51 for families. It is further in off the main street and has a queen bed, refrigerator and microwave in one room and the other room has a queen bed which is totally separate from the other room. Both rooms have a flat screen television. Now if your going for the modern look, you won't find it in this room, older looking carpets, bedspreads and curtains, older (smaller) bathroom with sliding shower doors and blue floors. Here's the best part, very clean and so reasonable! My family of 3 stayed here from Friday through Monday for under 400.00. We were able to do a lot of extra shopping and attractions because the motel didn't cost an arm and a leg like most of the fancy resorts. Would I recommend this motel......In a heartbeat!! You will absolutely love "Margaret" who is the owner/manager and her husband. Thumbs up to the Fitzgerald Motel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

...and not because it is relatively inexpensive. You will never meet a kinder or more congenial owner than Margaret. We can walk to all of the attractions we are interested in from Fitzgeralds. No waterpark, but we don't care. Clean rooms and a pool. Who cares if the wi-fi doesn't work? We go to the Dells to get away, not to get onto the internet. I want my employer to put me up here when I go for business but he doesn't believe a nice motel can be this inexpensive. He is wrong.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huber Heights, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We drove in last Sunday and Margaret greeted my Mom (also named Margaret). Margaret showed us 2 rooms and then came to my car window (I did not get out of the car) an introduced herself to me. Never had that happen before! My only complaints is the WIFI that never worked. We got the password but it kept coming up as invalid password. When we told Margaret's husband, he got rather snippy and said "That is the correct password, we have internet here if she wants to use it". (No thanks). The other complaint is no conditioner. "Conditioning" shampoo is NOT conditioning! Other than that, awesome location and great rooms!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very nice motel within walking distance to restaurants and shops. Large city park a block away. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Property was quiet. Staff was friendly and helpful. Benches outside the room made it nice to relax and enjoy the weather. Would recommend this motel and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my parents at Fitzgeralds Motel for three nights and we enjoyed every minute of it. The trip advisor 2014 Winner Certificate of Excellence reflects the quality of the service and the beauty of this charming motel. It is very clean inside and outside, great location, wonderful rates and friendly guests. The flowers all over including the pool area reflect the hard work of the people running this business. I haven't seen this many flowers in the whole Dells. I truly like this place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzgeralds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgeralds Motel

Address: 530 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965, Wisconsin Dells, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#28 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is with great pleasure to welcome you to our beautiful city of Wisconsin Dells and Fitzgerald's Motel located on a quiet side of downtown. As a guest of Fitzgerald's Motel, you can receive exclusive access to the area's best attractions, shops, and restaurants. From sunrise to sunset, you'll experience perfect for every season and every kind of vacation-romantic getaways, weekend escapes, family reunions, school sporting events, skiing, boating, fishing, exciting waterpark options, weddings, and fun-filled summer vacations! Riverwalk strollers enjoy a fascinating running along the Wisconsin River watching a variety of boats berthed on the river. Celebrate our rich heritage found in colorful parades that fill our summers with non-stop fun. Discover the fresh air, sparking lakes and abundant wildlife and pine-scented forests. Hear the sounds of nature. It's a delightful beginning to a journey that has revealed so much, illuminating bonds with those long gone, but mostly, reconnecting people to the vey best in them here and now. Returning home is much more than their ancestral sources. Home means birthplace, family, roots, culture, tradition. So come to visit your own past. It's an absolute adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzgeralds Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.