We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little place with plenty of room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort

Save Saved
You added Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   874 Xanadu Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Sycamore, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quaint little place with plenty of room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was a great place to enjoy the weekend. The only things wrong were the heat in the place, one room would be super hot, and the next would be freezing. Not too far from downtown Dells, and skiing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    6
    4
    10
See reviews for
37
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I scheduled a weekend trip at this resort via groupon for the weekend of March 1st-3rd. At around 11pm february 28th, the person who booked the trip received a phone call about pipes busting and we could not come down there at that time. Of course at that time of night, she did not receive the message until the morning we were supposed to leave. Once she called the front desk, the only thing they could give her was a refund!! No trying to put us in another hotel or offer us a free night stay for the inconvenience because by the time my friend got up and heard the message, the car was already rented from the other young lady who was going, food was purchased, and excitedment level was high because the three of us was ready to enjoy a ladies weekend!! Horrible business practice and I will never book with them again and plan on posting his experience with other local websites. We also have to pay for a car that we can not use for the day because the car wa already rented prior to hearing the call!!

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This place lets you feel as if you are in a exclusive place, but if you forgot something, Walmart is a hop, skip and jump away. The first three nights were busy (New Years Eve) but nothing out of the ordinary for the holiday. The last 4 nights we had the place to ourselves. The only downside is laundry facilities are in a seperate building. This was not advantageous as we were skiing and sometimes had wet clothing after the day on the slopes. We are booked for August 2013 to see how this place is during the summer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The resort was excellent. I have a family of six and everyone had plenty of room. my children loved the space and it felt like we had a vacation home. there were two fireplaces and a Jacuzzi bath up stairs. The master bedroom was very large, and the downstairs living spaces were very spacious as well. Walmart was literally right up the road to get any needed supplies. The staff was very friendly and the resort had more amenities that we could even use. Next time we will be prepared so we can take advantage of everything they have to offer. This was a great alternative to staying at a water park hotel. I will definitely be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da UP of Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is our second time we have stayed here. Check in was super fast. Our unit was in the Forest section, unit 7. The place was huge! A 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. Jacuzzi tub in master bedroom. Very clean, and well maintained. No harassing phone calls, very quite. Checkout was also fast, and friendly. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family have been members at this resort for nearly 20 years (before it became a part of Festiva. Over the years, many changes took place, but almost all of them ended up as a positive result. Many of the really great folk (staff) seem to stay or are replaced by really good folk.

While the property is near enough to the area attractions, it sits just outside the clamor of the revelment and traffic that is inherent to such a place. Not only is it easy to find (less than a mile from the interstate), it is near a Super-Walmart, trendy department store, Home Depot, etc - in case you forgot anything. It is like a vacation area at home, but away from home.

The staff provide meaningful voluntary activities for kids and family. Being now an owner of "points" with access to all of the Festiva properties, we come back to Tamarac each year.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the condominiums. They are great! However, the rooms in the larger building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We just got back from this resort. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo with the bedrooms upstairs. We were already in the Dells staying at a different place so we went to check in here at about 11:00 am. We didn't think we would be able to get into our room so quick but they said they had a unit ready. We were happy about that and had no problems at check-in. We were in a unit in the Birch section. The unit was a bit out-dated with old furniture, cabinets, tv's, etc.

But....around 8:30 pm, we got neighbors in the unit next to us. They obviously had small children that immediately started running up and down the stairs and from room to room. Holy cow we thought elephants were next to us! This went on for 2 hours and we just couldn't stand it any longer! I went up to the office to see if we could be moved and the front desk girl was not nice at all. She said they were pretty booked and didn't think she could change us plus she said since we were in our room for most of the day that the cleaning crew would have to clean the room so it wouldn't be ready for the guests checking in the next day. What? Check-in time is 4:00 so why would the room not be ready for them? Finally after a lot of back and forth, she was able to find us a different unit.

The next unit we were in was in the Evergreen section. It was a bit more updated with newer furniture and tv's. The kitchen cabinets definitely need to be updated but it was a much better unit than the first one we were in. We didn't have any problems with neighbors at this unit but every now and then we could hear the walls shake from them moving around in their unit. I think this resort just really needs to do some better sound-proofing!

There really wasn't much to do here except go to the lobby/activity center to swim in the pool or play tennis or raquetball. The pond with waterfall and ducks was probably the best part of the place.

We did not like this place at all and will never stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort

Address: 874 Xanadu Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between Chicago and Minneapolis, Wisconsin Dells is an ideal family vacation spot with a variety of entertaining activities offered year-round. In the late fall and winter, you can ski, snowmobile and ice skate. In the spring and summer, take the kids to ride the Ducks on a scenic tour or to one of the thrilling water parks. Whether you're bringing the kids on vacation, or you're just a kid at heart, the Wisconsin Dells will keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack And Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Fairfield Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.