We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path....but not too far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort to your Saves list
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   874 Xanadu Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path....but not too far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This place lets you feel as if you are in a exclusive place, but if you forgot something, Walmart is a hop, skip and jump away. The first three nights were busy (New Years Eve) but nothing out of the ordinary for the holiday. The last 4 nights we had the place to ourselves. The only downside is laundry facilities are in a seperate building. This was not advantageous as we were skiing and sometimes had wet clothing after the day on the slopes. We are booked for August 2013 to see how this place is during the summer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    24
    6
    4
    12
See reviews for
39
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The resort was excellent. I have a family of six and everyone had plenty of room. my children loved the space and it felt like we had a vacation home. there were two fireplaces and a Jacuzzi bath up stairs. The master bedroom was very large, and the downstairs living spaces were very spacious as well. Walmart was literally right up the road to get any needed supplies. The staff was very friendly and the resort had more amenities that we could even use. Next time we will be prepared so we can take advantage of everything they have to offer. This was a great alternative to staying at a water park hotel. I will definitely be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da UP of Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is our second time we have stayed here. Check in was super fast. Our unit was in the Forest section, unit 7. The place was huge! A 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. Jacuzzi tub in master bedroom. Very clean, and well maintained. No harassing phone calls, very quite. Checkout was also fast, and friendly. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family have been members at this resort for nearly 20 years (before it became a part of Festiva. Over the years, many changes took place, but almost all of them ended up as a positive result. Many of the really great folk (staff) seem to stay or are replaced by really good folk.

While the property is near enough to the area attractions, it sits just outside the clamor of the revelment and traffic that is inherent to such a place. Not only is it easy to find (less than a mile from the interstate), it is near a Super-Walmart, trendy department store, Home Depot, etc - in case you forgot anything. It is like a vacation area at home, but away from home.

The staff provide meaningful voluntary activities for kids and family. Being now an owner of "points" with access to all of the Festiva properties, we come back to Tamarac each year.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the condominiums. They are great! However, the rooms in the larger building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We just got back from this resort. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo with the bedrooms upstairs. We were already in the Dells staying at a different place so we went to check in here at about 11:00 am. We didn't think we would be able to get into our room so quick but they said they had a unit ready. We were happy about that and had no problems at check-in. We were in a unit in the Birch section. The unit was a bit out-dated with old furniture, cabinets, tv's, etc.

But....around 8:30 pm, we got neighbors in the unit next to us. They obviously had small children that immediately started running up and down the stairs and from room to room. Holy cow we thought elephants were next to us! This went on for 2 hours and we just couldn't stand it any longer! I went up to the office to see if we could be moved and the front desk girl was not nice at all. She said they were pretty booked and didn't think she could change us plus she said since we were in our room for most of the day that the cleaning crew would have to clean the room so it wouldn't be ready for the guests checking in the next day. What? Check-in time is 4:00 so why would the room not be ready for them? Finally after a lot of back and forth, she was able to find us a different unit.

The next unit we were in was in the Evergreen section. It was a bit more updated with newer furniture and tv's. The kitchen cabinets definitely need to be updated but it was a much better unit than the first one we were in. We didn't have any problems with neighbors at this unit but every now and then we could hear the walls shake from them moving around in their unit. I think this resort just really needs to do some better sound-proofing!

There really wasn't much to do here except go to the lobby/activity center to swim in the pool or play tennis or raquetball. The pond with waterfall and ducks was probably the best part of the place.

We did not like this place at all and will never stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Everything was clean and comfortable. It was not luxurious, but I really couldn't find any complaints except the rate was a little high. I have to take into account that it is the Dells though. We were able to ride the bikes to the lake to paddle boat. There are not a lot of bikes and they aren't 3 speed or any speed, but it was fun to ride instead of walking or taking the car. They have 3 paddle boats and it was fun. They have an outside pool and tennis courts by the reservation building. There was a small game room. We were only there for two nights and actually were busy doing Dells activities most of the time, so we didn't take advantage of many things they offer. It is nice to be away from the WaterPark craziness of the main strips of town.

GPS will not take you to the entrance of the resort. Keep driving and you will see it. There are two entrances. Only one will take you to the reservation building.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Loved having a two bedroom condo. Having a tv in each bedroom along with the living room and having 3 DVD players was wonderful. We brought our own movies but you could rent them from the office. The rooms were very clean and they even supplied beach towels. Kitchen was nice and we were able to eat 1-2 meals there per day. The only problem with the room is that they allow smoking. We called ahead and they put an ionizer in the room before they got there, so the room smelled ok,but by the end of the week we could smell the stale smoke smell in the curtains, but I am very sensitive to smoke and it didn't bother me.

A friend who had stayed at the Tamarack previously told us to bring bikes for the kids because they have nice trails, but we didn't, and what a surprise that they loaned them out. They also supplied a discount card for some local deals.

We would definitely recommend the Tamarack. It was a great surprise how nice it was. Also the location was perfect. Being close to a walmart is always very helpful.
The pools were nice nothing special but we didn't need them to be because we went to Noah's Ark.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort

Address: 874 Xanadu Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between Chicago and Minneapolis, Wisconsin Dells is an ideal family vacation spot with a variety of entertaining activities offered year-round. In the late fall and winter, you can ski, snowmobile and ice skate. In the spring and summer, take the kids to ride the Ducks on a scenic tour or to one of the thrilling water parks. Whether you're bringing the kids on vacation, or you're just a kid at heart, the Wisconsin Dells will keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack And Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Fairfield Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.