We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 38th Wedding Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort

Save Saved
You added Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   874 Xanadu Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Da UP of Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Our 38th Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is our second time we have stayed here. Check in was super fast. Our unit was in the Forest section, unit 7. The place was huge! A 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. Jacuzzi tub in master bedroom. Very clean, and well maintained. No harassing phone calls, very quite. Checkout was also fast, and friendly. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    6
    3
    8
See reviews for
31
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family have been members at this resort for nearly 20 years (before it became a part of Festiva. Over the years, many changes took place, but almost all of them ended up as a positive result. Many of the really great folk (staff) seem to stay or are replaced by really good folk.

While the property is near enough to the area attractions, it sits just outside the clamor of the revelment and traffic that is inherent to such a place. Not only is it easy to find (less than a mile from the interstate), it is near a Super-Walmart, trendy department store, Home Depot, etc - in case you forgot anything. It is like a vacation area at home, but away from home.

The staff provide meaningful voluntary activities for kids and family. Being now an owner of "points" with access to all of the Festiva properties, we come back to Tamarac each year.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the condominiums. They are great! However, the rooms in the larger building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We just got back from this resort. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo with the bedrooms upstairs. We were already in the Dells staying at a different place so we went to check in here at about 11:00 am. We didn't think we would be able to get into our room so quick but they said they had a unit ready. We were happy about that and had no problems at check-in. We were in a unit in the Birch section. The unit was a bit out-dated with old furniture, cabinets, tv's, etc.

But....around 8:30 pm, we got neighbors in the unit next to us. They obviously had small children that immediately started running up and down the stairs and from room to room. Holy cow we thought elephants were next to us! This went on for 2 hours and we just couldn't stand it any longer! I went up to the office to see if we could be moved and the front desk girl was not nice at all. She said they were pretty booked and didn't think she could change us plus she said since we were in our room for most of the day that the cleaning crew would have to clean the room so it wouldn't be ready for the guests checking in the next day. What? Check-in time is 4:00 so why would the room not be ready for them? Finally after a lot of back and forth, she was able to find us a different unit.

The next unit we were in was in the Evergreen section. It was a bit more updated with newer furniture and tv's. The kitchen cabinets definitely need to be updated but it was a much better unit than the first one we were in. We didn't have any problems with neighbors at this unit but every now and then we could hear the walls shake from them moving around in their unit. I think this resort just really needs to do some better sound-proofing!

There really wasn't much to do here except go to the lobby/activity center to swim in the pool or play tennis or raquetball. The pond with waterfall and ducks was probably the best part of the place.

We did not like this place at all and will never stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Everything was clean and comfortable. It was not luxurious, but I really couldn't find any complaints except the rate was a little high. I have to take into account that it is the Dells though. We were able to ride the bikes to the lake to paddle boat. There are not a lot of bikes and they aren't 3 speed or any speed, but it was fun to ride instead of walking or taking the car. They have 3 paddle boats and it was fun. They have an outside pool and tennis courts by the reservation building. There was a small game room. We were only there for two nights and actually were busy doing Dells activities most of the time, so we didn't take advantage of many things they offer. It is nice to be away from the WaterPark craziness of the main strips of town.

GPS will not take you to the entrance of the resort. Keep driving and you will see it. There are two entrances. Only one will take you to the reservation building.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Loved having a two bedroom condo. Having a tv in each bedroom along with the living room and having 3 DVD players was wonderful. We brought our own movies but you could rent them from the office. The rooms were very clean and they even supplied beach towels. Kitchen was nice and we were able to eat 1-2 meals there per day. The only problem with the room is that they allow smoking. We called ahead and they put an ionizer in the room before they got there, so the room smelled ok,but by the end of the week we could smell the stale smoke smell in the curtains, but I am very sensitive to smoke and it didn't bother me.

A friend who had stayed at the Tamarack previously told us to bring bikes for the kids because they have nice trails, but we didn't, and what a surprise that they loaned them out. They also supplied a discount card for some local deals.

We would definitely recommend the Tamarack. It was a great surprise how nice it was. Also the location was perfect. Being close to a walmart is always very helpful.
The pools were nice nothing special but we didn't need them to be because we went to Noah's Ark.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Second time here and the summer is just awesome! Our backdoor opened to an open field and overlooked the park. For a Chicagoan to be able to open the door and see the kids play in the yard is priceless. Love the full amenity condo. Saves money on going on every meal with little ones. So much room that. Love it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Considering there are only 30 reviews here, I'm considering Tamarack to be a well-kept secret of the Dells. We rented a 2 bedroom condo for about ~150/nt. Here was our experience:

Customer Service: There was a little wait when we first checked in, but in fairness we were there at Noon and official check in was at 4pm. They were just verifying if housekeeping had gotten to our condo and finished cleaning. Other than that, I found the staff to be very helpful and the rest of the checkin and checkout processes went smoothly. There is no daily maid service, but they do have a 'linen exchange' where you can bring any towels, blankets, sheets, etc. and have them swapped out for clean ones.

The unit itself: I'd say our unit was semi-renovated. Part looked newer, parts looked older, but none of it I would consider 'run-down'. It was still well preserved. One complaint we had was that the room did have hints of having been smoked in (which drove my wife's allergies crazy), but it wasn't an overwhelming odor at all. Most importantly, EVERYTHING WORKED! Appliances were well kept and operational. Plenty of dishes, silverware, servingware, cookware, etc. Icemaker in the fridge worked as well. Hot water was VERY HOT and plentiful. That was one of the best features. :) Unit was also QUIET. Never heard any of the neighbors on either side of us. A/C worked fine as well (the place was actually FREEZING when we walked in. All in all, it wasn't the best condo I've stayed in (that would be in Orlando), but for the Dells I have to think it was 2 or 3 notches above your average hotel and - in most cases - half the price.

Location: Very nice location in that it seems far away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown areas, but it's really only minutes away from anything. Made it very easy to bring the kids back for a lunch break and then go back out afterwards. And again, very quiet.

Common Areas: Clubhouse, Pools, courts, playrooms were all in good shape. Nothing fancy with the pools (i.e. no slides), but we also had no problems with overcrowding or over-utilization. Indoor pool area has a nice 1ft depth pool for the real little ones. Locker rooms were clean. Didn't use the showers, but did see someone cleaning them while I was there. Didn't have a chance to check out the paddle boats on the lake, but those are free to guests as well.

Amenities: Pools (indoor and outdoor), hot tub, racketball, tennis, paddleboats, kids play area, videos/games for rent, discount card for many area attractions/restaurants (usually about 10% off).

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here and I'll definitely plan on staying here again. Only caveat is that, like many other condo rentals, your experience can vary depending on how well maintained the unit you receive is. By reports though, it appears that many of them are getting rehabbed, so the chance of getting a 'lemon' should be lower. Also, we rented a 2 bedroom unit, but one of the units was actually a loft that overlooked the living room. Not a huge deal, but we had a 3mo in our room (other two kids took the second bedroom), which was the loft and had to be extra quiet after she went to bed. Just something to note.

Room Tip: You may want to make any requests for bed types (i.e. you can have a queen or two twins in the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort

Address: 874 Xanadu Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between Chicago and Minneapolis, Wisconsin Dells is an ideal family vacation spot with a variety of entertaining activities offered year-round. In the late fall and winter, you can ski, snowmobile and ice skate. In the spring and summer, take the kids to ride the Ducks on a scenic tour or to one of the thrilling water parks. Whether you're bringing the kids on vacation, or you're just a kid at heart, the Wisconsin Dells will keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack And Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Fairfield Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.